Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from bay area

nice, close to the beach friendly stuff

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: near the beach
Cons: noisy
Location: great location
I loved it all for the short stay, but was annoyed that nowhere it said (or it was not represented well) it was a wall bed in that tiny room. You can also hear the neighbors talking, which is OK unless they have 3 loud kids awake at 6 am and you want to sleep in
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alameda, ca

Would not return and would not recommend

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Pros: Location was good for the pictured accommodation, but they fail to say that their rooms are also across the street
Cons: Customer service and giving people what is promised
Website shows lakefront property - rooms with balconies and regular beds with headboards. Our reservation called for a balcony room. We were assigned a room across the highway - our view was of the front of our car. The bed was a Murphy bed that appeared uncomfortable. There was no balcony. We asked to change rooms to what our reservation called for and were told that all the lakefront rooms had been assigned, and even though the lakefront rooms were the same price and clients had not yet arrived, they would not change our room. It was inferred that we were assigned the "mountain" property because we booked through Expedia rather than booking directly with them. Manager had a bad attitude and said we got what we paid for. When I asked where our balcony was, she said "oh well, you didn't get one of those". Very disappointed with the whole ordeal. We cancelled and had to find another place to stay at 4:30 on a Saturday in Tahoe - not happy!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Redwood City

Misleading accommodations

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Booked a "studio" specifically because of the kitchenette so we could potentially try and eat healthfully without eating out. Says it accommodates 4 people. Wife and one of my kids couldn't make it and we were lucky they couldn't because the studio is seriously tiny. Don't remember seeing anything about a murphy bed, but that's what we got along with the stated sofa bed. A murphy bed that takes up almost the entire room...ridiculous, especially for the price; if we had to use the sofa bed the tiny room would have been entirely all bed. Room seemed like it hadn't been updated since 1980; dark, little light, wood paneling. Sheets\Linens were clean, but a number of large ants were in the bathroom. Wouldn't recommend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wisconsin

Nice beach

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Location was right on the beach. Second floor balconies needs to have a better separation from each other. Safety concerns on that at night because there is no AC and the only way to get fresh air in was opening the balconies sliding doors. It would be nice to have the office open earlier and closed later. Their hours are9am to 9pm. The place can use an outdoor bathroom facility.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic location on the lake. Stellar manager.

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: Perfect location literally on the lake with private beach. Nice suite with fully equipped kitchen. Fantastic management who worked hard to accommodate special requests--the complete opposite of a corporate entity. We will definitely return in the off season when it's not crowded. Cons: (1) smoking is allowed on the property so if your neighbors want to smoke within a few feet of your balcony or patio, it's up to you to ask them to move and if they don't, you're out of luck; (2) no staff on site overnight so if there is a noise problem you're on your own.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris

Lake views

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Clean room, lake views. Only sketchy part is that they don't use room keys -- just codes entered into a pin pad on the door. We accidentally entered the wrong room once, because our code worked on the other room's door. At night, you can deadbolt the room door, but we worried about the security of our belongings during the day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by hlee from walnut creek

excellent private beach

Posted Mar 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
When I got my room key and found surroundings, I was astonished with its private beach so close to our house, so I could even sea sun rise and sun set inside our house. It was an awesome experience to stay here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Marcin from Santa Clara, CA

Surprisingly nice hotel, big apartments

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: Big apartments, excellent location.
Cons: Office hours could be extended.
Location: Just next to lake, you walk outside and you have magnificent view. There is a beach, playground, BBQ, fireplace. Very close to Northstar Ski Resort
I didn't know that there will be apartment with separate bedroom and living room, thought it would be just a studio. Apartment was big and nice, with all required amenities. Because there was separate bedroom, we could let kids sleep in one room while still talking with neighbors in the living room.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Gina from San Jose

Won't be staying here again

Posted Feb 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Tahoe Sands has so much potential. They layout of our room was great, murphy bed, sofa, TV, kitchenette but this hotel is way over due for a renovation. The carpet looks like it needs a good shampooing, some of the floor tiles in the kitchenette were chipped, missing baseboard near the TV. I don't think the shower was cleaned because there were hairs on the walls of the shower from the previous guest, gross! The stereo with a cassette player was proof that this hotel is in dire need of an update. The women who checked us is was very sweet, no complaints on customer service. My husband and I are season pass holders and frequent North Star but we won't be staying here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This is an ok hotel

Posted Jan 13, 2014
I was expecting more of this hotel since the pictures online looked really good. I think this is an ok hotel if your on a budget. Nothing to fancy but not horrible either. The only thing I did love about this place was the view. That was priceless.