Ratings based on 220 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: Clean, good location
Cons: Walls are paper thin. Heard conversations from the next room!
Mediocre hotel. Clean enough but lacking comfortable touches
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

An enjoyable stay

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: See previous comment.
Location: Right around the corner from Donner State Park and the main road into Truckee.
Close to everything we wanted to do in the north Lake Tahoe area. Courteous attentive staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Marcia from San Francisco

Perfectly fine

Posted Jun 24, 2014
We needed to stay one night in Tahoe and I was concerned about some of the mixed reviews but none of the issues were apparent for our stay. The staff was nice and helpful. The bed was comfortable and the linens were clean. It was also convenient to have a free breakfast since the hotel wasn't walking distance to anywhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mark from San Jose, CA

Good location. New

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Cons: Continental breakfast was limited and only medium quality, not worth your time.
Forced response. Can't finish review without filling out this field. Maybe you won't want to write a review.
1 out of 5
by BJ from San Francisco, CA

The linens were horrible!

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: The lady at the front desk.
Cons: New bedding, new room furniture, better breakfast, include fresh fruit. CLEAN THE POOL of dead rodents! Bathroom & bedding, no hairs! Lower price!
Location: Truckee is a fun town with cute shops & Donner Lake is nice.
I have never seen sheets in any motel/hotel as worn. There were multiple hairs on the pillow cases. Hairs found in the bathroom. Took the pillow cases to the front desk for replacement & the ones given were just as worn & even had hair stuck to them. We wanted to swim but the pool had a floating dead rodent & was unclean. The place was not full, but the room they gave us was on the noisy/freeway side. The room temp was too hot & the air conditioning made the room too cold. We could not get a comfortable temp unless we kept the window open all night. Road noise! The furniture was that of a very cheap place, not a $207 a night room (Saturday night, in June). I have stayed in rooms for $70 that were far nicer. The front desk agent offered to change our room, but we knew it would be no better. That was before we heard all of the freeway noise with our window open. Really over-priced. We wanted a nice place for our family & were really looking forward to a swim. It was so disgusting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by gene from Morgan utah

Nice place to stay

Posted May 17, 2014
Nice ,clean and quiet, was a pleasant surprise for being road weary .front desk was helpful and nice
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This is NOT somewhere you want to stay!!!

Posted Apr 18, 2014
It smelled horrible ! Staff were like zombies ! Terrible location, right off freeway... Way to expensive for this dank, run down place!! Even my young kids thought it was dismal!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Totally enjoyed our stay

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Clean, good condition, good location, nice basic breakfast. I have no complaints, only wish I had known locals can get a discount if you book direct ( call, not through website). Right next door to Donner Memorial Park. Take the hike right from the front door - after the first uphill it's flat and an easy walk for the family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by gemini from England

Well located for our purpose of an overnight stop.

Posted Apr 3, 2014
Pros: Lived up to its description
Location: We were just passing through for a fishing trip. I am sure there is plenty to do in the area of Truckee
We only stayed one night but we had a good experience at this hotel. Very clean and comfortable bedrooms. A small buffet breakfast was provided which was a nice surprise. Hotel staff were helpful and pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anuja from San Francisco, CA

Very enjoyable..we were just there for a nite.

Posted Mar 31, 2014
love the location..we just walked the coldstream park located behind the lodge and so many restaurants nearby. we went to soda springs to snowtub next day the kids loved the hottub and breakfast..but they coulda liked waffles better