Ratings based on 468 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom wellington

Great value and all you need

Posted May 17, 2015
There's plenty of options for people of all budgets and they really take pride in their rooms. Very nice to stay in. Our beds got made and fresh towels daily. Only downside was that there was a weird smell in the room. Some air fresheners would of helped that.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2015 by Michelle, Hotel Management
Hello Alex, Thanks for reviewing your stay here at Taupo DeBretts. Great to hear you had a pleasant stay. Kind Regards Michelle Guest Relations
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bangalore, India

Beautiful rooms ideal for family of Four.

Posted May 13, 2015
Pros: Ambience
Cons: Wi-Fi was very poor and Slow.
We liked the rooms, very neatly designed. Everything was nice about this place - Quiet, lot of privacy and great location.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2015 by Michelle, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort. We are delighted to hear that your family had an enjoyable time. Kind Regards Michelle Guest Relations
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New Zealand

Disappointing Experience

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Pros: The hot pools at the place are awesome thou even as a guest you have to pay extra to use them.
Location: location is great as its close to a number of activities,best one for us was the Huka Prawn Park.
The cabin we were given was nothing like the pictures on the website and was way smaller.The shower leaked all over the floor because the curtain was to short and there were ants crawling up the wall. The double bed was extremely soft and the bunks only had cheap foam mattresses so anyone heavier than an average 10 year old could feel the slates underneath. Handles on the cupboard and bathroom door were falling off.The tv was super tiny and the free wifi was a joke,once we were finally able to connect to it it was really slow and kept disconnecting. Definitely not a place we would stay again,I am disappointed as I thought I would pay more than I usually would to get a nice place.....what a joke that turned out to be
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Chalet

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Enjoyed the time in hot pools. Staying at de Bretts gives half price entry to the hot pools.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 15, 2015 by Michelle, Hotel Management
Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you for reviewing your stay in one of our Chalets. We wish you all the best in your travels Kind Regards Michelle Guest Relations
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: Cabins/units were very comfortable
Cons: More instructions on how to use the under-floor heating in the bathrooms.
A wonderful stay. The facilities are really nice & being able to laze in the hot pools in to the evening was a wonderful bonus of staying on the premises.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney, Australia

Great hotel in a beautiful location

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: The cabin was very nice and clean and comfortable. staff were very helpful and nice and the thermo pool discount was great.
Cons: The kitchen could definitely be improved, although this is not a hostel, so maybe it is not common for these kind of places to have a proper kitchen.
Location: The location is secluded and quiet and yet easy to reach with a car. Not sure if as easy to reach if you don't have a car.
Great hotel, really enjoyed our stay. Pros: The cabin was very nice and clean and comfortable. staff were very helpful and nice and the thermo pool discount was great. Cons: The kitchen could definitely be improved, although this is not a hostel, so maybe it is not common for these kind of places to have a proper kitchen.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Pros: Spacious rooms and great swimming facilities
Great family resort with lots to do for the whole family. Ideal location just out of town but not to far, easy to walk to town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Kerikeri, New Zealand

Great break in the journey to Napier.

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Pros: The friendly helpful staff, the setting and the unit we stayed in.
Cons: Maybe more people on the reception desk at check out time.
Location: Good shopping, great lake views.
Very friendly and helpful staff. Motel #4 is a clean, quiet room with a great view from the outdoor area. Unit was clean and had a good sized refrigerator, two hot plates and a microwave for cooking. Comfortable bed and plenty of room to move around in this studio unit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Toddfrom diamond harbour

prefect

Posted Feb 21, 2015 on Hotels.com
Prefect for a family
4 out of 5
by scott whyte

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Pros: Pools and day spa
Cons: Distance to town centre
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2015
Dear Sir/Madam, Thanks for reviewing your stay here at Taupo DeBretts. Glad to hear you enjoyed our hot springs & day spa. Best of luck in your travels. Kind Regards Michelle