Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg, MB

Nice bed and breakfast right on the lake

Posted Sep 29, 2014
A touch of heaven!! Peaceful and serene! Quaint village with many walking trails!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stonewall, Manitoba

Solmundson Gesta Hus Bed & Breakfast-Hecla Island

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: Friendly family atmosphere and very quiet.
Location: Hecla Island is one of our favorite villages off Lake Winnipeg. Camping, fishing, hiking, bike trails, beaches,marina's, tennis, resort and golf.
Lovely lakefront bed and breakfast. Great family atmosphere, We had the queen ensuite which included the three piece bath. Veranda faces the lake in Hecla Village. Great homemade breakfast which included omlets, bacon, toast, homemade jams and a variety of fruit and juice. Very cosy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Mila Sailer

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 2, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
by shirley rayner from winnipeg

Great painting destination

Posted Aug 18, 2014 on Hotels
I went to Hecla specifically to sketch and paint. This is a great destination; lots of material including historical buildings, lake and even on boats and a bombadier. Also, the marsh at sunset was really beautiful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming B&B in Hecla Village.

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Sharon and Dave were wonderful hosts and made us feel very welcome in their home. After an interesting visit with our hosts later in the evening we watched stars from the outdoor hottub. Breakfast the next morning was delicious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by philippe hudon from saint-david de falardeau

b and b on beautifull island

Posted Aug 15, 2014 on Hotels
Sharon is a good host ( when smiles and you have to do that for her ) and is bettered only by her cooking. Dave is a story teller and will keep you on your toes.Overall a very pleasant stay and would recommend ...
5 out of 5
Recommended
by C. Douglas from Steinbach, MB

Solmundson's is wonderful!

Posted Aug 11, 2014 on Hotels
My friend and I spent only one night (unfortunately!) at this lovely Bed and Breakfast. We were treated to wonderful hospitality there. The food was beyond description in so few words. The hostess went above and beyond expectation in providing us with a quiet, restful, and informative respite. We would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Diana Gibson from Winnipeg, MB

Just like home!

Posted Aug 9, 2014 on Hotels
Loved it. It was very comfortable the hostess was very welcoming. Everything was clean. The breakfasts were outstanding. We were able to use a hot tub which was fun. The location is ideal if you want quiet and beauty with access to other things a short drive away. The only problem we had was the biks. One had no brakes and the other a very crooked back wheel. But we had fun neverthe less!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Manitoba

quiet, friendly recluse

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Cons: Air conditioning didn't seem to work very well, so the upstairs room was rather warm. It was humid out though. We had brought a fan and that helped.
Location: Lots of hiking trails to explore, Hecla village, lookout tower, bird watching.
We spent 3 nights here. Sharon and Dave are gracious hosts, with lots of personal information about the area. She served us wonderful breakfasts and a dinner. The use of the hot tub, gazeebo, bbq, and veranda were nice additions. Very quiet and private compared to a hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by D.S &S.S. from Winnipeg

Visit to Hecla Island

Posted Jun 28, 2014 on Hotels
Our hostess showed great hospitality, we felt very at ease and comfortable in her home.. She served us a delicious breakfast and took us on a very informative tour of the heritage buildings on Hecla. island. The view from her front porch was very great, watched the pelicans waiting for fish. Enjoyed our stay.