Ratings based on 74 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Aleen

Gorgeous mountain retreat

Posted Dec 4, 2013
Pros: Scenery, architecture, service
Had a wonderful stay here during a snow storm, and the staff was so helpful and friendly--even sending a taxi to rescue me from a gas station when my car got stuck. Being able to take the gondola to the village is super convenient. Would stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by keiko

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 29, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jersey Girl from New Jersey

Good hotel close to lakside activites

Posted Nov 21, 2013
Pros: The location and overall amenities
Cons: When you check in they charge your credit card for expected expenses ($800.00) and no one tells you that they are going to do this.
Location: All of the local hiking trails are great. Truckee is fun
It's a beautiful hotel. The spa services are wonderful. Just as an FYI, there is a 25 per day resort fee and a 35 per day parking fee. However, it's worth it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, amenities, staff

Posted Nov 7, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by LD from New Jersey

I wish I could rate them a 10!

Posted Nov 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel is gorgeous; the setting is gorgeous; and everyone at the hotel is simply magnificent! I simply cannot say enough about the staff, from the Spa employees who so graciously went out of their way to help with my husband's neck problem, to the concierge who personally manned the s'more making station in the snow so we did not have to miss the experience, to the valets who helped arrange cables for our tires on the way down the mountain in the snow, to the restaurant waitstaff who allowed us to sit in the living room for dinner on our last night, even though it was not opened (we did not find that out until we left dinner that evening), everything was beyond perfect. Sitting in your room, in front of a fire, looking at the magnificent mountains, what else can you say? Simply perfect. This property should be on everyone's bucket list. Thank you everyone there for making our short stay so memorable. The hotel and our rooms were spotless, with furnishings that looked brand new. The spa amenities were wonderful, they have a eucalyptus steam, sauna, and whirlpool in the spa area, with a relaxation room, to make the whole experience complete. The location was convenient, and beautiful. The hotel is carved out of the mountains, overlooking ski trails.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, must be amazing when there is snow...

Posted Nov 4, 2013
Pros: Amazing vista views, incredibly friendly and helpful staff, nice spacious rooms, did not feel like they were trying to gouge you.
Cons: Only one restaurant that was very high end, and not somewhere we wanted to go for dinner with a 5 and 7 year old.
Location: Endless things to do.
Amazing vista views, incredibly friendly and helpful staff, nice spacious rooms, did not feel like they were trying to gouge you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Anne from Northern California

Posted Oct 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
beautiful hotel, but nothing nearby in walking distance...must take car everywhere during the off season
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great, but expensive

Posted Oct 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
Lovely location & very well appointed facilities. Everything is very clean and the presentation is near-perfect. Although the staff are very nice, I was disappointed by the attention to detail & attitude of the valet attendants. We had driven all day & the car windscreen was bug-splattered - I tipped the valet generously & requested that if he gets time perhaps he could wipe a rag over the screen ... he didn't. To add insult, the next morning 1 of the 3 valets (who were all standing doing nothing) collected the car from the garage & when he got out commented how we must travelled a long way for the car to be so dirty! We were also accidentally charged twice for the room, but that was corrected within the week (once we informed them of the issue).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Uncomfortable bedding

Posted Oct 18, 2013
Pros: local, staff and facility layout
Cons: Bedding
The facility overall was exceptional. The bedding was a tremendous disappointment. It was ultra soft and super uncomfortable for our backs!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice retreat in the mountains

Posted Oct 13, 2013
Off seaso. Quiet, comfortable and close to Tahoe City, Truckee, North Star and Kings Beach. Good price, excellent service