Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lake front.

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Great sleep. Comfy beds. Lovely and warm on a cold morning. Great view of the lake and very helpful hosts.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by megan

sails motorlodge good place to stay in taupo

Posted Jun 7, 2014
Pros: great reception ,friendly host, very clean and tidy.
Cons: fold out bed in lounge was the worst i have ever slept in,talk about roll together and paper thin mattress! uncomfortable night sleep.
Location: great location opposite lake.close to town and restaurants/takeaways
nice hotel, great location on main road opposite lake. we arrived at night and were greeted with a great reception. room was spacious and clean which was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Vj from Auckland

Very nice location

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Bigger rooms
Location: Very close to town and nice to walk on the beach
Very Compact and confordable. Staff were very pleasant and friendly
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tracey from UK

Amongst the favourite stays of our NZ trip

Posted May 26, 2014
This is amongst the favourite places we stayed during our trip to NZ in March 2014. Well located, our ground floor suite (no. 3 I think) was well presented, had all we needed for comfortable self-catering (with a guest laundry elsewhere on-site), plus beautiful lake side views. Staff friendly and helpful. Just lovely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Mike

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel right in front of Lake Taupo !!

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Booked the hotel online, came in pretty late to the city, and the reception is nice enough to call me and make sure I am coming. So I stopped at the hotel prior to looking for dinner. Location is great, has all the cooking convenient. We had a great time.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Scott from Seattle

Looked better in photos

Posted Apr 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
When we arrived at our room we were disappointed to find that the room was not nearly as nice as what we saw online before booking. Everything had a worn down, dated look. We found the bed felt merely OK (a little springy) The view of the lake was very pretty. It was OK for a one night stay, but if we had planned to stay longer I would have looked for a different hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Cheryl from Cobram, Australia

overall satisfied

Posted Mar 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
We would stay here again but would book a one room apartment as we found the Studio was not big enough with luggage having to take up most of the floor space. Good air conditioning. Lovely spa in room but not good for oldies having probs. getting in and out - I was ok but my husband had problems. Motel rates good value. Cooked breakfast at $17 was not value for money - but ok if you ordered everything on the cooked breakfast menu, which meant you got a small amount of everything. My husband didn't order eggs because he thought sausages, bacon, tomatoes and hashbrowns would suffice but they were small serves, Managers couldn't have been more helpful and they had only been there for a short time themselves.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Amazing view of the lake, excellent staff!!!!

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Location: Lovely location for views, definitely need a car for town but easy parking and no hassles
Really excellent experience. I have been to Taupo many times and this hotel was everything we needed. The view of the lake was beautiful at all times of the day and the room had everything we needed and more. The staff were SO friendly, the woman at the counter offered us larger towels and a discount card to take to the thermal pools (well worth the trip), and was very easy to deal with on arrival and departure. Only minor knock on this place (depending on your preference) is that you pay a small premium to be so close to the lake and for the view (and im not talking about the upgrade to lake view room, just comparative to the condition and facilities of other places further from the lake) but in my opinion the small amount extra you pay is nothing compared to the incredible benefits of staying here. Hoping to come back for ski season!!!!!