Ratings based on 148 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Very friendly staff and clean room. Amenities on par with regular hotels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochester NY

Great get away in Lake Placid

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Stayed in the 1 bedroom apt during the summer. Perfect for my family of four. Room was a little outdated but bathroom, kitchen and linens were clean and apt was in good working order. Staff was very friendly and helpful about town events, resturants and things to see and do in Lake Placid. Breakfast was delicious and plenty of good to fill you up. I highly recommend staying here and hope to get back soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Bed & Breakfast - 5 km from downtown district

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: The owner's cat
Cons: Definitely the breakfast served, the bed and an increased amount of shampoo bottles
Location: The location is about 5 km from the downtown district. There are numerous shops downtown, a movie theatre as well as excellent restaurants.
When we arrived at this B&B, we were greeted warmly by the owner who showed us our room. The room was big and had lots of windows around it but I found it to be Spartan in decor. The en-suite bathroom was very clean which was appreciated but very small. The queen bed was extremely hard and uncomfortable. We were aware this B&B only served Continental breakfasts, but we found breakfast appalling. Very little effort was given and while the home made bread the owner made was delicious, we found breakfast to be inadequate.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from xxx

room needed updating

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: xxx
Cons: xxx
Location: xxx
bed was really hard breakfast very basic no bacon or eggs or pancakes ect no tv in room if your on a budget it reason place to stay need updating place was clean
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern NJ

GREAT PLACE BUT NOISE ALERT!

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: cleanliness of room and price
Cons: NOISE LEVEL FROM STREET
Location: Lake Placid: lake activities, skating, horses, hiking, shopping, dining
Able to make single night reservation for fourth of July holiday. Bravo! Easy check in, assigned front facing bedroom in main house. Clean, fresh linens, very comfy bed, spacious. The noise level from the room facing the road however, was brutal. You could hear the incessant noise from the cars driving by all night long. It should be noted that I am a former NYC resident and yes, the noise was that noticeable! When I suggested to the owner noise reducing shades/windows she looked at me as if she had never heard the noise complaint before. Impossible! Would recommend the stand alone units in the back, further away from the street. Did not stay for the complimentary breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Review.

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: The place was very clean, the patio was a great bonus feature and the free internet a definite plus.
Cons: An in-room television would have been a nice touch. There wasn't much privacy as with most hotels I have stayed at.
We loved the private porch that was attached to the room. The accommodations were clean and quiet and the staff was friendly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Travelingranny from SC

The 80s called and they want their B & B back

Posted Jun 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
While the B& B was clean and provided a breakfast, that's about all I can say. I expected quaint and got antiquainted. First off, we were followed by a cat when we checked in and were told to keep our door shut if we didn't want the cat to bother us. If you are not a cat person, this is not the place for you. The room looked like something out of my mother in laws house from the 70s. Too young to be antiques and too old to be stylish. No coffee available in the evening and there were signs posted not to take anything out of the frig. No coffee maker in the room and no TV at all except a circa 1960 console in the "front room" which the night shift staff took over. Thank goodness I could get WIFI or I would have gone crazy. The breakfast was NOT home cooked. Cold cereal, some homemade bread, fruit, juice and coffee. Self- service and bus your own dishes, thank you very much. No maid service to make up the room (OK, I get that), but if we wanted clean towels, we had to initiate it. The lighting in the room was atrocious. No light switch by the door, so unless you left a light on, you came into a totally dark room and had to fumble around until you found one of the wall mounted sconces. No games or cards or anything for adults to do, but the corner of the "front room" was filled with kids games and toys, almost like it was a very disroganized day care. I guess you get what you pay for.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by James Tanner from Spruce Lodge B&B, Lake Placid

Posted Jun 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our room and bath were fairly clean. However, the site is deceiving as no photos are posted with the type of room we were given. I guess I have to remember, you get what you pay for! Breakfast wasn't served as early as most other B&B's and hotels. We left about 7:15 am., which to most travelers isn't considered early. We had old metal beds and some old furniture to hang clothes plus an antique dresser. I made the reservation based on the photos I saw on their site. On the other hand, it is close to most everything and plenty of parking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Herman The German from Dallas

It does the job

Posted Jun 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
What it is: a roof over your head, a good night sleep, a breakfast that gets the motor started and off you go. What it is not: gushing hosts that take you into their grand historic home and pamper you. No parlor, nor wine, tea or crumpets reception. No breath taking antiques, china doll collections or bears running through the back yard. My experience: friendly/perfunctionary reception. Double Bed room on second floor with full bath. Comfortable and spacious enough for one person. No TV, no A/C (but ceiling fan). Fresh mountain air and a good book instead! Furniture and decoration is mid 20th century hodgepodge. Breakfast is quality, yet short and continental. The Lodge is located a bit outside the center of town. One must return to main drag for restaurants, entertainment, etc. If you are booking, ask if the road construction has been completed (you are facing quite a detour) due to blockage of a rather short stretch of road. For the value/budget oriented traveler in this area - the Spruce Lodge is a good place to stay. For the frou-frou and "Impress my spouse with a romantic B&B experience" clientele, it is not. Just my opinion.