Ratings based on 65 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.4 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.4 Room comfort
2.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kuala lumpur, malaysia

great location, budget room, nice view.

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: great location, value of money
Cons: the receptionist
Location: Mt John observation tour, having a coffee at the top of Mt.John, Lake tekapo hotspring, at night go to the golfclub to see the galaxy alone.
We stay here for two days, the room is comfortable with lake tekapo view. The hotel location just beside the shop, a lot of restaurant and supermarket nearby. on second day, a lot of asian stay in this hotel, they make a lot of noise.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs refurbishing.

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Frame for shower door was rotting. Lino in bathroom needed replacing in fact a whole new bathroom was needed, carpet needed replacing.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Cold, damp and run down

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
The rooms were old and in a dilapidated condition, with rotten shower lining with mould.. Heating was pathetic with the need to wear a jacket inside and still not be warm. When staff were asked for another heater, they came to the room, jiggled the thermostat and left. No additional heating was given and it was a miserable cold stay.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Anu from brisbane

good location but the hotel neds a thorough refurb

Posted Jun 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
the hotel rooms need a refurb...
2 out of 5
by Azhar from Singapore

Dated rooms

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Booked 2 rooms. Very dated rooms. Need upgrading. Like a hotel in the 70's. Bathroom wash basin with separate hot and cold water taps! ( no mixer) Advisable to stay in Fairlie, one town before or after Tekapo.Better quality motels. Good food in Fairlie.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Daisy from CHN

warm place

Posted Jun 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
warm place,but a little bit far from the downtown center.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Check in staff not nice, need to find out some information ourselves.
2 out of 5
by John & Jan from Christchurch, NZ

Good location, Tekapo a great destination.

Posted May 12, 2014
Pros: The location and convenience was good as was the breakfast we had in the morning.
Cons: Improvements are outlined in the experience panel
Location: The MacKenzie country is steeped in history, scenery, and lots of things to see, such as Mt John and Lake Alexandrina. Skiing in the winter etc.
As we were only travelling from Christchurch for an overnight stay, the lat booking we did was the only suitable choice we had. we were not looking for a luxury holiday location and the hotel was a reasonable choice. We were a bit disappointed in the tired condition of the hotel. It appeared that not a lot of upgrading of the buildings, both inside and out, had not been attended to for many years. The general condition was shabby in appearance, carpets were worn and threadbare, the decor seemed to be locked into the 70's, the bathroom plumbing left a lot to be desired (dripping tap and uncontrollable shower). To attract tourists to this hotel, the maintenance needs to be seriously looked into and many improvements need to be attended to. I would not consider staying at this hotel until such things were carried out. Our overall stay in Tekapo was great as we were guests of the University of Canterbury on location at the Mt John Observatory. Tekapo is a lovely location and recommended to everyone as a great place to visit. There is plenty to do and see in and around Tekapo.
2 out of 5
by Hide from NZ

Nice hotel close to Lake Tekapo

Posted May 11, 2014
location is very good but couldnt see the Lake Tekapo from my room .