Ratings based on 83 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from heartland

Suites are very nice ~ but pass on dining & spa

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Pros: Very nice sized suites - quiet - earthy - good sunlight. The bed was wonderfully cozy and comfy. I could blacken the bedroom to better aid sleep.
Cons: Gratuities are build into almost EVERYTHING. So, if a person did a crappy job, you still have to give them 18-20% additional. That just ain't right.
Location: This lodge is right on the road that leads to Lake Placid by at least a mile, which makes it quieter. The grocery store is 1 block away.
I've was pleased with my stay - would prefer to give it 4.5 stars but that wasn't available. I had a standard suite which gave me ample room to work. I was surprised to see the couch torn and that not mended. Not something I usually see at this level of hotel - and the rip to the sewn-in pillows was about 8 inches. That really was the only aesthetic thing. The bed was wonderfully cozy and comfy. I could blacken the room to better aid sleep. I loved the split LG fridge freezer, and the suite had something I hadn't seen in a hotel room - ONE unit that was both a washer and a dryer. Will tech marvels ever cease. VERY nice. The staff comes into the room frequently. They turn down the bed and leave a big chocolate cookie every night. It was quiet and felt airy. I could control the temperature well in my suite and the HVAC system was rather quiet too. Love the 1.5 baths. Downsides: 1) - the food. First, breakfast is included. At THIS level of a facility, if you are going to give me something free, please make it memorable. It wasn't. I don't know what those were but they weren't real eggs. And...free breakfast isn't free IF I'm REQUIRED to leave a gratuity...which I was. The nice touch was fresh squeezed grapefruit juice (you HAD to ask for it)...so I guess my gratuity paid for it. 2) ~ dinner. It wasn't memorable or good, had very small portion and was very expensive. 3) ~ the spa. The masseuse had no clue how to give a back massage. You could feel her watching the clock
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Big Flats, NY

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Great overall experience. Staff was wonderful. Stayed 3 nights during fall foliage season and location made short trips to take in all the spectacular colors easy. Dinner at the Kanu was $$$$ and the wine overpriced - so would recommend evening dining at other area restaurants in and around Lake Placid.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ottawa ontario

Wedding anniversary celebration.

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Pros: I liked the setting in the bush.
Cons: Larger variety on the dinner menu.
Location: Location great. We took the boat tour around lake placid. We took the train ride. We drove up to white face and visited the area. These were all close
We went to relax and enjoy the facility. We took advantage of all the amenities and just relaxed. It was very comforting and enjoyable. All the staff was friendly and helpful. The staff biggest concern was to make sure your needs were being met. A good example of this was one night three couples met at the bond fire all strangers to each other's. We starting talking among us and before we new it it was 10 pm. The staff came along and put more wood on the fire she seen we were having a good time and wanted it to continue. We spent another hour there. We were in the pool and hot tub's every day which we enjoyed very much. We were there Monday to Friday and got all relaxed and rested. It was a good time and would return again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful setting; comfortable luxury

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: Setting can't be beat.
Cons: Seems a bit pricey... But few comparables.
Gorgeous suite with terrace and great view. We appreciated the well equipped kitchenette. Cooked our own dinner (filet mignon, local corn, baked potatoes, nice Cabernet) in our suite, ate in our spa bathrobes, enjoyed the million dollar view.... Buffet breakfast was excellent with friendly service and more great views.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Laval, Quebec, Canada

MINI GETAWAY

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Booked for 2 nights, the 2 bedroom suite. Lots of space and very comfortable for a family of 4. Kids loved it. Lots to do in the hotel, movie and popcorn, bowling, computers, game room, indoor and outdoor pools.. My husband and I treated ourselves to the spa (loved it). The restaurant Kanu was deliciousssss... My daughter had the chicken and risotto, I had the bucatini pasta delish!! and my husband the bone in filet (if you like meat you're gonna love it). The best was the dessert I had the panna cotta (too die for)!!!! my husband and kids had the cheesecake presented very different (delish also).
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Sarah from Virginia

Awesome Family Vacation

Posted Jul 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
This place was wonderful in July! My kids had a great time swimming in the indoor/outdoor pools, playing in the game room, watching movies in the theater and making s'mores every night. The hotel canoe club is 1/2 mile shuttle trip away with paddle boards, canoes and kayaks at your disposal for the day. We had a free buffet breakfast every morning and fresh-baked chocolate chip cookies in our room every night. The on-site restaurant is kind of pricey, but you do have a full kitchen in the room if you'd like to cook in. Also there are tons of great restaurants less than a mile from the resort. We will absolutely visit again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Sarah from Perth

Amazing accommodation and facilities

Posted Jun 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
The amenities at Whiteface Lodge are outstanding, excellent spa facilities, cinema, gym, pool, yoga and other complementary fitness classes also available. Excellent dining room and menu, service fantastic. It would be an incredible place to visit at Christmas.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Susan Stinson from Ottawa

Anniversary weekend

Posted May 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed here for our fortieth wedding anniversary and from the moment we checked in this place was special. The staff were very welcoming, the room was awesome and there were even big chocolate chip cookies waiting for us in our room. There are so many little extras here that you don't find elsewhere, like bonfires for cooking your own smores every night. Would definitely recommend this for anyone looking for an extra special place to spend a weekend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Amazing Lodge, highly recommend

Posted Apr 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very impressed with the total experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jean from Oneco, CT

What a treat!

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: Heated floors in bathroom; great kitchen appliances and amenities. Beautiful atmosphere. Great lounge area
Cons: Later checkout time!
Location: You really don't need to go anywhere if you vacation here, but the Lake itself is nearby. Shops, restaurants, hiking, skiing, etc.
We stayed only one night, but wish we were here longer. Will definitely return for a longer stay. The staff makes you feel pampered. The rooms are furnished and decorated in a very comfortable yet elegant fashion. Food is excellent, restaurant is gorgeous, and lots to do (bowling, theater, game room, ice cream parlor, etc.)