Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Great staff, great location and so comfortable

Posted Jul 28, 2014
I spent 1 night is this fantastic place. Views are amazing and the staff are extremely helpful! Very comfortable facilities and I loved the shower!!
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Is this really a hotel or a hobby
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by William from BC Canada

Nice accommodation, modified house in sub-division

Posted Mar 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
A series of modified fairly nice houses located on hill looking out over Taupo. Very nice accommodation. Does not have "regular" motel reception and requires you make a call. Although clean and comfortable/well appointed the house lacked "ownership" and hence was in need of TLC maintenance. (Several bulbs not working)
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Unwelcome guest in someones home

Posted Nov 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
I think a previous reviewer summed it up. With the list of rules posted on the wall and the little stickers strategically placed reinforcing these it makes you feel like an unwelcome guest in someones very nice house! Also, no compliementary toiletries. sure there was soap, shampoo and conditioner in the shower, but pump soap in hand basin and no moisturiser. I also didnt like the fact that tea, sugar and coffee was in canisters that others had been using, Yuk! Also, i drink herbal and my partner enjoys a hot chocolate in the evenings. On the plus, the view was lovely and the couch was comfortable, unfortunately the bed was hard and the tv was not clear.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Rob from Wellington NZ

Great Accommodation but very unfriendly atmosphere

Posted Aug 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
The rooms were vey clean and tidy and first impressions were good. Unfortunately there were signs up telling us what not to do or else be liable to fines or penalties from the management. I felt like you were very much an unwelcome guest in someone's lovely home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

5 minutes from downtown

Posted Jul 30, 2013
Cons: Better signage from the road
Absolutely beautiful surroundings. Gorgeous kitchen. Well defined rules. We arrived late and key in box waiting for us . Magical views in the morning So close to town
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Helen from Te Awamutu

Whole experience was fantastic

Posted Jul 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
The place was really clean and tidy and the location was fantastic with great views. Thankyou Falls Chateau
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by WellyD from Wellington, New Zealand

Nice quiet location

Posted Jul 22, 2013
Pros: Cleanliness, location.
Cons: No sink to wash dishes. Had to wash them in bathroom.
Location: Was great, nice and quiet. Not right in town but very close.
Hotel was fantastic. Nice quiet location and nice new rooms. However we never once saw owners or manager, arrived at hotel did not know how to get in or what room we were in. Tried to call with no answer. If it hadn't been for another guest telling us where key was we would never have got in which I think is quite poor. Overall it was a nice stay I think they should just at least send you a confirmation email letting you know contact cell phone number which was inside the room! And also where to pick up key.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good stay

Posted Jul 7, 2013
I was lucky enough to get an upgrade so I had a large, lovely room. There were no complaints really except that there was no plug for the bath which was disappointing.