Ratings based on 80 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by LD from New Jersey

I wish I could rate them a 10!

Posted Nov 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel is gorgeous; the setting is gorgeous; and everyone at the hotel is simply magnificent! I simply cannot say enough about the staff, from the Spa employees who so graciously went out of their way to help with my husband's neck problem, to the concierge who personally manned the s'more making station in the snow so we did not have to miss the experience, to the valets who helped arrange cables for our tires on the way down the mountain in the snow, to the restaurant waitstaff who allowed us to sit in the living room for dinner on our last night, even though it was not opened (we did not find that out until we left dinner that evening), everything was beyond perfect. Sitting in your room, in front of a fire, looking at the magnificent mountains, what else can you say? Simply perfect. This property should be on everyone's bucket list. Thank you everyone there for making our short stay so memorable. The hotel and our rooms were spotless, with furnishings that looked brand new. The spa amenities were wonderful, they have a eucalyptus steam, sauna, and whirlpool in the spa area, with a relaxation room, to make the whole experience complete. The location was convenient, and beautiful. The hotel is carved out of the mountains, overlooking ski trails.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, must be amazing when there is snow...

Posted Nov 4, 2013
Pros: Amazing vista views, incredibly friendly and helpful staff, nice spacious rooms, did not feel like they were trying to gouge you.
Cons: Only one restaurant that was very high end, and not somewhere we wanted to go for dinner with a 5 and 7 year old.
Location: Endless things to do.
Amazing vista views, incredibly friendly and helpful staff, nice spacious rooms, did not feel like they were trying to gouge you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Anne from Northern California

Posted Oct 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
beautiful hotel, but nothing nearby in walking distance...must take car everywhere during the off season
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great, but expensive

Posted Oct 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
Lovely location & very well appointed facilities. Everything is very clean and the presentation is near-perfect. Although the staff are very nice, I was disappointed by the attention to detail & attitude of the valet attendants. We had driven all day & the car windscreen was bug-splattered - I tipped the valet generously & requested that if he gets time perhaps he could wipe a rag over the screen ... he didn't. To add insult, the next morning 1 of the 3 valets (who were all standing doing nothing) collected the car from the garage & when he got out commented how we must travelled a long way for the car to be so dirty! We were also accidentally charged twice for the room, but that was corrected within the week (once we informed them of the issue).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Uncomfortable bedding

Posted Oct 18, 2013
Pros: local, staff and facility layout
Cons: Bedding
The facility overall was exceptional. The bedding was a tremendous disappointment. It was ultra soft and super uncomfortable for our backs!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice retreat in the mountains

Posted Oct 13, 2013
Off seaso. Quiet, comfortable and close to Tahoe City, Truckee, North Star and Kings Beach. Good price, excellent service
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Paul from Houston, TX

Very nice, but very expensive, experience.

Posted Sep 16, 2013
Pros: Staff, rooms, food.
Cons: Valet parking can take 30 minutes to retrieve with a not very occupied hotel.
Wonderful, friendly staff (other than one miscue in retrieving the $35 per day valet parked car--took 30 minutes with a sparsely occupied hotel). Great breakfast buffet, very comfortable rooms, nice public areas, and fun outdoor activities (Bocce, frisbee football, etc). Just too much money if you are not doing a ski-in/ski-out vacation, but rather staying to attend an off-site wedding, as we did.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Eddie

It takes alot to be 5 star.

Posted Sep 6, 2013
Pros: The setting, the friendly staff, the fitness center
Cons: The valet service, housekeeping diligence
We were enjoying a short weekend retreat away from. The most important point is that we had a great time, but that is primarily due to the location of the resort. For the most part, the staff is very helpful and friendly. The resort grounds are well maintained. The rooms are comfortable. However, it takes more than that to obtain a 5 star rating, and this Ritz misses the mark. Initially, you are hit with a valet/overnight parking fee that is pretty steep, and you have no option but to pay it as there is no self parking. For the rate that is being charged, the service is lacking. Although we required our vehicle on only 2 occasions, the service for both was lacking. We followed protocol and called for our vehicle prior to leaving. However, when we arrived downstairs, our vehicle was not ready. Two other patrons showed up after we did and not only requested there vehilce at that time, but received it before we did. Of course the staff was apologetic and made excuses for the delay. Upon check out we called again for our vehicle, and experienced a similar delay. Housekeeping did not present themselves until 1530. We asked them to come back during their second shift. Although they gladly replied, it was apparent that the room was hastily cleaned as a dirty coffee cup was left in the room. Additionally a 6 by 6 tile was knocked off the bottom of the vanity and left lying on the bathroom floor. This loose tile was stepped on, but with no resulting injury.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great vacation!

Posted Sep 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
We booked a last minute getaway. For the Labor Day weekend and the whole family had a blast. Very family friendly with goodies for mom and dad too. Gluten free bread in restaurant and room service took a big worry off our minds - that alone is reason to come back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Fabulous

Posted Sep 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
Spoiled in luxury