Ratings based on 335 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

OK but a bit pricey

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: Location. Room with microwave, refrigerator, wifi and flat screen tv. Clean room. Nice staff. Coffee 24 hours in lobby.
Cons: Price reduction since even for this area the room seemed over priced.
Location: Close to donner state park and all of donner as well as lake tahoe.
Hotel was nice with large room and working microwave, refrigerator, flat screen tv and working wifi. Some rooms face freeway and unless the window is closed there will be traffic noise all night. Must have caught a popular time since price for room seemed a bit steep even for this area. Breakfast was OK but nothing special. Coffee is available 24 hours and staff is always available. This would be a great stop if room prices were reduced a bit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel

Posted Jul 23, 2015
A good 3 star hotel in my opinion, good value, clean and decent, good amenities, worth staying here, and I'll stay here the next time I'm in town.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SF, CA

A little below average hotel

Posted Jul 21, 2015
We were staying for a wedding and this hotel was recommended. I wish I would have researched it a little better. We encountered 2 front desk employees. A man was very nice and greeted us every time. A woman had her headphones in and didn't look up or say a word. The room didn't feel comfortable and very clean. Didn't feel comfortable walking on the carpet without shoes. Bedding had hair that wasn't ours. The little refrigerator worked at the beginning of our stay but was we were leaving it failed and ruined the perishable items we had stored in there.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Folsom, CA

Posted Jul 6, 2015
The mattresses are very uncomfortable. It took the receptionist a while to find our reservation. The screen was broken so we couldn't open the window or the bugs would get in. We also couldn't open the windows because the lodge is too close to the freeway. With the windows closed the freeway noise didn't bother us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 4, 2015
Very nice location next to Donner State Park. Staff very helpful recomedning restaurants and activities
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Customer Service could have been better

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Pros: Close to Donner Memorial State park and our room was clean.
Cons: They could try to make an effort of helping out their guests if they need additional assistance instead of doing the basic service.
Location: We had fun hiking at Donner State Memorial Park
We picked out this place because it was close to Donner Memorial State Park. They did a pretty good job cleaning the room. Before we left for our trip, I called up requesting check out, but was told by the front desk woman that they were sold it and couldn't grant me a late check out. Later on I found out that was not true because I could book rooms for the same day. When we check in, we again asked for late check out and this time the man at the front desk said we could have the room till 1pm. However, when we walked into our room around 12:40pm on the day we were checking out, our personal belongs were taken out and the door was left open. I was also locked out of the room with very little help from house keeping. I was upset that they went thru our personal items. When I notified the manager about the situation, they would not accept any responsibility and said that front desk was not aware of the late checkout even though when I spoke to same front desk person a second time on the day of my check out, he acknowledged my late checkout. I feel the didn't want to take any responsibility for their actions and their staff needs more training to act in a professional manor.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel is okay, Manager was rude.

Posted Jun 27, 2015
Pros: The bed was comfortable.
Cons: Management
My stay was fine, however I forgot my $100 pillow in my room. When I called a day later, the Manager I spoke with was short and dismissive on the phone. She said "IF" the pillow was located, they would call me. Very disappointing. The way staff, especially management speaks to customers can make or break a review even if the hotel was ok.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grass Valley, California

Great Hotel

Posted Jun 17, 2015
Pros: The hotel staff was great and the cleanliness of the room and the entire hotel.
Cons: The lights should be turned on by the pool and hot tub during the evening hours. The pool is open till 11pm, the lights never came on. Safety issue.
Location: So many things to do in Truckee. Hiking, biking, boating on Donner Lake. and Tahoe so nearby. Great Place
We live in Grass Valley and were Volunteering at the Tahoe Tough Mudder. We booked the hotel and had a great experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newark, CA.

Short Stay

Posted Jun 14, 2015
I only stayed one night before doing the Tough Mudder event. It was conveniently located close to Northstar Resort. I needed a not too expensive place to stay. This lodge was clean and comfortable. I was very pleased.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 7, 2015
Conveniently located for what I was doing. It was clean and neat. The breakfast sausage could be better.