Ratings based on 330 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom California

Good location and convenient for services

Posted May 22, 2015
Pros: Location and convenience, clean and the price was good.
Cons: For what the traveler is looking for, not much.
Location: Shopping center(s) minutes away, or if you prefer, downtown Truckee was a couple of miles down the road.
This is a good choice for a traveler who is tired and interested in a clean, quiet place to sleep. The location is excellent, as it is very easy to find and easy to get back on the road. Shopping, restaurants, etc., are minutes away. The room itself is adequate; the beds were good, everything worked and the shower was hot and strong. Parking was right outside and we select a first floor room for ease of access.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Was expecting more for the price.

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: proximity to ski resorts
Cons: Bedding, continental breakfast
Location: Restaurant at corner has best pizza ever! (Village Pizzeria?)
"Continental breakfast" consisted of store-bought mini pastries, pre-packaged dry oatmeal, and bagels. Bedding and linen was extremely worn: sheets were thin as paper and bedspread was dirty. It's my fault for choosing the least expensive hotel in area. I understand that hotels in Truckee are over-priced because of proximity to skiing, but you'd think this one could use that extra money to update their rooms, amenities, etc. Next time I'll spend a few more $$ on one that does.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom So Lake Tahoe

Could not sleep . Could here the people next door

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: Nothing ! Cost to much . Should not cost more than $50 a night..
Plumbing to loud . heard water running all night .
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom atascadero ca

Disappointing

Posted Mar 4, 2015
Cons: More bed linen.
Location: It was 5 minutes drive to the little historic town, which was good.
We had very little sleep because of a continual pumping noise in the bathroom and only two pillows for a queen size bed. We arrived late evening so informed staff the next day, they were very apologetic.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bay Area

OK Hotel

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Convenient location. Reception staff was friendly. Cleaning and additional staff was rude and unfriendly. The continental breakfast consists of small pastries and bagels. Some are 2 days old or more. No fruit. Coffee was not to my liking, but I am spoiled with my Keurig and creamers at home. Price is reasonable, rooms dated but clean. We will probably look around for a different hotel next time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 20, 2015 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 18, 2015
The only issue was the heater without a thermostat, or at least without a visible dial to set the temperature. Blue-red scale is not good enough.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Train trip to Truckee

Posted Feb 15, 2015 on Hotels.com
We arrived early on Amtrak, but the owners were gracious enough to let us check in early. Room was nicely old-fashioned. Location was excellent in terms of proximity to town, restaurants, and the Amtrak station--all within walking distance. On the downside, our room was on top of the bar associated with the inn. The noise was very loud, but the bar emptied around 10pm. Freight trains come by periodically; they were loud but didn't affect our sleeping. However, the train whistles may bother light sleepers. Snowpack is way down in the Sierra so the normal ski crowds were small, and it appeared we had the place to ourselves.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Ski Weekend in January

Posted Jan 27, 2015 on Hotels.com
Stayed for a ski weekend. Hotel is an older property but fairly clean. Front desk personnel were very friendly and helpful. About 15 minutes away from Boreal and hotel is right off the freeway so location was very convenient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

fun weekend

Posted Jan 21, 2015 on Hotels.com
The hotel was perfect for a bunch of kids and their grownups. The staff was amazingly helpful and nice. I really appreciated their exceptional service. Definitely coming back again in the summer! Thanks!