Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Richard from Slough, UK

Nice motel right on the lake front.

Posted Mar 12, 2014
Pros: 1) The very friendly and helpful owners. 2) The lakefront location. 3) The comfortable and nicely refurbished unit 9.
Cons: Nothing we can think of.
Location: Plenty of water based activities on the lake, or just stroll around it. Great location for exploring the geothermal highway and visiting Rotorua.
We stayed two nights in a recently refurbished one bedroom apartment with a spa bath out back. The full kitchenette was new with a two ring hob and sink set in a stainless steel bench top with kettle, toaster, fridge and microwave. The bathroom had been refitted with shower cubicle, WC and washbasin set in a vanity unit. All the furnishings and the bed were new and comfortable. Ample outside seating is provided. The guest laundry is free - just pay $1 for soap powder. When our rental car broke down on a Sunday and the AA could not fix it, the owners lent us their car so that we could get to Rotorua.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Carol from Wanganui

Spotless lake front motel with spectacular views

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness. Friendly helpful staff
Location: Lakefront with spectacular views
We initially booked a stopover on the way north to Auckland and were so pleased with the place we booked another two nights for the way south. The rooms were spotlessly clean and well maintained. The hot tub way a joy. From the room the view down the Lake to Ruapehu is spectacular. Couldn't be faulted. Good value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ian from Glastonbury UK

convenient motel close to town

Posted Mar 7, 2014
Pros: plenty of parking and good view out the front from the little terrace
Cons: work in progress while we were there and the upgrades seem good, will that mean the price will be going up ?
Location: Drive out to Orakei Korako definitely worth the effort Taupo town has plenty of places to eat
Work being done to upgrade motel while we were there, the staff did every thing they could to work around this. Easy walk into town past several bars, so no drinking and driving ! The weather was good when we were there and was able to just cross the road for a swim in the lake and just pop back to our rooms for a warm shower !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by MHSanFrancisco

Great owners/managers

Posted Feb 23, 2014
The owners are interested in their guests, and go out of their way to please. Everything works in the units, including the small kitchen. There is even a private spa! For a motel, this is about as good as it gets.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 6, 2014
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by George's

NZ Family Summer Holiday

Posted Jan 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
Definitely NOT value for money. Needs to specify extra $$$ for extra persons. Manager was very nice and helpful. Hot tub TOO hot.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

close to centre, good lake view

Posted Jan 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
very over priced and small
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable but worn and tatty.

Posted Jul 25, 2012
Pros: Spa pool
Cons: Bathroom
Location: Lake front is nice location
Was warm and comfortable, but rooms are decidely worn and tatty. Bathroom door would not close as it was jamming on the door frame. Bathroom cabinet doors were falling apart due to dampness in the customwood. Bathroom fan was extremely noisy - very annoying. Front door ranch slider was worn and 'grinding' when opened and closed. Spa pool was nice and clean. Room was clean. Owner/operator was polite and friendly.