Ratings based on 95 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Syracuse, NY

Beautiful Hotel!

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Pros: Beautiful decor and amenities. No cost was spared in creating this rustic lodge which was anything but rustic in terms of comfort!
Cons: The only average thing in the resort was the food. We chose only to eat one night at the Kanu Lounge which served very average food.
Location: We visited Mount Van Hoevenberg where the men took a ride on the Olympic bobsled run--highly recommended to thrill-seekers!
What a lovely resort! We have stayed at many, many resorts all over the world but the Whiteface Lodge was superior in every respect. Every detail was considered in our suite from luxurious bedding, heated floors in the master bedroom, prints and oils on the wall, current magazines, and a spectacular views from every window of the Adirondack mountains. The staff was friendly and helpful at every encounter. Coffee, tea, and hot chocolate were served each afternoon along with a tray of homemade chocolate chip cookies. There were snow shoes and ice skates available as well as an indoor/outdoor pool and several hot tubs. The onsite movie theater, which served complimentary popcorn, offered a selection of both family and adult movies. We came to the resort to celebrate a 60th birthday and the weekend could not have been more perfect!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Great venue in a nice location.

Posted Feb 3, 2015
The lodge has to offer a lot of activities. It is very convenient that all of them can be used without any formalities, i.e., if you want to go skating, just go and grab a pair of skates. We have very much enjoyed our stay in the lodge and would love to go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom bergen county, NJ

Great fall getaway

Posted Nov 9, 2014
The staff is amazing, the property is beautiful and immaculate, amenities galore! I can't wait to come back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Nov 5, 2014
Everything is nice. 非常适合家庭。小孩子玩得很开心。游泳池很好。房间很大,干净。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Merveilleux site mais éviter les mariages !

Posted Oct 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
C'était notre deuxième visite au Lodge, coup de coeur des enfants l'an dernier nous avons choisi d'en faire une tradition automnale. Le site est superbe, les installations, le décor, la piscine, la salle de jeux, le buffet du matin et j'en passe. Seul bémol, en revenant de randonnée vers 14 h 30 nous avons voulu luncher mais la salle à manger était occupée par un mariage... résultat= la nourriture servie était infecte, les pâtes de mon fils froides (sortie directement du réfrigérateur!) , les burgers brûlés à l'extérieur et cru à l'intérieur. Mon époux qui était affamé de sa randonnée a tout mangé quand même et a fait une intoxication. Le manager devait nous contacter mais nous n'avons toujours pas eu de réponse. À suivre, nous retournerons quand même mais éviterons de prendre nos lunch la-bas !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom heartland

Suites are very nice ~ but pass on dining & spa

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Pros: Very nice sized suites - quiet - earthy - good sunlight. The bed was wonderfully cozy and comfy. I could blacken the bedroom to better aid sleep.
Cons: Gratuities are build into almost EVERYTHING. So, if a person did a crappy job, you still have to give them 18-20% additional. That just ain't right.
Location: This lodge is right on the road that leads to Lake Placid by at least a mile, which makes it quieter. The grocery store is 1 block away.
I've was pleased with my stay - would prefer to give it 4.5 stars but that wasn't available. I had a standard suite which gave me ample room to work. I was surprised to see the couch torn and that not mended. Not something I usually see at this level of hotel - and the rip to the sewn-in pillows was about 8 inches. That really was the only aesthetic thing. The bed was wonderfully cozy and comfy. I could blacken the room to better aid sleep. I loved the split LG fridge freezer, and the suite had something I hadn't seen in a hotel room - ONE unit that was both a washer and a dryer. Will tech marvels ever cease. VERY nice. The staff comes into the room frequently. They turn down the bed and leave a big chocolate cookie every night. It was quiet and felt airy. I could control the temperature well in my suite and the HVAC system was rather quiet too. Love the 1.5 baths. Downsides: 1) - the food. First, breakfast is included. At THIS level of a facility, if you are going to give me something free, please make it memorable. It wasn't. I don't know what those were but they weren't real eggs. And...free breakfast isn't free IF I'm REQUIRED to leave a gratuity...which I was. The nice touch was fresh squeezed grapefruit juice (you HAD to ask for it)...so I guess my gratuity paid for it. 2) ~ dinner. It wasn't memorable or good, had very small portion and was very expensive. 3) ~ the spa. The masseuse had no clue how to give a back massage. You could feel her watching the clock
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Big Flats, NY

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Great overall experience. Staff was wonderful. Stayed 3 nights during fall foliage season and location made short trips to take in all the spectacular colors easy. Dinner at the Kanu was $$$$ and the wine overpriced - so would recommend evening dining at other area restaurants in and around Lake Placid.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom ottawa ontario

Wedding anniversary celebration.

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Pros: I liked the setting in the bush.
Cons: Larger variety on the dinner menu.
Location: Location great. We took the boat tour around lake placid. We took the train ride. We drove up to white face and visited the area. These were all close
We went to relax and enjoy the facility. We took advantage of all the amenities and just relaxed. It was very comforting and enjoyable. All the staff was friendly and helpful. The staff biggest concern was to make sure your needs were being met. A good example of this was one night three couples met at the bond fire all strangers to each other's. We starting talking among us and before we new it it was 10 pm. The staff came along and put more wood on the fire she seen we were having a good time and wanted it to continue. We spent another hour there. We were in the pool and hot tub's every day which we enjoyed very much. We were there Monday to Friday and got all relaxed and rested. It was a good time and would return again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Johnfrom North. New jersey

Had to get away.

Posted Oct 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
We went to the lodge on a whim. Got some really bad news. felt like the walls were closing in. Just what the dr. Ordered litterrally. Great place great town. room & lodge were amazing some of the staff are actually on the olympic team. everyone was great Thank you. W. F. L