Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable, clean and close to town

Posted Jul 14, 2014
A relaxing place to stay. Comfortable, clean and a really handy location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gold Coast

Warm cozy atmosphere

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Great location on the Lake. Comfortable and warm rooms. Loved being able to walk down the road, or take a short drive. Perfect positioning and hotel has beautiful views. Kids school group stayed the nights we were there, so a little bit of noise coming through the walls at night, but didn't ruin our stay.
2 out of 5
by Rog from Cambridge

Disappointed

Posted May 24, 2014
Expected much better from an alleged 4 star rated motel, dated themed decor, non-existent sound proofing, at least the bed was reasonably comfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jessica from Singapore

Average room

Posted May 20, 2014
Pros: Lake View
Cons: The positioning of the TV.
Location: Walk around the lake and hike up to the huka falls. Wear comfy shoes.
The room was alright but the positioning of the TV above the bed was not ideal. Breakfast was not included and we paid for it on top of the room. The venue is a place of beautiful landscape and we enjoyed the hike around the area. The hotel has a lake view and in our opinion, a great selling point for us to revisit again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Debra from Palmerston North

Quick taupo stopover

Posted May 1, 2014
We needed a warm clean hotel for an overnight stopover on our annual roadtrip. This hotel was perfect. Warm, clean and staff were friendly. Conveniently right on the lake waterfront.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from auckland

Good value

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Pros: Nice staff, clean comfy room, restaurant was good value
Location: It was cold and rainy during our trip but a walk along the lake was still nice
Staff were really friendly and helpful, room was nice and clean if a little bit small, bed was comfy and room had everything we needed
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Appalling

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Smell in room was horrible, no soap or toliet products supplied, thin walls meant room noisey and decor appalling. Would never stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Lincolnshire, England

Interesting rooms, good location

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Pros: Hotel decor very individual
Location: The river cruise out to the Maori carvings was worth the trip if only to hear the Captain's commentary.
easy to find, overlooks the lake, very comfortable, excellent evening meal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Steven from Sheffield, England

Nice hotel, just out of the centre

Posted Feb 21, 2014
Pros: Friendly helpful staff, had a meal in the hotel which was excellent with great views over the lake at sunset.
Cons: Slightly old appearance but overall very satisfactory.
Location: Just out of the centre in a quiet location which suited us fine. Near to all the attractions.
Stayed for one night and overall had a good time. Had a nice walk into town and by the lakeside.
1 out of 5
by Pat from auckland

Stay away

Posted Jan 14, 2014
Rooms are too dark and small. The bathroom was total plastic. Service very poor did not ask how our stay was. The spa pool was cold and the pool tiny.