Ratings based on 2,117 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Sacramento

Ok hotel for a short stay & low expectations.

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Pros: Close proximity to golf course.
Cons: In the afternoon the pool area turns into an adult club scene, including the thong bikini wearing servers. Definitely NOT family friendly.
Location: Casinos, lake not too far, bike rental, shopping, Heavenly gondola.
The Hardrock is formerly the Horizon. They did update the decor, but it seemed like it was on the cheap. ie.: The room & bathroom looked nice, but the thermostat didn't really work & we couldn't get the room temp above 68*. There was no fan in the BR & no switch to turn the vanity lights on. No fridge in the rooms, but they did bring one up on request. The front desk staff and the bellman were very friendly. Not impressed with the Fire Break restaurant staff, food or service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Roseville, CA

The Horizon is now the Hard Rock Hotel

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Cons: Update the elevators and keep them clean
The hotel was bought by the Hard Rock Hotel and completely redone (except the run down elevators). It's not the old, run down Horizon anymore and more hip and perfect location to the center of all the Casinos. Highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Naples

This is now the Hard Rock

Posted Jul 4, 2015
Pros: Brand new, modern, beautiful, great location
Cons: Nothing
Location: Lots to do in and near Lake Tahoe, truly one of the most beautiful places in the country!
Not sure why the hotel came through in my reservation as the Horizon, but this now the Hard Rock and it is AMAZING The entire place has been renovated and is a beautiful new casino and resort. The room was very modern, clean, and comfortable. When we walked into the room there was music playing and we instantly felt comfortable. This place was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Krystian from S.

Great night

Posted Apr 1, 2014
The hotel has an old school 70s movie feel to it, nothing too fancy and you feel like you should be Robert DeNiro from Casino. It was loads of fun and the location is convenient for walking anywhere you need.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel is closing

Posted Apr 1, 2014
The hotel is closing soon at it showed, room was dirty and most of the hotel is already closed
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Tyler parker

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 31, 2014 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Jason from Northern California

Surprise Surprise!!!

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: The view of Lake Tahoe, mountains, and golf course.
Cons: Too much to list...
Opened the door to our room- covers pulled back off beds, with fans on chairs blowing on each. Front desk apologized and gave us an upgraded room. Took the journey back to the 12th Floor with all our luggage in hand, only to encounter more problems. No towels in bathroom, no pillow cases, and overall cleanliness of room not too good. Not to mention the tv looked like something from the 1970's! Needless to say, we won't be returning!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Marilyn

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 29, 2014 on Hotels
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Horizon

Posted Mar 25, 2014 on Hotels
Horrible service! Front desk was rude and unwelcoming. Room was old and musty. Hal the lights did not work and neither did the hvac. Will never stay here again
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel is not bad, but casino is

Posted Mar 24, 2014
It's closing down on 3/31, so it doesn't matter much. Casino is trying to get all the money they can, so their machines give you back almost 0% return. The staff is friendly and professional: hopefully, most of them will be re-hired by the new owners.