Ratings based on 289 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oakville Ontario

Great value, vibe and view!

Posted May 19, 2015
The Lake House provides guests with a great view from every room, steps away from the downtown core and shops and restaurants. It has a retro vibe, rooms are really large and have a door to your outdoor space. THe bar is exceptional with craft beers and great decor, not to mention unobstructed views! Why stay anywhere else.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pointe Claire Quebec

The perfect location !

Posted May 8, 2015
Pros: location, staff, room, bar - everything!
Cons: Nothing...
Location: Hiking was fabulous, lots of restaurants all in an easy walk. Decent shopping too.
I love this place! The staff, John in particular, could not be any better! The view from our room was incredible, super comfortable beds, and nice big television. The bar offers great deals at happy hour and the bartender was very welcoming and generous. I highly recommend The Lake House.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Albany NY

quick visit for spring skiing

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: renovated, clean, rooms are a good size, comfy bed
Location: close to all downtown activities and short drive or shuttle ride to outdoor sports venues
wanted convenience and quality - the lake house provides both -
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Nice location, nice room, poor services

Posted Mar 11, 2015
Pros: Liked the hot tub, location, view and room, comfortable bed also. Oh...the common room is very nice.
Cons: Pool is cold....add a microwave to the common room. A front desk staff at the actual hotel would be helpful.
Location: Downtown, close to everything.
I didn't like that you have to register and go across the street, to a different hotel...if you needed anything. There is no microwave in the room, or in any common rooms. I went out of my way, crossed the street and asked about use of a microwave, (due to my restricted diet/but I imagine those with babies may also like use of a microwave). The staff suggested that they could bring a microwave to my room...this made me happy. So I waited , and waited, and waited....no microwave ever turned up in my room....nor did a phone call from the staff. :-(
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ballston Spa,NY

Very nice hotel!

Posted Feb 26, 2015
Went to the Lake House for a mid week getaway for a birthday. The renovations were very nice and the room was comfortable and cozy. Nice balcony! The only thing I didn't like was you had to go across the street to check in. ( a bit confusing) Maybe a sign to let guest know where to go would be helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom watertown, ny

Nice hotel with great view of the lake.

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Very nice hotel right along mirror lake in the town of lake placid. Hotel was recently refurbished and updated with a retro look. Room was very clean and had all the standard amenities. Great view from all the rooms. Only downside was There was a slight hint of smoker smell (could have been the people before us.) Overall good experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stay for Empire State Winter Games

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Pros: Very Adirondack/comfortable, laid-back feel. Room was old-school large, which accommodated all our Nordic ski gear easily.
Cons: Lobby itself is a bit "unresolved"(no good seating, "reception" table which isn't, slight confusion which left-hand corridor to take to rooms).
The recent renovations are top-notch, with a European flare, but with clever modernized "Adirondack" references (white pine accents/furniture, 46'r signage, great camp brown/red color scheme); Very central location in town and good parking. Staff very nice, though we had limited contact as this is a satellite building of the High Peaks Resort complex across the street.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 3, 2015 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Good time

Posted Jan 28, 2015
Pros: Bathroom, cleanliness. It was so pretty next to the lake.
Cons: Checking in.
Location: Shopping, skating, olympic attractions.
The room was great. The staff were new, so some issues, but overall good stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Hôtel design

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Ancien motel très bien rénové de style moderne et vintage. Le personnel est quasi absent, il faut se présenter à l'hôtel de l'autre côté de la rue (appartenant au même propriétaire) pour voir le personnel ou téléphoner. Le préposé que nous avons vu était très poli et serviable. La semaine où nous étions là l'hôtel était très peu achalandé (on a pas croisé de clients et il y avait 4 voitures de garées dans le stationnement). Malgré ce fait, on nous avait installé dans une des chambre les moins bien située. Le hall est très joli et il fait bon y lire. Il y a un feu et la vue sur le lac est superbe!