Ratings based on 327 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Northern California

Nice facility, nice breakfast and close to Casinos

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Pros: Convenience to State Line casino area. Excellent staff. Slept like a log.
Cons: No complaints.
Location: Near Lake Tahoe swimming, boating and fishing. Near major ski areas and casinos.
The wife and I attended a Beach Boys concert at a neighboring casino. Holiday Inn Express is an easy walk from the State Line casino area in good weather. As it was a little cold that night, we drove the 1/3 mile or so to the casino area. We mentioned that we were celebrating our 46th wedding anniversary, and we were upgraded to a very nice room with an indoor bubble jet tub. Totally unexpected, but very much appreciated. The breakfast buffet is included in your room rate, and is quite satisfactory. We have stayed here several times over the years, and it has always met or exceeded our expectations.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 3, 2015 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful review of our property. We are so pleased we could be an integral part of your anniversary celebration. We are also flattered that you have stayed with us multiple times and hope you will visit again soon. Warm Regards, Shari B. Assistant General Manager
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom placerville,ca

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: was very accomodating in every way!.
Cons: more parking
rooms were clean,beds comfortable. Excellent service. great continental breakfast. staff were friendly. Great location, close to restaurants and casinos.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 17, 2015
My bed was soft, I complained about to staff. The staff helped to replace the bed, the replacement bed was relatively better. They gave good service.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 5, 2015
Pros: The location was convienent.
Cons: There was no way to control the room temperature. It was very hot and stuffy making it hard to sleep through the night.
It was easy to access and close to restaurants. The rooms were clean and breakfast was included this allowed us to get to the slopes quickly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent stay and friendly staff

Posted Jan 27, 2015
I arrived to Lake Tahoe early morning. I went to hotel and asked if I can do an early check in ( check in is at 4:00 P.M.) The staff was super nice and said they would do what was possible for an early check in. They got my number to call and called me by 2:30 P.M.that my room was ready. Upon arriving my room was very clean. The room includes a refrigerator and microwave. The hotel is close to all attractions. The next day the breakfast was good. It consisted of bagels, toast, pancakes, eggs, cereal, and yogurt. When going back to Lake Tahoe I will stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Holiday Inn Express

Posted Jan 5, 2015 on Hotels.com
The stay was nice and comfortable. Breakfast was great the only thing was there was no room to sit. It was very inconvenient to stand and eat breakfast with my family (being a family of 5). The room was very very crowded, not too happy with that, need more room to sit or ask others who were not eating just lounging to kindly stand or leave so others can sit to eat. It wasn't just my family there were others that were waiting for a table.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great breakfast

Posted Jan 4, 2015
The facility is decent but the room wasn't super clean (left over hair in the shower drain etc). Also the heater in the room works manually. You can't set the temperature automatically so it's either boiling or freezing. However, overall it is a decent deal because you can walk to Heavenly and they have a great breakfast included with the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by MarionHfrom Felton

will return!

Posted Jan 4, 2015 on Hotels.com
Excellent. The only negative was that our room shook from the hotel's laundromat downstairs. Loved the breakfast. Walking distance to downtown. Warm and comfortable. (Had lows in the single digits outside ) Comfortable beds. Friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Henriquefrom Belo Horizonte

Excelente estadia

Posted Jan 4, 2015 on Hotels.com
Hotel muito bem localizado, quartos amplos,limpos,bom cafe da manha; chamamos a manutençao para arrumar secador de cabelos e ela foi extremamente rapida e eficiente. No geral excelente hotel, e com certeza ficaremos lá no verão! Excelente opçao para familia
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Hemantfrom San Francisco

Not upto Holiday Inn Express standards

Posted Dec 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was a Christmas ski trip to Lake Tahoe and my family of 3 wanted just an overnight bed to sleep on. So we had low expectations anyway. However, when we booked 2 Queen-beds which was $10 more than 2 double-beds on hotels.com, and we got double-sized beds, I was taken aback when the reception told me that's the only available room since the hotel is full. How does Hotels.com let me choose a 2 queen-bed room, or does HI Express keeps hotels.com misinformed? Anyway, I got over it since it didn't matter as much as a comfortable night's sleep. The beds were actually good, the room clean, the bathroom spacious and well-equipped. But there is one giant reason why I wouldn't book this hotel again. The whole hotel building started shaking and vibrating every 2 hours, for 5 minutes, I don't know if their central heater/generator vibrates the entire building or was it just the laundry room below my room. Whatever it was, it sure did scare my child out of sleep. And I'm not saying just a whirring sound, this was a full-on California earthquake style room shaking, with the bulbs literally shaking in their holders and ripples seen in the water bottle. I have stayed in HI Express before and this location was definitely not upto the standard I expected. Overall, this HI Express hotel was ultimately no better than a roadside motel, which is definitely not worthy of the HI Express branding.