Ratings based on 130 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern NJ

GREAT PLACE BUT NOISE ALERT!

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: cleanliness of room and price
Cons: NOISE LEVEL FROM STREET
Location: Lake Placid: lake activities, skating, horses, hiking, shopping, dining
Able to make single night reservation for fourth of July holiday. Bravo! Easy check in, assigned front facing bedroom in main house. Clean, fresh linens, very comfy bed, spacious. The noise level from the room facing the road however, was brutal. You could hear the incessant noise from the cars driving by all night long. It should be noted that I am a former NYC resident and yes, the noise was that noticeable! When I suggested to the owner noise reducing shades/windows she looked at me as if she had never heard the noise complaint before. Impossible! Would recommend the stand alone units in the back, further away from the street. Did not stay for the complimentary breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Review.

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: The place was very clean, the patio was a great bonus feature and the free internet a definite plus.
Cons: An in-room television would have been a nice touch. There wasn't much privacy as with most hotels I have stayed at.
We loved the private porch that was attached to the room. The accommodations were clean and quiet and the staff was friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Cozy Bed & Breakfast

Posted May 30, 2014
The house was small but cozy. The rooms were very clean, and accommodated my stay as well as could be expected. I liked the location of the hotel itself too, since it was close enough to town to talk a nice walk, yet far enough away to stay clear of the traffic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice B&B in the Adirondacks

Posted May 11, 2014
Room was very comfortable, bed was comfortable. Furnishings were rustic, perfect for us as we were there to hike in the Adirondacks. We were very busy, so did not spend much time in the common rooms but they seemed like it would have been very nice to hang around and play games and pet the kitties. Thank you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by tadd from st albans bay,vt

down home comfort with friendly rapport

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: the people and the cats!!
I checked in early because the very nice cleaning girl let me in and introduced me to simon and simone (the cats of comfort) later on Debbie welcomed me to the lodge and when I was dressed and off to the wedding I was attending wished me a good time and have some fun!! this is down home hospitality at its best,i highly recommend the spruce lodge!! tadd redman
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cute b&b, close to downtown lake placid

Posted Mar 10, 2014
We had a lovely stay at spruce lodge. It is a clean and well priced. The only thing we would have like would be to have the breakfast earlier.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 28, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place, feels like home

Posted Jan 20, 2014
Great little bed and breakfast close to the main village. This place feels like home. Continental breakfast in the morning was perfect for us. Would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great bargain!

Posted Jan 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
The rooms are very nice as are the staff/owners. The rooms are well furnished. Ours had a small futon couch and a chair for reading as well as a very comfortable queen sized bed. The continental breakfast is really nice with freshly baked muffins and decent coffee. I slept well. Although the upstairs guests decided to leave at 5a.m. and we could hear them through the ceiling stomping around. Check in is at 2p.m. and there usually isn't anyone around before that so don't try to check in early.