Ratings based on 162 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Superior, WI

Old fashioned European style

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: It's like stepping into the past with dark colors, low lighting & no elevator.
Cons: Room lighting is very dim.
Location: There are lots of outdoor activities available--Lake Placid cruises, hiking, Olympic facilities, restaurants, shops, winter sports, etc.
The Pines is an old European style hotel. Our room was small and dark with a small tv and no hair dryer. Its location is an easy walk to "downtown". There is a German restaurant on site that is open only on Fri & Sat nite.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Everything was within walking distance. Simple, clean, quiet accommodations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Connecticut

Friendly, warm, and centrally located.

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: The bed was, hands down, the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. Everything was clean and well cared for, though old.
Cons: Clearly, the updates were done by amateurs. Some of the tiles didn't quite meet each other, etc, nothing a real traveller would find off putting.
Location: Lake Placid is one of America's great towns! Whatever you want to do there, you can. It's not the sophisticated tourist attraction.
I felt like I was living in an old fashioned movie. Jill, the owner, was easily the most helpful and friendly hotelier I've encountered in years. Also, she was always there, and sometimes in costume! Initially, I was a bit worried about the looks of the place for outside, but soon everything was good, once inside. Everything worked well, the shower, the sink, the clock radio, the TV, the lights, everything. The mirror was very high, reflecting Jill's stature.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient, nice walk to center.

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Cons: Hair dryers in room. Mirror in bathroom too small, no other mirrors.
Perfect location. Lake Placid is an out door arena. This Inn is not for those who are looking for ammenities from the Inn itself. It is very clean and beds comfortable.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Nancy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Jenniferfrom Louisville

Posted Jul 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
The owner was very friendly. But our pillow cases had hair on them. And the floor had not been vacuumed. The bathroom is oddly shaped. We are small people and had to squeeze between the tub wall and sink to get to the toilet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
old hotel which they are trying to bring back.. Staff is personable and helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom canada

Wouldn't stay again, overpriced for what it was

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Everything was rub-down and old. The sheets had stains and hair on them. Had to ask for new sheets and was given attitude by the owner at this request. The air conditioning worked but was really loud, making it hard to sleep. The location was good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Josh

A little overpriced for what it offers

Posted Jun 15, 2014
A hundred bucks a night for a double queen off season.. The only reason for that is a great location, a few minutes of walking to the Main street. Overal, the hotel had a clean room and fresh linen.. However, it is very old you will realize that the moment you enter.. What i noticed is a lot of dust and dirt in front the main entrance.. Not that i care, but it was obvious. If you don't like to drive around and you dont spend too much time sitting in a lobby, this is the place for you. Had I known main street parking was 0.50 cents an hour, 5$ for the whole day, we would have taken an 85$ per night hotel with an indoor pool and continental breakfast included, 15 miles away from the Lake Placid main street.