Ratings based on 450 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochester, NY

Room With a Great View - On a Spur of the Moment!

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: Room was nice, clean, big and comfortable. With a great view.
Cons: Nothing! It's just that good!
Location: Main Street is just a short walk away. Plenty of shops and restaurants. The Dancing Bears has great food and great drinks. Parking was convenient.
What do you do when you wake up in Vernon Central, NY on a Saturday and realize that you have another day without the kids? You bring up Expedia in your browser and find a great deal on a great hotel in Lake Placid, NY for that night. You book the deal, drive to Lake Placid, and check in. You check into a fantastic room with a fantastic view of Mirror Lake at a fantastic price. If you want a nice meal, you walk out of the hotel, down a set of stairs and find yourself on Main Street with all of its shops and restaurants at your disposal. If you get hungry or thirsty later on that night, just head down to the Dancing Bears for a night cap and a huge piece of Carrot Cake or Cheesecake. Breakfast the next morning? No problem, the Dancing Bears come through again! Fantastic breakfast at a reasonable price. We've stayed at a number of places in Lake Placid through the years - some good, others no so much. We'd come back to the High Peaks Resort again with no hesitations. It was just that good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Same Time Next Year

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Pros: Almost everything
Cons: faster elevator, and an up escalator from street level
Location: Perfect location---for shopping, walking around the lake and ogling the foliage
we have stayed in this hotel for years (when it was the Hilton) and all the renovations have only made it more comfortable and enjoyable. Nice rooms, spectacular view, good food, helpful front desk that remembered my wife's birthday. Kudos
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 14, 2014 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your stay at High Peaks Resort! And thank you for your loyalty to our property over the years. I am happy to hear that our front desk staff exceeded your expectations - and I will be sure to share your comments with the entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back to High Peaks very soon. With kind regards, Matthew Wheeler
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Great place to stay in Lake Placid!

Posted Oct 3, 2014
My wife and I really enjoyed our stay at the High Peaks Resort (HPR). We stayed four nights towards the end of September. The staff was pleasant and very helpful, the room was comfortable and clean and the food at the Dancing Bears restaurant was excellent. The location is very convenient to the main street and to Mirror Lake. Other additional benefits include a super exercise room and a convenient parking garage. The room prices were reasonable, as were the menu items at the restaurant. We wouldn't change a thing!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Room with a roof vent view.

Posted Oct 3, 2014
Pros: Location to Lake Placid and the Olympic facilities. The bathroom was fabulous as was the comfort of the bed and linens!
Cons: Full disclosure of actual views from guest rooms.
I was very disappointed after arriving to our room with a courtyard view on the second floor. Upon opening the drapes the only view was the rooftop vent of the adjoining building. To view the courtyard, I had to open the door to the small balcony, step out and lean over the railing to actually see the courtyard. I mentioned this fact to the clerk at the front desk and she chuckled and sai that ..."yes, they really should change the room's description." If I couldn't have a view of Mirror Lake, a view of the courtyard would have been nice but, I didn't even get that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NEW YORK STATE

nice location

Posted Oct 3, 2014
Pros: LOCATION AND THE COVERED GARAGE
Cons: KEEP THE GARAGE DOOR TO THE MAIN HOTEL LOCKED ALL THE TIME
we will come to your place thenext time we go to LAKE PLACID
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from watertown N.Y.

Wonderful

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Pros: Location was walking distance to anything from the water to dinner or the local park on the lake to relax to the view.
We were there to be leaf peepers...everything from views to dinner was all right at this resort. We were able to drive a short distance to see local sights and views.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

Beautiful

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: Location location location!
Cons: It's perfect
Location: Great bars ,restaurants ,shops
Great location! Beautiful view of Lake Mirror. Walking distance to everything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis, IN

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Great location...right on Main Street...walking distance to shopping, restaurants, Mirror Lake. Interesting Winter Olympic sites. Great amenities, restaurant, service. Well worth the money. A memorable four day stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cuba, NY

Nice.

Posted Sep 8, 2014
The 5th. floor view from our balcony was wonderful. Beds nice, shower nice, everything was really nice. Thank You.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from buffalo, ny

Amazing staff, great views

Posted Sep 6, 2014
I had a fantastic experience at this resort. The restaurants were great, the staff were friendly and accomodating, and my room was very undervalued. I would have paid twice the amount for my experience! This will be the only place i stay when i visit lake placid.