Ratings based on 113 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Cute place near Tahoe

Posted Sep 5, 2014
This was the third or fourth time my husband and I have been to this hotel. Well it doesn't look like much from the outside the rooms are very sweet with nice decorations comfortable beds and great amenities. Highly recommended for the price. p.s. don't miss the great Basque restaurant in town here they are incredible!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Folsom, CA

Over night stay.

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Location: In a quiet town that rolls up the streets early. Not much to do unless you go to one ofthe small casinos. The town museum is very nice. A must visit.
Clean room, nice beds, good coffee in the morning. Some noise from people on the second floor in the middle of the night.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Do Not Stay at this Hotel

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: the beds were comfortable
Cons: OWNERS could care more about customer service instead of recoup the money they spend to upgrade this hotel.
Location: It was a gloomy domey ghost town. I would not stay here again if it were the last place on earth.
I booked here by mistaken and tried to transfer to South Lake Tahoe to the sister company The Avolane. The owner of this hotel said it was not possible they would not work with me at. To it all off it is located by a local bar and people hang out in the parking lot at night and are loud. Very dissapointed and will never stay here for the sister or parent in South Lake Tahoe.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staff is great.

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Came in on a Monday. We were on motorcycles and riding through thunderstorms. We were wet, cold and tired. When we checked in the staff were very friendly. They allowed us to park our bikes under the awning so they would not get rained and hailed on any more than they already had been. They also gave us a room that looked out over the area where we had parked our bikes so we could keep an eye on them. The room was clean. Shower was nice and hot, with plenty of towels. Comfortable bed with plenty of pillows, and great location, right across the street from a great basque restaurant. Just a very comfortable stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Caarlsbad

Good location. Good value.

Posted Aug 1, 2014
We stayed 3 nights while visiting family in town. The staff was extremely nice and helpful. Rooms were clean. There are several places nearby to eat and drink...we will stay here again. Best choice in this area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sf, ca

Great place to stay in a quaint town

Posted Jul 31, 2014
The historian inn was a comfortable and clean hotel and the room was spacious. My only complaint was that the curtains in the room could not be fully drawn, so people could peek into our room to see what we were doing. We did call the front office about it, and we were told that they would call someone to find out how to close them. However, we never received a call back. Oh well, not a huge deal as we were only there for two nights. Otherwise, the historian inn was very nice, clean and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

in the center of the town

Posted Jul 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
the hotel was right in the center of the town, they had free bike rentals, but did not have a pool which we really liked to have, very quit and was close to a park,, flat screan tv, and the beds were great in comfort, will stay there again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Israel

Great accommodation near Tahoe

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Love the little town Gardnerville. Good atmosphere and nice people. 20 min. Drive to south lake Tahoe without the fuss and pressure of Tahoe circle road. The motel is very nice with great location. The Rooms Are Comfy And Decent. The only thing that should be changed is the fact they declare they have continental breakfast but in reality they have either oatmeal or muffin (no coffee! )
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Jessica from Lemoore, Ca

Posted Jul 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were in town for a softball tournament and drove 4 hours to get there. I was very happy with our room and beds when we arrived. The only thing that was a big disappointment was their wifi, the signal was very weak so I had limited access. Being a student I was really depending on their wifi to get work done during our down time.. other than that service was good. Rooms were clean, cozy and accommodating w a fridge n microwave. I would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Silicon Valley

Large comfortable room, bikes

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Location: Restaurants in the close vicinity were disappointing. Be sure to ask the staff for personal recommendations.
Nicely decorated, comfortable bed, very quiet even though our room overlooked main street. We sat out on chairs and watched the goings on. Friendly and helpful staff. They have bikes to take out and tour the area. Definitely a good value.