Ratings based on 151 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

NOISY, but Comfortable

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: The decor and location
Cons: There wasn't enough parking, we had to park across the street. Also there was a dirty wash cloth on the floor of the bathroom as well as a couple hair
Location: Location is perfect. Close to everything you could wish for in Lake Placid.
The rooms have zero insulation. You can hear a whisper in the hallway as well as outside. The hotel it self is super convenient...right close to downtown with the views to match! However, since it is close to downtown there is a lot of car and walking traffic. The hotel, though remodeled to very tasteful decor is old and is very poorly insulated. If you are not a heavy sleeper I would not recommend this place. The noise is my only complaint however. The location is perfect, the rooms are very tasteful, and the beds (with down comforters and pillows) are extra comfy. I would stay there again, but perhaps at a room at the end of the hall. I would recommend this hotel for families who don't care if their kids run the halls until 1:00 am.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buffalo NY

Summer Lacrosse Tournament

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Pros: The staff (front desk, maid and maintenance worker who helped me when I got locked out!) were very helpful! Room was great and the view is incredible.
Cons: If a small refrigerator could be added it would be great!
Location: The hotel is on Main Street convenient to Mirror Lake, shopping, restaurants, hiking, biking and Lake Placid.
We came for my son's lacrosse tournament in early August. I had booked the room back in January during a snow storm! The rooms were already getting tight for this tournament, so I didn't have many choices. I booked the Lake House because of it convenient location. After recently being remodeled, the place is awesome! The lobby is very cool and has a great view of Mirror Lake. The room was spacious, with comfy beds. The bathroom was a little small but very workable. We will definitely stay again when we come in January for a hockey tournament.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, ON

Nice stay

Posted Aug 5, 2014
We enjoyed the Lake House however found the room to be a little small and dark. Would request a second floor room next time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chazy, ny

Not what I was expecting

Posted Jul 28, 2014
We ended up with a room overlooking the roof, it was smaller than expected and I was surprised that there was not a mini fridge in the room. Overall though the room was suitable for our one night stay and was neat and clean. I was a little disappointed by the waitstaff. I would have liked for them to have shown us to our room and at least offered to carry our luggage up for us and perhaps shown us where all the facilities and amenities were. Perhaps it's not that kind of hotel. I did really like the design and decor of the place and the waitstaff were all pleasant to us. I'm sure if we could have stayed longer maybe we would of had a chance to take advantage if some of the amenities.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great spot... okay motel.

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: Location and price.
Cons: Rooms might need a little more than new paint, and some cedar wood (great smell).
Location: Location is really good near mirror lake and main st. Lake Placid.
This motel is okay. It is a really nice location. The rooms are just okay. It is really nice for those travelling with pets.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Excellent family friendly and very well krot

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Current, recently renovated, comfortable, very well located , clean, excellent view, entertaining amenities for all ages and seasons, family and pet friendly and very well serviced. Ample parking, complementary wifi and wonderful lobby lounge .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice room with outstanding views!

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: The views from the room were amazing. Also, the room size was quite large (larger than average).
Cons: Although the furniture and bathroom construction was like-new, in fine condition and perfectly clean, the style and materials were a bit dated.
Location: Perfect location on Main St. for shopping/restaurants, multiple pools & hot tubs to choose from, and complementary paddleboats & kayaks for the lake.
The rooms were very nice and the facilities appeared to be recently remodeled. The smell of fresh paint (not a bad thing) was everywhere, indicating that the renovations were thorough throughout the property.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from G

Great location- reasonable priced

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Love that we could just park the car once and make our way around town. The rooms were freshly upgraded, and the staff were helpful and quite pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice view, clean room and relaxed environment.

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: The view and proximity to shopping and restaurant.
Location: Near the lake, very close to restaurant and shopping, no need for car once you are there.
We arrived in Lake Placid without a reservation mid-July. On such short notice we didn't think we would get a "reasonable" priced hotel with a nice view of Mirror Lake. The Lake House was reasonable and each room has a view of the lake. Nice clean environment, quiet and comfy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Hotel was nice, right on the water, beautiful views