Ratings based on 333 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rockaway Beach OR

What a pleasant surprise!

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Pros: Quiet and walking distance to the lake.
Cons: Heating and cooling upgrade. Our room had an old wall heater. Other than that it was perfect.
Location: Riva grill and access to the lake are within walking distance.
We were in Tahoe for my nephews wedding and wanted something close to the Riva Grill where the reception was. I found our room to be tastefully decorated and it had many extra touches like wine glasses and opener, extra toiletries that included toothpaste which I forgot. Christopher at the front desk was very helpful and helped me book a room at the last minute for my son and his family. We will definitely stay here again if we are in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sacramento, CA

Cozy, home-y, affordable, perfect stay

Posted Mar 31, 2015
From checking in with Ali to checking out, my experience with Alder Inn was perfect! If you've never been there before, Ali will walk you to your room and show you around. I stayed in the sunshine room, which was so inviting with about 15 throw pillows on the super plush bed! The complimentary toiletries are bath and body works, the rooms have Keurigs, robes, and everything is very, VERY clean! My only gripe is I like a very cold room and the thermostat was not working. I didn't bother telling anyone, though, because the brisk Tahoe air and CEILING FAN did the trick to keep me nice and cool through the night! Other cool things include free bike rentals, a hot tub, located in a serene area away from the hustle and bustle but still close enough to everything. Wonderful experience. I definitely will be staying here for probably all future trips to Tahoe!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Lodi, CA

Walking distance to Lake Tahoe

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: The distance to the Lake.
Cons: Update the bathroom and hot water facilities. Provide an in-room phone.
Location: Walk by the Lake. If you're into skiing or snow recreation, it would be a great place to stay when the slopes have some snow.
The Alder Inn staff was pleasant and helpful. The Inn is nearby Lake Tahoe and easily within walking distance. There are also several shopping locations and restaurants nearby as well. Nevada is easily within driving distance, too. As for the Alder Inn: the room was downstairs and easily accessible, which was nice. The room was somewhat updated except for the bathroom. The bed was a little hard for our taste, but not so terrible that my back hurt afterward. Unfortunately, the upstairs guests didn't sleep the entire night based on the constant walking throughout the night. The hot water ran out in our bathroom, which was a major disappointment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 23, 2015
We loved everything about our stay in Tahoe. Ali was a great host with wonderful recommendations for us as first timers. We will be back for sure and will be staying at the Alder Inn!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Los Altos, CA

Great value for the price

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: - (late) checkin & checkout: very fast and smooth process - friendly staff - clean, warm & quiet room - large hot tub
Cons: - shower/bath was a bit funky
Location: - cross country skiing at Kirkwood is a nice twist on your usual skiing weekend
We booked this hotel last-minute and everything from the booking through a late checkin (around midnight) to the checkout went super smooth. Paperwork was minimal. They have plenty of parking spots and won't bug you with any permits, stall numbers or such. The front desk lady was one of the friendliest front desk people I've ever met. She asked me about our plans for the day and provided me with some brochures and tips. The room itself was nice and clean, and actually felt like one in a way more expensive hotel. The bed was comfy with about a million different pillows - which was nice because there was nothing else to sit on but one armchair, so we were sitting on the bed most of the time. They provided water glasses, big coffee mugs, wine glasses & a wine opener; a microwave, a modern coffee maker (Keurig I think) & a tiny fridge. Also provided were plenty of towels, wonderful bath gowns and shampoos etc. from Bath & Body Works. The hot tub outside was nice, too; pretty large and the jets actually provided a nice back massage. It could have been a tad warmer but it was OK. The only things I can think of that I did not like were: - the bath/shower, which was clean but overall pretty weird; it was hard to control the temperature and almost impossible not to splash water all over the bathroom (even with the curtain provided) - a substantial amount of dark hair on the otherwise clean towels & bedsheets (perhaps the maid should be using a hair tie or something)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Better than average.

Posted Feb 23, 2015
The condition of the Inn was better than average. The room was clean and the location is close to shopping area and the lake. Don't expect the wi-fi to work and the parking is limited. If you come back late from outing you might find it hard to find a parking space. We park on the side of the pool so it turn out ok. Checking in and out was okay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sacramento, CA

weekend warrior

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Pros: Affordable and has in room microwave and mini fridge.
Cons: Older locks, could be switched to a card key system.
This is a nice little property and has everything you need when staying the weekend in Tahoe. It's centrally located to the south shore restaurants and then the casino strip. I was immediately greeted by the hotel staff and everyone was very friendly to me.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco, CA

Very cute and cozy room close to the main street

Posted Feb 6, 2015
I only stayed for one night but my room was very cute and comfortable. I loved how clean the room was and how nicely it was decorated. I would definitely stay in this inn again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Antonio

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 4, 2015 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Tahoe cozy comfort

Posted Feb 3, 2015 on Hotels.com
Very boutique feel to the room and the location was very central. So many many hotels in the area; this one is a keeper!