Ratings based on 175 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, Il

Huge, room...incredible view!

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Pros: Incredible views of mountains and mirror Lake, especially from 3rd floor. Very close to shopping and reataurants.
Cons: Hotel is run down, and no staff around. Disclose that the main hotel is across the street and this hotel is kind of the abandoned "step child".
Location: Location is great, right in downtown Lake Placid. Lots of shopping and restaurants within short walk. Hotel is across the street from Mirror Lake.
We had a great stay at the Lake House. Let me get the only negative out of the way. This is the 2nd time on my current trip that this has happened. I obviously booked through Expedia, so I am not sure if it is the fault of the hotels. expedia or both. The lake house is actually part of the High Peaks resort. As such, it is a small, kind of run down adjunct building across the street from the upscale main resort. There is no staff around, which is kind of creepy, and hotel is rather run down. This definitely should have been disclosed up front and I could have made a choice to stay in the nicer hotel if I so chose. The fitness center is across the street which necessitated going out in the dark and pouring rain to use.....not good. Putting that aside, our room was HUGE! I've never seen a room so large. The TV was so far away from the bed we had a hard time seeing it ! We were lucky enough to have gotten one of 2 rooms on the 3rd level. It had a private balcony and a direct beautiful view of Mirror Lake. We could lay in bed and look at the mountains and lake...incredible. The fitness center, once we found it was the nicest hotel facility I've ever seen. So, all in all we had a great stay and liked the Lake House. If I continue to use Expedia, since I've had this experience of feeling like I was the step child who wasn't allowed at the grown up table twice, now, I will call the hotels before booking to check to see if there is anything I need to know before making a decision.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Location, Location, Location

Posted Oct 4, 2014
Pros: Great view of Mirror Lake. Convenient to shops and restaurants. Ample parking.
Cons: Check in area which is new leaves a bit to be desired. It does not meet the standard of the High Peaks main building across the street.
Location: Everything you want in the way of shopping and eating is a short walk away. The Olympic museum is not to be missed as well as the Whiteface Gondola.
Spent time on line searching for well rated and competitively priced accommodations. Very happy to have chosen the Lake House. I understand that it has just received the highest rating for properties owned by the Hospitality Group.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Cute & cozy motor lodge-style place in Lake Placid

Posted Oct 1, 2014
You can tell the owners had fun renovating this place; it's a great blend of lakeside cottage, retro motel, and contemporary design. Nice view of the lake & town, and so accessible to the main drag of Lake Placid. Our room was clean and cozy as a cottage should be.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albany, NY

Hiking the high peaks

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: The ambiance was lovely, the staff were helpful, and the beds were comfortable.
Cons: If they had a continental breakfast.
Location: Mountain climbing is good. The Blueberry Bakery just around the corner is excellent for an early breakfast on the go.
This was the perfect place to crash between high peaks climbs. The beds are very comfortable and good for falling into after a long day of hiking. They don't serve breakfast and coffee service doesn't start till 7:00AM, but the hotel staff will work with you to coordinate other options for you if you need to be out and about early.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Nice hotel close to downtown

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: It was so close to walk to everything, yet not in the thick of it. Perfect location. Nice view of lake, but not mountains.
Cons: I could hear the neighbors upstairs.
Location: Lake Placid is beautiful with lots to do. It is worth the drive to see the Ausable Chasm. Drive up the hill afterwards to find new micro brewery!
Lake Placid and the Adirondack Mountains are just gorgeous.So many outdoor activities. I really enjoyed the gondola ride up Whiteface Mountain. It was spectacular. The day I drove the Veterans Highway up the mountain there was zero visibility, but I went anyhow since it was the only day it was open while I was there. It was quite humorous, zero visibility means zero!! All of us who went up had a good laugh at ourselves though. I met some 46 Peaks hikers there and was inspired enough to put the 46 Peaks on my bucket list. Lots of fine dining downtown on the lake side, all with lovely views. Uptown, Simply Gourmet makes the most wonderful sandwiches!! Must venture up there to try them! And Adirondack Chocolates on Main Street is another must do, must eat, must savor! Tons of rustic furniture stores, if you like that sort of thing. The shop prices were higher than most tourist towns. I found people not very friendly for the most part, both shop keepers and tourists alike, although my hotel staff were certainly hospitable. The Olympic Museum was disappointing. The Breakfast Club was over-rated; greasiest egg meals ever. Very "green" town, yet no recycling bins.Parking is troublesome downtown, so best to avoid it if possible. Weekends get very busy. Nice and quiet in the evening and early morning; great for sleeping, no mechanical noise!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from saratoga springs ny

Early fall getaway

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Pros: The retro look was fantastic ! It could use bigger flat tv
Cons: Get bigger tv's
Location: Perfect , near every place I wanted to go
Arrived early,staff was very courteous and accommodating Room was clean and well apointed over looking the lake at a very reasonable Price for lake placid , defenetly come back again !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice in town location with a view.

Posted Sep 19, 2014
My last minute reservation was accommodated promptly. John at the front desk was great. He set me up in a great room with a terrific view of Mirror Lake. Good experience and I would book there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel on the lake

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: The staff and the view on the top level
Cons: Maid service. Cut the hedge down just a few feet.
Location: Great location. Very close to downtown Lake Placid.
I made reservations early August for a Sept stay for view on the lake. Our room was on the bottom and we looked out to a hedge from the patio. VERY disappointing. I am pretty sure our maid service did nothing but make our bed. The bath had clean towels, but the bathtub was not cleaned. We moved rooms after 2 days to the top level with a great view. The bathtub's water plug was laying out and on the bathtub and water ran out very slowly. I would probably not stay here again. I will say the staff was outstanding. And the updates are very well done.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal Qc Canada

A nice view and a perfect situation

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Pros: The location in front of the lake Mirror
Cons: Having breakfast in the hotel instead of crossing the street at High Peaks Resort. It could be a small buffet included with the price of the room.
Location: All is at a short distance.
We appreciate this hotel, the location was perfect, near the Main street where we could find restaurants and bars. The view from the balcony was amazing ! The Mirror lake is a gem in the mountains. This hotel was newly refurbished and renovated. It's a quiet place and we could go for hiking in few minutes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NH

Great room - great price

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: Price. Location. Views from Room. Room size.
Cons: Bathroom was small and toilet was very loud when flushed.
Location: Main street has many shops and restaurants. Lots of hiking nearby.
Beautiful room with a view of Mirror Lake. Walking distance of main street. Assuming same price, would stay here in a heartbeat!