Ratings based on 357 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WV

Wonderful atmosphere and location... No A/C

Posted Jul 21, 2015
The staff and facility were awesome. The rooms were clean and the entire hotel atmosphere was great. The location was ideal for walking to shopping, dining, and attractions. The only downfall was the lack of A/C. We did not know when booking for the month of July that A/C was not in the rooms. However, a ceiling fan and stand fan were provided. Overall, the hotel was nice and convenient, it would be perfect for the fall/winter months!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location! Great Vibe!

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: Location & Outdoor patio area.
Cons: More waffle makers, outside garbage cans could be nicer looking located in parking lot, could not locate "recycle" cans.
Location: Beach was nearby...great location for walking to shops or casinos.
Love the lobby, Industrial look at its best! ,Great front desk!, Great location!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Foresthill, CA

Just a quick trip to Tahoe with the Family

Posted Jul 14, 2015
Pros: See above
Cons: Would have loved a fridge/microwave. For the free breakfast more food choices, like fruit, bagels, instant oatmeal and hot chocolate for the kids.
Location: Heavenly Ski Resort, Casinos, Harvey's Concerts, Grocery Store, Starbucks and of course...walking distance to the beach!!!
I love Basecamp. It's perfect for kids and adults...the rooms are clean, fun and nicely decorated...usually when in Tahoe one doesn't plan to do anything but sleep in their room...but all of my kids WANTED to be in our room...ha ha ha. The new Beer Gardens are great and we ordered burgers and they were delicious...can't wait to stay again when their kitchen is completely done. Also can't wait to stay again sans kids. Perfect place for all and within walking distance to the casinos and Heavenly Resort...and the best thing about it all is it is AFFORDABLE.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 11, 2015
My experience was great The breakfast was good ,and love the coffe and the distance to the stores was very conviniance
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 11, 2015
The room is small .The floor is creaking.the screen door has a big tear.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Why all the good reviews??

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Arrived with our family of 6 to find there wasn't air conditioning in the rooms. Temps were a highs in 90s and the rooms (we booked two) were stuffy and smelled like feet. For the price, I expect air conditioning. We were also disappointed to find out they don't have breakfast unless you consider apples, coffee, and tea breakfast. We checked out after one night and got two rooms at the Lake Tahoe Resort (each room comes with two rooms-it used to be an Embassy Suites) for the rest of our stay in Tahoe for not that much more money. Yes, it's not as "funky" and "hip" as Basecamp, but I'd rather have air conditiong and a full breakfast. The pros are my kids loved the bunk beds, the staff was friendly, and the wifi was strong. Oh, the beds were pretty comfortable too but hard to be comfortable when it was so hot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2015
It's like a boutique hotel from San Francisco but in Tahoe. I loved the decor!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sonoma, CA

Adorable and imaginative design elements.

Posted Jun 19, 2015
Pros: Loved the design…BRAVO
Cons: Need to have air conditioning in the rooms…fans are inconvenient and really noisy.
Great location and creative design elements at every turn…adorable and masterful make-over of what used to be a couple of old and funky motels. The fenced lawn area with fire pits, small wading pool for kids, and lots of room for them to run is a wonderful communal gathering spot for families. It is directly across the street from Harvey's Casino, but you are off "the strip" so it's actually quiet, only a couple of blocks walk to the beach, and plenty of dining choices, also within blocks. The only real negative was that, because of the age of the buildings, most rooms do not have air conditioning so it gets really stuffy on a hot day. They did provide fans, but they are noisy so not helpful when you're trying to sleep.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Cool vibe

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Pros: The cool décor and location were great!
Cons: Outdoor stairs and hallways smelled bad, parking was super difficult.
Location: The hotel is within walking distance of the main shopping and restaurant area. And it is very close to the public beach.
We stayed here 2 nights and really liked it. Room has a cool rustic/industrial décor that we really liked. Mattress was OK, bath was nice and shower was very good. Room was clean and since there is no air conditioning we appreciated the fan. The lobby/breakfast area is also cool in its décor, breakfast however is just pastries and coffee or tea or juice, with a few apples and oranges available. The parking was very tight and difficult with an SUV and the outdoor stairway we had to use for our 3rd floor room smelled bad.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Clara

local beach perk, convenient location

Posted Jun 13, 2015
Location: loved having the perk of a free pass to the local community beach.
loved having a room with a balcony (not all of them do), morning pastries were tasty. I generally like to have more than a continental breakfast, but the coffee was very good. The location is in the shadow of the casinos and does not have good views, but the beach is very close (walkable). It is in the very touristy part of S. Lake Tahoe, so if you prefer to be off the beaten path, this is not for you. There are lots of restaurants and shops in easy walking distance.