Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great winter getaway

Posted Jul 18, 2014
We have stayed at De Brett's for the past 8 years every July holidays and we love it. There is a wide range of accommodation and the staff are always welcoming and friendly. Would definitely recommend this place to anyone needing a relaxing break with the hot pools at your doorstep and our children can't. Get enough of the waterslide.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Paul from Wellington

Great value/great all round experience

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Pros: Great room - we stayed in the delux cabin
Cons: I honestly - can not fault our experience.
Location: The hot pools is a must do every day! the specials for guests of the camp made it affordable and we really enjoyed visiting on our three day pass
My family and I were very impressed with the level of quality budget accommodation we enjoyed. I am in the service business and I was very impressed with the friendliness of all the staff we encountered. From the first phone call to advise our late arrival, through to the cleaning staff - a very helpful and professional level of service. We had a great time staying here and will do so again.
2 out of 5
by pauline from c

Small, uncomfortable

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Very small not maintained for the age of cabin. Servicing of room didn't even empty rubbish bin, provided only 2 towels when 4 of us staying. Have to pay extra to use pool when pool is on all the debretts pictures when you book. Had friends book after us they got a bigger room, this was not offered to us, seems to be the luck of the draw with getting a decent cabin. Will not be staying here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2014
Hello Pauline, Thanks for your review of Taupo Debrett Spa Resort. We are sorry to hear that your stay wasn't enjoyable. If we had known of any problems, we would have remedied the situation. Once again we apologise for any inconvenience. Regards Michelle Guest Relations
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice motel

Posted May 26, 2014
Overall the whole experience was great. My only moan was the new staff member at the pool reception she thought my 18 year old son was under 14 years old, I couldn't believe it. My son had to come back up to the chalet and getme and my husband to go back down to verify his age, but the new staff member wanted proof of ID e.g. Student ID card, which we didn't have i was upset cause we had travelled from Napier and I couldn't just go back and get it. Finally a experience staff member just asked if we could then just verify his age.....yes I said and She then let my children in. I feel the staff were not very customer friendly and had left my other 2 kids starting out in the cold while my son had to come and get us. Was not impressed with that. The next day we all went down for a private spa the kids wanted their own spa because they didn't want it too hot, I wanted 40% and they wanted 36% so I went to get ask for the keys.....Well we were told that the kids had to come in with us because they needed to be with an adult, I said so what age is an adult she replied 18 years old, I said well as I told you's last night my son is 18 years old so therefore he is considered an adult, she did hum and ha and the finally gave me 2 keys but mentioned that their was going to be another staff member on shortly and she won't be so compliant. Well I was very upset with these unessacary explanations and felt the pool staff were rediculas and unfriendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate the good and the bad as it helps us to improve where needed and keep our standard of service high. In regards to your complaints, I would like to offer some explanations to ease your mind. When a Family pass is purchased it is valid for 2 Adults and up to 4 children up to the age of 17 and any students we do ask for ID as it can be quite hard to tell a person’s age. I think this is where the confusion started. It was the staff member in questions first night and she was following procedures that she was trained in, however it looks like it may have been handled better. On the second incident it is unfortunate that the age issue had to be gone over again. It is our procedure to not let children in Private pools by themselves and also teenagers that are not related. It is part of Health and Safety that we have these rules in place. The manager has spoken with the staff member involved and has provided more training on how to approach these sort of issues in a different manner, so as not to have upset customers. Please rest assured that the manager has taken control of the issue and hopes you will be back to visit in the future. Kind regards Michelle Guest Relations
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by shandelle from Auckland

Excellent budget cabins, close to Taupo

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: The hot pools, cosy cabin.
Location: Out of Taupo so you have to drive into town but not really an issue for us.
Fantastic service, cabins with heat pumps and Sky TV, just out of Taupo. The hot pools are excellent. Highly recommended.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2014 by Lucinda, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review Shandelle, pleased to hear you will recommend us to your friends and family.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A nice place.

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Was a nice enough place. Rooms are a bit dated for the price you pay... Half price entry to the pools is a great bonus. Would be good if traveling with a family and on a budget (communal bathroom and kitchen facilities are available if you want a cheaper room without these.)
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2014 by Lucinda, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review. A great advantage about DeBretts is that we have a variety of rooms available to cater for all budgets from cabins to our luxury villas, as you noted the holiday park kitchen and bathrooms are great to use.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by traveller from melbourne

ticks all boxes

Posted Mar 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
short but sweet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 14, 2014 by Lucinda, Hotel Management
Thanks for the review.
3 out of 5
by Sunny from NZ

clean, tidy, but no ensuite

Posted Mar 8, 2014
when booked, wasn't clear in booking details that ensuite not included. rate paid not 'cheap' so that was a surprise.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2014 by Lucinda, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review Sunny. I will be checking out our room descriptions so that it is clear for guests :-)
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2014 by Lucinda, Hotel Management
Suprised to hear that it wasn't clear about the cabin you were booking, we do try and make it as clear as possible with images, descriptions and floor plans.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by David from Palmerston North

Clean and Comfy

Posted Mar 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice and spacious motel unit. Clean and comfy and had everything you needed. Friendly staff and so handy to the hot pools. Easy check-in and out. Our young kids loved it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 14, 2014 by Lucinda, Hotel Management
Thanks for the review David. Pleased your young children enjoyed it :-)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by M from New Zealand

Great for kids

Posted Feb 28, 2014
Pros: The staff and the activities for children
Cons: The organisation of the type of guests staying
Location: The pools at Debretts, Lake Taupo, Taupo City
Its a fantastic place for children with the parks, air trampoline and the pools. However we were placed next to some very loud young people who kept us and the kids awake. Staff were awesome though and dealt with it as best they could.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2014 by Lucinda, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review great to hear your children had a great time. Sorry to hear about the rowdy neighbours, somethings unfortunately are out of our control :-)