Ratings based on 176 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location but in need of updating

Posted Feb 23, 2014
Pros: location, pool, game room
Cons: bathroom (add fans and clean the mold), overall updating
We stayed a couple of nights here and were disappointed overall. On the plus side, the location is great and within easy walking distance of the main drag. But the facility is old and shows it, needs updating badly. The bathroom is tiny and has mold on the tile work which is not surprising since there is no fan in it. It didn't help that our room was right next to one of the entrance/exits and the door bangs loudly whenever people come and go. The staff was helpful and they have an indoor pool and game room. But I would not recommend staying there if you have other options (we booked late for Presidents Week, so our fault).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Luzpar from Bronx, NYC

Great Location, feels outdated.

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Pros: I really liked the location of this hotel. A short to moderate walk to just about any place in town.
Cons: The finishes and furniture of the room could be due for an upgrade.
Location: You have lots of dining and drink options nearby. Ice skating in several locations in town. Tour mirror lake by skate or dog sled.
I've recently stayed at this hotel for a 3 day getaway. I found this hotel to be centrally located which is a plus in this walker friendly town. I thought the hotel staff was excellent. From the front desk to room service, the staff was extremely helpful. They understood their town and suggested some great places to dine and enjoy a good beer. However, I found the look and feel of Lakeview Hotel seemed a bit dated. I would expect better accommodations at this price point. The bathroom and some of the furniture is beginning to show its age.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nancy from downstate, New York

Way beyond expectations

Posted Feb 10, 2014
Pros: As mentioned above, I loved the room size and view. It also adjoins downtown.
Cons: No big deal but maybe on-site registration/no-key entry, as opposed to key-entry-only and cross-street registration.
Location: Lake Placid's awesome for shoppers and sports enthusiasts. You can walk to great stores and the Olympic complex, where there's public outdoor skating.
I booked this motel last-minute for three people. I've stayed with teammates at multiple motels in Lake Placid for 15 years for a tournament. I've never had a bad experience but this motel was fantastic. Our room was huge, the view stunning. My understanding is it will undergo interior remodeling in the spring -- sort of an updating. Honestly, I don't see the need and worry that this might boost rates. But that's only a maybe-in-the-future concern. Right now, the Lakeview gets a 5-out-of-5 rating from me in all regards. My teammates are equally enthused. If the rates remain about the same, we'll stay there next year and, I would think, for years to come.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted Feb 10, 2014
Pros: Clean
Cons: Check out was very slow, there were 7 people in line, finally the man at the computer went into the back room and must have asked for help.
Location: Location was fine, walking distance to downtown Lake Placid.
Check-in was confusing, you check-in at the hotel across the street, but that was not stated in any info we had. The hotel walls seem to be very thin, we could hear the people in the next room. Room was clean, bathroom was tiny. For the price, I felt the room should have been much better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ben from Montreal

Always pleasant, always comfortable

Posted Nov 15, 2013
Pros: Location and view.
Cons: It ages gracefully but a little oil of the doors will slow squeaking
Location: Located in the centre of Lake Placid, a stone's throw to all it offers in food, entertainment and leisure
As a frequent guest I reiterate that the hotel is pleasant, comfortable, well located, it has impressive views of Mirror Lake and it is surrounded by all of the amenities of Main Av. Lake Placid. It is pet-friendly, wifi connected, and suits the needs of families or couples alike.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ben from Montreal

Best location and view in town

Posted Nov 11, 2013
This is my 20th visit to the hotel . I like the Adirondacks and Lake Placid in particular. The hotel is located at the end of Main Avenue but the beginning of all restaurant, bar, shopping and entertainment the place offers. It has a phenomenal view, it is clean, it is safe, the rooms offer good comfort, the resort has impressive amenities, rooms service, complimentary wifi and parking , and the staff is professional and very pleasant. The lobby is inviting and the rest if the recipe you crate yourself. It is family friendly , unpretentious , and it provides for a comfortable stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Cyrus from Albany

Great Location

Posted Nov 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
I was pleased.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by EK from Montreal

be aware of heating fun, it can wake you up

Posted Oct 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
It's nice area and nice to visit. Our experience with Hotel is bad because fridge is very noisy and heat fun too, No way to sleep easy...
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Will from Lake Placid

Good experience

Posted Oct 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
It was a good and cheap stay !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ben

Welcoming, well located, safe, clean and valid

Posted Oct 17, 2013
Pros: The easiness and unpretentiousness that allows all guests to feel home while being serviced. True to the Adirondack's surroundings.
Cons: Make adults responsible for all under age Junior Hockey teams lodging frequently at the hotel to avoid unnecessary disturbances
Location: Located at the end of Main Road, the centre of all action in Lake Placid. That is basically, in the best location possible, in front of Mirror Lake
A welcoming, well located, safe, clean and unpretentious hotel with a great view over Mirror Lake and accessibility to a myriad of services provided at any of the sister properties of High Peaks Resort. From complimentary wifi to spa services, catering, rooms service, bar and lounges, and in-grounds pool.