Ratings based on 73 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Howick New Zealand

Excellent hotel good location.

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: The fact that it had a nice dining room and excellent food and a good wine list.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Location was good for us as we were passing through
We were greeted warmly by a very helpful receptionist who told us we had been upgraded to a Junior Suite which was a nice surprise. The room was quiet, warm and had a lovely view out to the lake. Wish our stay had been longer with such a lovely outlook.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from taupo new zealand

Nice hotel next to lake

Posted Sep 11, 2014
This is one of quit and nice hotel in Taupo I hope if back again to Taupo for holiday I will stay more day in this hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Manawatu

LOvely weekend

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: Views and quietness as well as amenities.
Enjoyed great weather. Lake looked lovely. A relaxing stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Out stay was short.. Was here for the weekend. All facilites were great, nice quiet clean rooms but just once incident where the receptionist gave us the keys for Grotto when there was some one else in there .. Dint say anything just gave us the keys. And we thought it would be available .. Also the same staff member advised us there is extra charge for milk when another staff member advised its free it was a bit confusing and felt a bit not welcoming .. Apart from that all good..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, close to town.

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: Close to all facilities, Great Lake view.
We stayed here on our way to Auckland, had a pleasant night. Nice lake view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel right on the lake.

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Friendly staff, very clean rooms, excellent quality food. Will definitely stay again an recommend to others to stay at this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Elaine from Sydney

Lovely Hotel

Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Booked a Standard room. Was a little disappointed that it was quite small- but what a view! Great service, foyer/bar/reception area was beautiful. About a 30 minute walk from the shops/restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Elaine

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anne from Wellington, New Zealand

A great place to stay in Taupo

Posted May 14, 2014
Pros: Modern, comfortable, welcoming friendly staff, very clean, fabulous views and in a great location.
Cons: Nothing I can think of.
Location: Great walk around the lake front. Short drive to restaurants, shops, galleries etc. The Huka falls and the Prawn Farm are a short drive away.
We made our reservation through Expedia. We have stayed at the Millenium previously & enjoyed it. The view from our room was beautiful. I like the rooms on the ground floor as they open directly out to the lawn and across to the lake. Not good if you have toddlers or young children in which case a room upstairs would be safer. The bathroom had a good shower with strong water pressure. There was no bath. The staff were friendly and obliging. There are plenty of car parks at this hotel. The shops and restaurants are a short drive away. The Millenium also has two restaurants if you prefer to dine in house. The rooms have wide glass sliding doors that open on to the lawn and across to the lake. There are plenty of swans and ducks on the lake. We had a little duck come and visit us (he followed us to the room, & then stood outside our glass doors looking in). Very cute. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. There were comfortable wicker chairs and a round table beside the glass doors if you wanted to sit and take in the view. There is a public walkway beside the lawn that is used by the public . Because of this there isn't a lot of privacy if you have your room curtains open as people strolling past often glanced into the rooms. We didn't find it too much of an issue. The only negative was being disturbed early morning with people walking upstairs. Again it wasn't too much of an issue, however if you are a light sleeper it can be a little annoying. We will stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Felicity

Hasn't lost any of its Magic

Posted May 5, 2014
This Hotel has been in existence for a long time and now under the ownership of Millenium. The rooms have been refurbished to an excellent standard and the fitout was as you would expect for a 5 star establishment. We had booked a balcony room so on arrival I queried this and we were upgraded to a better room immediately which was a pleasant bonus. The meals were beautiful and the setting and service in the bar/restaurant was impeccable. We don't mind paying premium rates for premium service and there were certainly no complaints. Congratulations to the management for keeping up the standards and giving people the service they pay for! Will definitely come again.