Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mt Maunganui NZ

Very nice motel with clean hot pools

Posted Oct 24, 2014
Pros: The friendly, accommodating staff
Cons: Nothing. Wonderful experience
Location: Orakei Korako Thermal park - amazing
Fabulous staff and excellent customer service. Clean and comfortable facilities. Highly recommended
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable Motel room

Posted Oct 12, 2014
The Motel area looked shabby from the outside so I was a bit concerned but the room had been updated and was extremely comfortable and quiet despite being in the middle of the school holidays and children staying next door. We really enjoyed the adjoining Spa area which was the main reason for staying. A great way to end our holiday in NZ.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Melbourne

Loved it

Posted Oct 8, 2014
We received a free upgrade to a superior lodge which was awesome. We had originally booked a one bedroom cabin. Staff were all really friendly. I had three people ask me if everything was good within the first couple of hours. We were at the resort for three days so bought a three day pass to the pools which was great value since we used it every day. The kids absolutely loved the waterslide and mineral pools.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Northland

Great for families

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: The whole resort was clean and the grounds really tidy
The pools were really clean and great for the whole family
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2014 by Michelle, Hotel Management
Kia Ora Audrey, Thanks for your review, great to hear you and your family enjoyed our thermal complex. For hygiene and sanitation purposes, our pools are drained, scrubbed and refilled everyday. Warm Regards Michelle
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Melbourne

Fantastic Stay

Posted Jul 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Family of 4 stayed here for 1 night but wished we could have stayed longer. The whole place was clean and well kept. We enjoyed the hot pools and even had a couple of goes of the water slide (quite a bit cooler but still great fun). The kids had so much fun jumping on the air pillow. Thank you to all for a wonderful, memorable time in Taupo especially Toby.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 30, 2014 by Jenny, Hotel Management
Thank you for your glowing review of your one night stay here at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, we're delighted to hear your enjoyed our clean rooms and facilities. Great to hear you had fun on the hydro slide and the kids had a blast on the Big Bounce Air Pad, will pass on your thanks to Tobi. We wish you well in your future travels. Warm Regards Michelle
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Jennyfrom Wellington

Excellent customer service

Posted Jul 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff were all very helpful and friendly. It made the visit seem more personal.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2014 by Jenny, Hotel Management
Hello Jenny, Thanks for reviewing your recent stay here at Taupo DeBretts Spa resort. We're glad to hear staff made your feel comfortable. Warm Regards Michelle
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great winter getaway

Posted Jul 18, 2014
We have stayed at De Brett's for the past 8 years every July holidays and we love it. There is a wide range of accommodation and the staff are always welcoming and friendly. Would definitely recommend this place to anyone needing a relaxing break with the hot pools at your doorstep and our children can't. Get enough of the waterslide.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 30, 2014 by Michelle, Hotel Management
Kia Ora, Thanks for reviewing of your recent stay at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort. We are so delighted to hear you and your family choose DeBretts as your July holiday destination. Great to hear the kids enjoyed the Dragon Hydro Slide, a real draw card for kids of all ages. Looking forward to seeing you and your family on your next stay with us. Warm Regards Michelle
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Adfrom Auckland

Posted Jul 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had a lovely stay. The little cushions on the bed could have done with a wash. Our hob wasn't working but that was quickly fixed. Lovely and friendly staff!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 30, 2014 by Jenny, Hotel Management
Hello Ad, Thanks for your review of Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort. We have recently had a spring clean of our rooms, and all cushions and bed ware have been cleaned thoroughly. Our maintenance team have fixed the hob, we really appreciate your feedback. Warm Regards Michelle
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Paulfrom Wellington

Great value/great all round experience

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Pros: Great room - we stayed in the delux cabin
Cons: I honestly - can not fault our experience.
Location: The hot pools is a must do every day! the specials for guests of the camp made it affordable and we really enjoyed visiting on our three day pass
My family and I were very impressed with the level of quality budget accommodation we enjoyed. I am in the service business and I was very impressed with the friendliness of all the staff we encountered. From the first phone call to advise our late arrival, through to the cleaning staff - a very helpful and professional level of service. We had a great time staying here and will do so again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 30, 2014 by Michelle, Hotel Management
Kia Ora Paul, Thanks for your delightful review of your stay at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort. We are really glad to hear you were impressed with our accommodation standards. We recently achieved Enviro Gold Award in recognition of our eco-friendly practises (we use environment friendly cleaning products) this is apart of our on-going company policy to ensure our practises help reduce our environmental impact. We look forward to your next visit. Kind Regards Michelle
2 out of 5
by paulinefrom c

Small, uncomfortable

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Very small not maintained for the age of cabin. Servicing of room didn't even empty rubbish bin, provided only 2 towels when 4 of us staying. Have to pay extra to use pool when pool is on all the debretts pictures when you book. Had friends book after us they got a bigger room, this was not offered to us, seems to be the luck of the draw with getting a decent cabin. Will not be staying here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 30, 2014 by Michelle, Hotel Management
Hello Pauline, Thanks for your review of Taupo Debrett Spa Resort. We are sorry to hear that your stay wasn't enjoyable. If we had known of any problems, we would have remedied the situation. Once again we apologise for any inconvenience. Regards Michelle Guest Relations