Ratings based on 102 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom SJ, CA

excellent hotel

Posted Jan 14, 2015
It is definitely a place to go back to. I am in awe of how beautiful the place is and how great my family and I were treated. This is the place to stay when you're in Tahoe, I wouldn't stay anywhere else after this. Well, it's pricey but worth it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 3, 2015
It was very pleasant. Good food. Staff is very friendly. Ski Vallet service incredible.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom los angeles, ca

Beautiful

Posted Dec 19, 2014
Beautiful hotel and resort, friendly staff. Recommend the marshmology and local dog sledding.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco

Amazing ski hotel, but costly extra charges/food

Posted Nov 27, 2014
This place is a true five star experience.  Amazing staff, brilliant design and convenience for those wanting to ski Northstar - the hotel backyard literally lets out onto the slope, with a lift running right behind.  You can have your stuff stored at the 'Mountain concierge' and have your skis waiting for you at the snow (and you can leave them there when done!). There is also a heated outdoor pool, and beautiful 'living room' area with enough space for you to set up next to your own fireplace and get virtually anything you could want to drink or eat.  And the food was truly great (we are foodies).  Only downside...extra costs.  There is a resort fee of about $30, it is $35/night to park your car, and there is a local tax of about $25.  So you can add about $100 to your daily rate.  And the food is very pricey (two eggs/bacon/toast is about $20+/person, plus a 20%service charge and 5% delivery charge if you order room service..you can spend $90 on breakfast for two!..:not to mention dinner at the very fine Manzanita restaurant).  The good thing is that there is a small cafe inside the hotel that offers good options for much more reasonable prices and you can order kids menu items for usually 40% less and they are very generous sizes (the kids pizzas are large).  We left feeling completely pampered, and wanting to come back.  But the high cost of hotel rates during peak season (runs up towards $700/night...we got a deal at $225 for four nights on Expedia..) will probably proh
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Santo Domingo

Brand new, outstanding hotel with top service

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Spent a weekend with my wife at the ritz carlton lake tahoe. Everything is great at this hotel. The rooms are very well designed, but the best part is the service. They made our stay so enjoyable. The north star mountain resort is also very good in general. The hotel allows you access to the chair lifts from the door. They have the mountain concierge shop where the staff is also wonderful. The equipment rental and the ski instructors are also great. The hotel is on a high price point, but worth every pennie.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Singapore

Excellant location near lake Tahoe and Northstar

Posted Nov 5, 2014
Pros: Location Location Location
Cons: Better quality TV, provide a Home theatre for hotel guests
Location: Lake Tahoe drive 72 miles complete 180 Visit to Incline Village Visit to Hot Springs Visit to Truckee Village for its shopping and dining
1. Snow experience during stay 2. Spa is as RC Signature 3. Swim in warm pool open air overlooking Snow capped mountains at 1C was exhilarating. 4. Staff were Super at all outlets
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice property but staff was awful

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Pros: Beautiful scenery.
Cons: The staff all over are like robots and they didn't care to do anything extra for us for our honeymoon. The restaurant staff was equally bad.
The property is gorgeous but the staff is very indifferent and not willing to do anything to go the extra mile to make sure your stay is special. We informed them that it was our honeymoon and they barely lifted an eyebrow and didn't offer us anything special to make it an unforgettable time. I had to call and beg for a bottle of champagne 3 times before they brought it to us. We should've gotten a room upgrade at least.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2014 by Joseph Mattioli, Hotel Management
Good Day, I appreciate you taking the time to review your stay at The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe and we are pleased that you enjoyed the beautiful scenery of our property. I apologize that you had a disappointing experience on your special occasion. I can assure you that we value you as our guest and hope that you will allow the opportunity to regain your trust in our resort. Thank you for your feedback and we do hope to see you again in Lake Tahoe in the near future! Sincerely, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Paulfrom Half Moon Bay

Great for the off season

Posted Oct 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Beautiful and quiet in the Fall. Very few people at the hotel -- had the place almost to ourselves.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by David Adrianfrom San Francisco

Ritz by name...

Posted Oct 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Outstanding property in the Sierras. Spectacular architecture, pristine location with amazing views. Exceptional service, great food and wine albeit expensive. For once the resort fee was worthwhile with access to the spa, adult spa pool and other facilities. Actual spa treatments are extra as is parking. I'd happily go back to this location in the offseason, i.e., before the snow and after school holidays are done. It's not too busy compared to winter and Summer high season where the room prices skyrocket. Do yourself a favor and go, it's worthwhile.