Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Appreciate that dogs are welcome. Good for winter sports as shuttle to skiing near. Right on beach for summer sports.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Ok if you are desperate for a clean place to stay.

Posted Jan 6, 2015 on Hotels.com
There weren't many options left for a last-minute post-New Year's stay in north Lake Tahoe. The room we had was certainly roomy, but it hasn't been updated in probably 40 years. The owner was very nice, check in was fine, and when we tripped a fuse in the bathroom, it was taken care of right away. The beds were probably newer and were comfortable although the sheets seemed like they were from Goodwill. The towels were all nice and new. The kitchen was pretty bare bones and we didn't do more than make tea. So, overall, only recommend if you are desperate like we were during a holiday week.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

DONT GO HERE

Posted Dec 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
* Dont expect the property manager at site. * Appliances are too old and they are ready to die anytime. * Very smelly rooms.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pictures can be misleading

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: The view is the only thing that we liked.
Cons: Everything needs to changed and updated in this place.
My husband and I wanted to get away for a few days before I started the school year again. I searched on Expedia for a place to stay along the lake and looked at Holiday House. The pictures were wonderful and the price fairly reasonable. There were cheaper places with more amenities that included free breakfast, sons, hot tub, fireplaces. But this place had a phenomenal view and showed beautiful flowers on balconies, nicely appointed rooms, etc. When we arrived we found a very run down rooms, the shower was mildewed and the door of the shower was rusted. The hair dryer had never been cleaned and I had to clean it myself before I could use it. The bedroom was disgusting. I could not sleep the first night because I thought something will crawl on me. The second night I wore long johns and long sleeve shirt because I did not want my body to be touching the sheets. The stove was .... I think you are getting the picture. The place has not been renovated since the 1970's (I think).
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Philfrom Las Vegas

nice get away

Posted Aug 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
The lake Tahoe area can get very crowded, what we liked about Holiday house was it's quiet seclusion from all the crowds and noise. The rooms are clean and somewhat comfortable. A little upgrade on the furniture would be nice but did not detract from our stay. If you want modern fancy rooms go to one of the large Tahoe resorts for about $300 per night, I'll come back to the Holiday House for it's relaxed setting and great views
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Josephine M.from San Francisco, CA

Matches Vibe of N. Lake Tahoe. Quaint with Nature.

Posted Jul 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
The stay at Holiday House was perfect. The hotel has a very convenient locaton, you are one minute drive from King's Beach and five minute drive from Tahoe City. The hotel amenities were very simple and exactly what you need. Clean bathroom, living room, dining room, kitchen. The hotel has a grill you can use on the patio that overlooks the lake. There is a swimming area right on the lake and you can sit on the beach chairs. It's not a sandy beach, but more of a bouldery one. It's perfect for having a drink and reflecting over sunset. If you are the type of person that needs a modern luxurious hotel, unfortunately, there aren't alot of options in lake tahoe that provides that. What Holiday House provides is an accomodation that is simple and surrounded with the view of the lake.Those views are just gorgeous. If you look at the pictures, it's exactly what you get. What the pictures don't capture is the beautiful energy of the property. The sound of the lake that greets you right at your door. I've stayed in so many places and I just can't say enough wonderful things about this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Charm and great atmosphere. Alvena was welcoming and helpful. Can't wait to go back The Paramonte family
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

What a treat!

Posted Jun 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Right on the lake...Cedar walls and ceilings..I'm telling all my friends
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Lisafrom Pennsylvania

Sometimes older IS better

Posted Apr 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was a diamond in the rough...wonderful old small hotel/suite...very well appointed and the views are untouchable...right ON Lake Tahoe ...would most definately seek out again...poo on the new ones and their overpricing...