Ratings based on 119 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lake Tahoe

Big disappointment

Posted Jun 23, 2015
I was in town for a wedding. I decided to treat myself by staying at The Ritz instead of the hotel where all the wedding guests were staying. I would just need to drive my car to the official hotel in order to catch a shuttle to the wedding location. The hotels were 5 mins apart, so on the wedding day I call 39 mins ahead of time just to insure my car would be there waiting for me. They say to call 7 - 10 mins ahead. When I hit downstairs my car wasn't there. I started to panic explaining the urgency of getting my car. The valets took another 10 - 15 mins to get my car, and did not even apologize for the delay. As a result, I missed the shuttle, and proceeded to get lost trying to find the complicated direction to the wedding site. As a result, I missed all But the last 5 mins if the ceremony. I was so upset I was in tears. The groom is like a son to me!! In addition, after returning home that night, I saw that there were numerous make up stains on my freshly made up bed sheets. I was so grossed out, I couldn't believe I was staying at The Ritz Carlton! To say it fell well beneath my expectations is an under statement! After this experience, I will Never stay a a Ritz hotel again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs to update

Posted Jun 2, 2015
Pros: Large comfortable room with great views.
Cons: The public spaces were not clean and certainly need a refurb. The restaurant menu needs bringing into 21st century and offer daily specials.
Location: Great small towns around north lake.
The hotels location being remote means you tend to be more dependant on its services. Staying there at the end of the ski season really exposes the need for a good clean and refurbishment of the public spaces. The restaurant menu was pretentious and lacked variety, no daily special or fresh simple food available. The menu never changes.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dublin, CA

Nice hotel and surrounding trails

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Pros: Trails around hotel, nice fresh air
Location: Small town of Truckee near by, golfing in the summer time
I liked the hotel and have visited many times. This particular trip was not as nice. We brought our dogs, as usual, and we received a very rude front desk person claiming our dogs were barking in our room, even as she was calling, they had been with us for the past 3 hours. We informed her of this and no apology just said ok and hung up. Unbelievable service from a Ritz hotel. Also, this time around, the restaurant food was just ok, based on the price, it should be five stars, every time
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from KY

Posted May 15, 2015
Greeted by Charlie upon arrival. Could not have been a better experience. He really set the tone for the stay. Well done Charlie!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Exceptional

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Despite Expedia failing to communicate our booking and leaving us standing in the hotel lobby while a room was prepared the staff were excellent in contacting Expedia and sorting through the problem. Our son turned 10 while we were at the hotel and the wonderful chef and restaurant manager (Hassan) ensured he enjoyed his birthday making pizza in the main kitchen at lunchtime and delivering a beautiful cake for his breakfast. Great staff and great hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Magnificent property, location, experience

Posted Mar 20, 2015 on Hotels
Absolutely magnificent in every respect. From the greeting when we pulled up to check out, every aspect of our visit was wonderful. Keegan at front desk went above and beyond to make our visit comfortable and memorable, and provided assistance with our reservation. Special thanks to him. Dinner and lunch were delicious. Definitely recommend and will return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

So so stay

Posted Mar 16, 2015 on Hotels
Good service, however the rooms need an updated look. Price is not representative to the room quality, feel and look.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

The best slopeside experience you could ask for

Posted Feb 8, 2015
Pros: Slopeside accommodations on the best mountain for snowmaking in the area.
This is truly one of the best hotels I have stayed in. The staff were excellent, informed, and always polite. The restaurant Manzanita had an excellent menu with more than enough choice to satisfy everyone, skillfully prepared, and presented perfectly. The spa employs some excellent therapists and the facilities are fantastic.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Great location for skiing, at a price

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Turn off the outside muzac when there is a live band playing, the competing sounds were like strangling cats, and the waiting staff seemed oblivious.
Very expensive for what it is, have stayed in 5star hotels in Aspen, Deer Valley, Zermatt and VaiL, the overall feel and facilities of this hotel were lacking by comparison. Difficult to put a finger on the specifics but as a guest you just didn't have that wow feel that usually comes with this sort of price, brand and location. They are clearly focused on families at the expense of other guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SJ, CA

excellent hotel

Posted Jan 14, 2015
It is definitely a place to go back to. I am in awe of how beautiful the place is and how great my family and I were treated. This is the place to stay when you're in Tahoe, I wouldn't stay anywhere else after this. Well, it's pricey but worth it!