Ratings based on 299 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent

Posted Feb 28, 2015
This hotel is decent for the price I pay. it ia nothing spectacular. The breakfast is the same everyday. The decor is old fashioned but acceptable. The location is very convenient, close to the highway.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco, CA

Horrible Customer Service/Hotel Blackout!

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Pros: Absolutely nothing
Cons: Customer service
When we arrived at the Truckee Donner Lodge, there was a blackout. It was 28 degrees, and no power meant no heat, pitch black, no amenities at all. The front desk gave us a flashlight to use the lobby bathroom. When we asked to cancel our reservation (seems obvious given it's a lodge with no power during a snow storm), they said NO! We mentioned that we had friends with a cabin a few miles away, and asked if we could leave our car in the parking lot (given the snow storm, we had to be towed into the lodge lot). The manager responded "if we book out tonight, we'll need that parking space." What?? First, how are you going to sell out a hotel with no power? And second, not only are you not going to refund us, but you're not even going to let us park our car there?? We decided to leave the hotel and cut our losses. Instead of letting us cancel our reservation or giving us a refund, they told us to keep calling the hotel back to see when the power was up (i.e. when their phones were back up). They wouldn't even agree to a courtesy call to let us know when we could return. We tried several times that evening and into the next morning - straight to voicemail.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom G

Second stay

Posted Jan 7, 2015
We enjoy this hotel. It is quiet, clean and located close to Squaw. Had a nice time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bay Area

Close to Everything

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Location: near sugar bowl, tahoe city, squaw, alpine, and lot's of good restaurants
We stayed only one night after a day at Sugar Bowl. We were able to check in early, and check out at 12pm. It was nice to sleep in. There was complimentary hot chocolate and breakfast in the morning. It's right across the street from a gas/liquor/mini mart. Good thing because the hotel didn't have a cork screw, or Ibuprofen. They two things needed after a long day of boarding. We were happy with the room, it served its purpose. We would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to ski resorts

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Excellent service from the second you walk into the door until the smile you receive as you leave.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom ca

Good hotel. Easy access to and from Hwy. 80

Posted Dec 30, 2014
Excellent location next to hwy 80. Would recommend this hotel to everybody
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Fremont

Nice place for reasonable price

Posted Dec 29, 2014
We chose this as it was closer to soda springs and also to north star. The room was clean with microwave and refrigerator. The bed was comfortable. The hotel lobby had a nice hot chocolate. The free breakfast had good options. Overall excellent experience
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

handy for Truckee/donner skiing

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Location: Usual Tahoe, Donner lake, Truckee stuff.
Booked last minute for one night for a weekend of skiing at Boreal with the kids. This is a no-thrills, clean efficient hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good rate and worth the money

Posted Dec 5, 2014
Pros: Easy location off the freeway, all the hot chocolate/coffee you'd want, and decent, belly-filling breakfast included
Cons: get the vending machines to take credit cards
Location: n/a -- we were there to visit family, but downtown Truckee is a bit fun to visit
Really had no complaints. Would be nice if the vending machines took credit cards, but that is a minor ask. Staff was nice and checked us in quickly enough. They did, however, not put us down for the right day when Expedia communicated it, so I would recommend calling to confirm your reservation at least a day ahead, if possible. I'd stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom san clemente, ca

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Lovely hotel but a little away from the downtown area.