Ratings based on 193 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great view of Donner Lake

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: Close to the slopes. Comfortable for family.
Room was nice. Included mini fridge and microwave. Pleasant stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

Needs an update quick.

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Furnishings
Location: Donner Lake
Bed, tv, bath and table in room were about 20 years old.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Santa Rosa, CA

The Most Bang For Your Budget Saving Buck

Posted Nov 29, 2014
Pros: Sauna. Hot water that never runs out. Right on the lake. Close to the hwy but you can't hear it. Friendly staff. Heater in bathroom. Clean.
Cons: Hallways could use new paint and carpets, but really, how much time do you spend in the hallway of your hotel? Coffee pot was also rediculously small.
Location: Snow activities, Woodward Tahoe, Trukee, North Lake Tahoe Adventure Park, Horseback Riding, Watercraft rentals on site, BBQ's on site, picturesque.
As a single mom with two boys (12 & 13) and a humble income I like to save where I can when traveling but still have a good time. This can be done by booking a hotel with two beds as my boys will still sleep together slumber party style :) as well as staying somewhere that offers free breakfast. I found the DLV when I was planning a recent winter trip and ended up not only booking it for that but we are already booked for our summer trip. We needed to be near Boreal Ridge/Woodward Tahoe, and this place is minutes away. It's also close enough to Lake Tahoe that it is worthwhile to stay here if you are planning on doing activites in that area as well. The room rates were comparable to other budget hotels but with this place you get so much more. When we arrieved Bob checked us in to our room, one that hadn't been remodeled yet. I wasn't bothered by this as I already felt we were getting a deal, but he soon came around our room and offered to move us to a different one since there were going to be several construction workers staying in the rooms adjacent to us and he didn't want us to be bothered by them. We ended up in a room that had recently been updated. It was not fancy but it had a new bed, new pull out sofa, new flat screen tv with free cable, free wifi, new kitchentte with stove, sink, garbage disposal, microwave, and fridge. We saved a ton by not eating out, plus we got to lounge around in our jammies and eat if we wanted :) We were very comfortable
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Annfrom Woodland

So-so

Posted Oct 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is at a beautiful location and I was expecting more. Although the room (suite) was very large, it was very dated. Very old furnishings. The couch felt dirty, so before sitting on it I put down one of the spare blankets. None of the rooms had a full length mirror and since we were there for and dressing for a wedding, it would have been nice to have. The room came as a non-smoking room but it was evident the minute that you walked in the room that it had been smoked in. This hotel definitely has the potential to be four star but it will take a makeover and a dedicated staff. We had a nice time and I would stay there again, but I would probably bring slipcovers for the furniture.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Stevefrom Castaic, CA

Decent hotel, great area

Posted Oct 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Like most hotels in the Tahoe area, it's a little old and outdated. But if you're in this area, hopefully you're not there to stay in the hotel room. Most hotels bank on this, which is why I think they don't feel the need to update. However, it's right on Donner Lake and is very peaceful and quiet.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ivan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Cons: Would be nice to have some food available within the hotel
Fantastic property right on the water - couldn't ask for more
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great location on the lake with plenty of places to sit and enjoy the view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet, comfortable condo/hotel on Donner Lake.

Posted Oct 3, 2014
Pros: It's quiet, comfortable and clean.
Cons: A list of the local TV stations would be nice.
Location: Truckee and Lake Tahoe are close by
We had previously stayed in this complex and had a great experience then, so it was a no-brainer to choose this location again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Fantastic lodging, room presents as a studio apart

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Pros: Room quality, lake view
Location: Donner Lake and Tahoe - 'nuff said
A bit smoky from the King fire, but a great view of Donner Lake, very quiet, and great amenities.