Ratings based on 66 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Orange County, CA

A perfect location for skiers

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Pros: Convenient location. Beautiful and clean room.
Location: The Northstar village
We LOVE our stay at the Tahoe Mountain Lodge - Big Horn. When we booked it, we didn't realize how perfect this location is. We walked out the lobby and the entrance for the gondola ride was only steps away. The kids took ski lesson at the Northstar Ski school and it was also few doors down from the lobby right in the village. At the end of the day after skiing, it was so good to see the condo right there when we come back without having to drive and log our ski equipment around. The lobby leads right into the village which has all the fun food and shopping activities. One note for people coming in, make sure you stop by the local grocery store to stock up before coming in. There isn't any small grocery shop in the village itself. The condo was super nice. It has really well-stocked kitchen with everything you need. The full-size washer and dryer was very handy as well. We had the room facing the back side of the village and it was very quite. The garage was indoor heated underground, close to our unit, so it was again convenient. The thing that was not what we expected was the bed set up. We had requested 2-twin-bed in one of the room, Instead, we got a queen bed. According to the front desk, it really depends on how the owner of the condo set up the room, so I guess Expedia could modify that on the request for room setup.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Rodrigofrom Brasil

Ferias em familia

Posted Jan 17, 2015 on Hotels.com
Excelente para ferias em família
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by nmillerfrom Madison , ms

North Star mountain resort

Posted Dec 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great place, very close to gondola
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Michaelfrom Benicia

Great place to go any time of year

Posted Dec 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Condo was great and kitchen had everything we needed to cook Thanksgiving dinner. Front desk staff was great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Michelefrom California

Best location in Northstar

Posted Nov 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great location. Daily room service is not included in room rate . Great studio room. Only negative: the comforter cover is made out of such heavy fabric that it is like you have a lead blanket on you . I had to remove it completely or I could hardly move my legs. Also, be prepared, the rec center and gym is located in a different building.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Have stayed 2 times will come back again for sure. Worry free experience
5 out of 5
Recommended
by vigo nielsen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom California

This is a home for skiers in the winter months...

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: The setting is beautiful, mountains all around, everything is very well kept on the outside and the grounds
Cons: update the shower
Location: Only stay at this hotel for the activities within the Northstar area, otherwise you need to drive to get to anything.
I was at this hotel in the middle of August and Northstar is a winter month hotel/home for a week or longer stay. During the summer the many stores, eateries are not open and there are only a few eateries that serve food, so your choices are limited. Suggestion is go to the grocery store first in town before you get there. The room itself is set up as a one bedroom apartment, full kitchen, patio, etc..it has dishes, towels, air conditioning as well as heat for each area which is a nice touch. This is not what I expected so was surprised. Our room was on the 3rd floor and on the main drag/street where people are walking, there is also a bar/restaurant outside the bedroom window, you hear all the noise we heard it through the windows until 3 am..now this is the summer and people were outside on the patio. So if you want quiet there is little of it at night. The bathroom is big but the shower is not and the shower head is ridiculous (for the money you pay it should not be clogged with hard water deposits) The hotel staff I was there for 2 full days and my only communication was when I checked in. The person checking me in was not most friendly. Once we parked which is under ground, then you need your hotel key to open the elevator, it did not work and no one told us you need this to open everything within the hotel. It turned out they were never active, once we called they activated, frustrating after a long drive...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Golf
by happy golfersfrom Rancho Mirage, California

Quiet and beautiful

Posted Aug 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Absolutely beautiful area. We have never been there during the summer, but have many times during ski season. Upon arrival, we were immediately welcomed by the girl taking care of the hotel registration. Unfortunately, she ended up not being very friendly or helpful, but the other girl taking registrations from another couple was outstanding so we tried to just listen to all the helpful hints she was giving. You've got a 50/50 chance at checkin. Lodge was suppose to be full, but it is so large, we never saw anyone on our floor. Peaceful. No daily house keeping service, but there are plenty of towels to get you through a few days. Small kitchenette is nice! Not a lot of restaurants open in the village, but many nearby.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

small fraternity room

Posted Jul 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Small dark room with window onto adjoining building....no view..not a suite with no room service included. Staff friendly enough but did not seem connected with how we booked room. Franternity like?..small, .noise-ie till late at night with kids runnng around the complex...seem good if you were in your 20s into mountain biking, but not the comfortable quiet views of the mountains that we were planning