Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great!

Posted Aug 26, 2014
The hotel was very pleasant. Check out the restaurant below as well. The tacos are delicious, and there is a lot of seating outdoors.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Road construction ruins vacation!

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Up all night with hideous road construction right outside my window. This was "compensated" with a $50 voucher for the bar/restaurant. Since I was up already, went for coffee, supposed to be ready by 6:30 am. 7:15 and nothing yet. Then troubles with the machine. I went to the convenience store nearby for a cup. Same story with breakfast. Staff had a late night last night? The young people who run the place are enthusiastic but possibly overwhelmed. Now the construction was not their fault, but I feel a warning might have been appropriate or cancellation made possible to move to another venue since the place was uninhabitable. Thunderous noise day and night. The concrete crushers by night, cars thundering over steel road covers by day. Too bad. Otherwise Tahoe was absolutely beautiful and the location is fabulous.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Grand Blanc

2014 July Lake Tahoe visit

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: Cleaning services, view, main dinning room food and service.
Cons: Install a way to reduce noise from deliveries, other guests, air circulation in the room to keep it cool in the summer, restaurant exhausts.
Location: Tahoe Queen Dinner cruise, Yosemite National Park, Golf at Squaw valley, Shopping in Tahoe City and Squaw Valley Village, Beach in Tahoe City, more.
Room was very clean the staff is excellent. There is no air conditioning, management indicated that the breeze from the lake should cool the room but that does not happen in all of the rooms. It was hard to go to sleep in a hot room. In addition, because we had to keep our terrace open, it started to get really loud at 5:00 a.m. with deliveries and services for the facilities and at night you had to deal with revelers running and yelling (very annoying). The view was great but there was no going to the beach because it is all rock, there is no pool or hot tub so if you are hiking or skiing you will have to seek comfort at another location. Massage is offered in room but we did not take advantage of these services. We did go to the massage location and was pleased with the services. The main dinning room was beyond reproach, excellent chief. I had a problem when the Grill cleaned their deep fryer because it emitted a terrible smell, they really should install something to capture these fumes. The facility offered free breakfast and tee in the afternoon, which was a bonus. Overall, we had a great stay with all the visiting we did but I do not believe that I will select Sunnyside again. Sorry, Sunnyside.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel bar was decent.

Posted May 17, 2014
Quaint hotel but like most places in Tahoe this time of year they were getting ready for their busy season. It would have been nice to have been told that they were renovating at the time we were staying. The price for the room didn't reflect "down season" The hotel staff was very nice and friendly. Wine prices were excellent and the resteraunt was pretty good. But the establishment itself was old and we wouldn't stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Choco from New York

Nice Hotel, Great VIew and Excellent Restaurant

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Pros: Restaurant
Cons: Furniture and bed
Location: Very good location
The Hotel is OK. I think the furniture have to be replace but great view and customer service is OK. I recommend this hotel for spend 2 days.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Dam from Berkeley, CA

Good value and location

Posted Apr 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel is located in Tahoe City, in the California side of Lake Tahoe. Hotel has a lake view, and a dock for boaters. The hotel offers complimentary breakfast, but the service in the restaurant is mediocre. The location is great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Eric from Nor Cal

On the water

Posted Apr 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Friendly staff, great bar and restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good hotel in beautiful location

Posted Mar 10, 2014
located on lake tahoe the lodge offers beautiful views from the restaurant, lounge, breakfast place and rooms. the room was comfy and had a fireplace. the staff cleaned and prepared the fireplace (as well as the room) every day. there is a good breakfast included, served in a special lounge on second floor, and is very well attended by a member of the staff. generally the lodge is decorated pleasantly with mountain/hunting elements and pictures. the restaurant and bar of the hotel are good and there are two good cafes across the street as alternatives. overall, quite satisfied and would like to go back.