Ratings based on 235 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Southern California

Okay but not special

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Clean the unit better and replace stained cushions, hook up the TV cable.
TV had no signal - staff never repaired it. "Wasn't their problem" ... what the... Place was almost empty, staff was just going thru the motions, really did not care. Unit was beat up. Couches had stains from what I do not want to know.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Colorado

Our stay at the Northstar resort was amazing!

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: The room was very beautiful. I love the fact that we had a full kitchen which allowed my husband and I to cook our own dinner. I also loved the pines.
Cons: As far as I'm aware, there is nothing that needed to be improved.
Location: The resort is near the "Village", a small shopping center with local stores and restaurants. Also lake Tahoe is within 15 minutes of the resort.
Our stay at the Northstar resort was amazing! My husband and I were thrilled with our accommodations and the setting of the resort. Our studio/condo had all of the amenities described plus more. Our studio was located in a hidden grove surrounded by pines. This setting was very serene. Upon arriving we were greeted by the resort's staff who were very friendly and efficient (we spent less than 10 minutes checking in). We received complimentary passes for roller skating and discounted offers for dining and golfing. In addition, there are many local stores and shopping strips that are near by. We had a very positive and wonderful stay. We look forward to visiting the resort again in the near future!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Victoria BC

Secluded

Posted Oct 11, 2014
Mediocre lodgings, quite aged and not updated. No services in the area and approx 5 miles to any amenities, at least during October. Nice area though if you like it quiet. No pool or hot tub. Great golf course
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Maine

Not as expected

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Badly designed with the Murphy bed where it is. If you sleep on the living room side you can't get around the bed easily.
Location: Close to Truckee, CA.
The resort is in a great place, just outside of Truckee, CA. Our room was not the one bedroom we expected, but had a Murphy bed instead. The bed was comfortable enough, but when down one can't get to the kitchen area with getting a banged shin or a stubbed toe. Very badly designed. Cute room when the bed was up, and a great location in the pines.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

1BR condo just steps from Northstar Village

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Cons: Better curtains in the bedroom to block out the morning light for those of us preferring to sleep in.
After too long a stretch without a vacation, I had the pleasure of staying in a condo at Northstar at Tahoe. The condo was situated on the hill just steps from Northstar village and was all I could hope for and more. A cozy yet spacious 1BR, the place was "rustic" yet clean and comfortable. Having the gas fireplace really made it feel even better on the couple evenings when the temperature dropped. My only complaint has to do with the hours of the Starbucks - while it is summer season, and thus not nearly as many people there as there would be at the peak of winter, they open at the crack of dawn, which is great if you're an early riser, however most nights they were closed by 6PM, even though the restaurants were open later than that. My favorite food came from Earthly Delights, where three times during my nine day stay I went and had a most amazing turkey BLT with avocado. It was pure heaven. I also really liked the tacos at Tacos Jalisco - really well made and tasted great! The food at Rubicon was also really good, though I was disappointed they didn't have chicken Parmesan. Only a few minutes ride from north Lake Tahoe, it was a very convenient place to rest and also allow me to go out and adventure around Tahoe, and into Incline Village across the State border. The best part of the whole experience was the quality of the service I got from everyone there - the staff at the village are just rock stars in their attitudes!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 3, 2014
We enjoyed our stay at Northstar. The condo was spacious and the kitchen was well stocked with cooking and serving supplies. There were lots of outdoor activities just a few steps from the front door. We hiked, walked thru the village and enjoyed the numerous experiences available. The only reason I gave the staff a 3 was that there were 3 bags of dirty towels and sheets outside our condo door when we arrived. That was kind of gross to have other peoples dirty things in front of out home away from home. We called and asked for the items to be removed but they were still there when we woke the next morning. We stopped by the resort check in office and asked for them to be removed but no success. We drove away after a 4 day stay with the same bags of dirty towels and sheets in front of our condo. I moved them off the front porch and down next to the stairs just so we could enter and exit without coming in contact with the laundry bags. I was not pleased with the number of times I asked for help with the laundry and didn't get it. I mentioned it again at check out and the staff apologized.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant Condo Stay

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: More space than a hotel room and the ability to prepare our own food.
Cons: Remind other guest to be quiet when arriving late at night.
Location: Not too far from Lake Tahoe but great hiking on site.
The condo was a short walk away from the main resort area. The accomodation was comfortable and clean and was excellent value for the price as we were able to make our own breakfast in the very clean kitchen and Starbucks coffee was provided.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom MH

Expensive for sub-standard accommodation.

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: Short distance from Lake Tahoe and surrounding areas.
Cons: The room cleanliness, beds that aren't broken. Spruce the place up so they don't look so old and tired.
Location: Donner lake a very lovely place and recommend that over Lake Tahoe.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Clovis CA

Good place to stay with the family.

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: Location, price, room amenities
Cons: Larger TV screen for movie watching
Location: Lake Tahoe, several nice beaches to enjoy on the summer. Mountain and Road Cycling, hiking, running, gliding, water sports too.
Not much to say. I had a good time with family and friends. We enjoyed the convenience of saving in food by cooking instead of eating out every day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Jessfrom Yuba City

Love Northstar!

Posted Aug 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
So much to do right at the location. Love it