Ratings based on 385 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lakewood, OH

Trip to Cleveland

Posted Aug 24, 2014
The staff was courteous, but that was about the only positive. The room was dirty, the toilet kept running, and the room had a horrible smell.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2014 by Elizabeth, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I'm glad to hear you have enjoyed our staff while staying with us. I do apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused. Front desk would have been more than happy to provide you with a fresh new room to your liking. We do like to know about any problems with the rooms so that we can correct them immediately. Thank you again for the review.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A weekend in a Over priced facility

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: friendly reception
Cons: please refer to exp notes
Grass was over grown reception area dirty and smelly stairs leading up to the room were filthy and do not appear to be vacuumed in a long time. hall ways smoke smell non smoking room smelt like smoke did not feel comfortable putting my bare feet on carpet in room bath room door does not shut as it should the smell in the room is appalling There is no PRIDE OF OWNERSHIP!! what so ever. Staff say General Manager does nothing to improve things This location is an embarrassment to the Days Inn Chain I am ok with a old facility but cleanliness and basic maintenance is unacceptable. Front desk girl Saturday Aug 2 at 6 PM was friendly but they are poorly organized at the front desk. Old crappy binders with out dated information Ice machine has not worked in over a month, I asked where it was and wa told it was broken, so I was given what ice they had left which was about 24 small cubes I felt bad having my 10 year old boy stay in such a poorly maintained property. I would never in my wildest dreams bring my wife to a location like this as I am sure the marriage would be toast. Thanks for the opportunity to comment. Thank god the 3 Indians games and Browns training camp were great and Cleveland is a great city to come to. Thanks for the opportunity to comment on my stay
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tempe, AZ

The Staff was Awesome the Hotel was Bad

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: Jasmine at the front desk. She was GREAT!
Cons: The whole hotel needs to be updated severely.
Location: There are a lot of things to see and do in Cleveland. The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame was very close and worth the going to see.
When we checked in the girl at the desk was fantastic. When we entered the hotel we realized it was quite out dated and needed some fixing up. But when we got in our room it was obvious. As you turned on the water in the sink the bathtub filled with very brown water. We were moved to another room that was in just as bad of shape but we could use the sink and tub. If it wasn't for Jasmine at the front desk this hotel had nothing else going for it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Morning

Posted Aug 2, 2014
No coffee available even though we were told there would be. No area to have any of there breakfast offerings.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lakewood, Ohio

an oldy but not a goody

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: it was close to the lake
Cons: all of the above mentioned items
Location: parks, shopping, restuarants
front desk girl(Jasmine) was FABULOUS!!! the disappointing things were.... 1.) door key wouldn't work unless we tried it 4-5 times, on our second day it wouldn't work at all, had to get a different key. 2.) room door was hard to open and close. 3.) I think our room used to be a closet, it was VERY small, we have never seen a hotel room this small. 4.) shower curtain had mold on it!!! 5.) long hair left in our shower, either from previous occupant or hotel maid, either way GROSS!!! 6.) at check out we wanted to put the room on another credit card, the girl(not Jasmine) told us she couldn't do this because we booked thru expedia... not sure if this was true or she just didn't know how to do it?!?! We have booked 6 motel rooms in the last 18 months and have always changed cards at check out, but this was the first time we booked thru expedia!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awful.....stay away

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Pros: Running out the door and burning my clothes
Cons: Demo the entire building.....
Location: Surprisingly in a residential area
Worst hotel experience I've ever had. Run down, suspicious characters hanging around outside. Rude staff and obvious unsavory activities going inside and outside the hotel. Ask locals about the hotel.....it has a well know reputation for what goes on.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

terrible

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: EVERYTHING front needs to be more friendly and respectful of cliental coming in, they not will to put themselves to help what so ever.
Location: Nothing in area to really to do or see. few good restaurants in area.
front not very client friendly, continental breakfast was really horrible, not enough selection of breads, muffins, fruit and nothing hot. Door to room latch was broken and when I told front desk, they were not willing to do anything about, the door had to be slammed to get it to shut. On one the days staying there the staff had taken the towels out of the room and did not replace.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2014 by Elizabeth, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are sorry for any inconvenience you experienced while staying with us however our breakfast consists of 3 kinds of muffins, 3 kinds of bagels, bread, cold and hot cereal, 3 kinds of fruit, 2 kinds of juice, coffee and tea. We are now adding even more items to our breakfast menu! Our staff work hard to ensure each guest has a pleasurable experience here, we hope you will keep this in mind and give us another chance to serve you.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from g

Good part of town

Posted Jul 15, 2014
This hotel was a bit old and run down looking but was over all clean. The bed and the bathroom were both clean. Breakfast was good. The tv had no remote controls.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2014 by Elizabeth, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We are pleased to hear that your room was clean and you enjoyed our breakfast. We wish you would have reported to the front desk that your room did not have a remote and we would have gotten you one immediately. We are now renovating the entire hotel and we hope you will give us another chance to serve you!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not the best.

Posted Jul 6, 2014
This is a cheap hotel, and you get what you paid for. I dealt with two female workers in my time there. The day shift girl was not very happy or helpful. The evening/night girl was awesome. Super pleasant and helpful. The hotel itself is in a fine location, about 10-15 minutes from downtown. It's obviously an older hotel that could seriously use some TLC. Our room was a little rough, we couldn't use the light as you walk in as it made a terrible humming noise. I checked for bed bugs and there were none, but there were some stray... Hairs. The hairs were also in the bathroom. The shower was either quite hot or quite cold with no comfortable medium. The hair dryer pulled off the wall with gentle use. - pros: bed and pillows were comfy. There was a mini fridge and the AC worked well. Overall, I would probably stay again because it's cheap and I'm not incredibly picky but if you like luxury this is not the hotel for you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2014 by Elizabeth, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Our guests feedback is very important to us. We would like to apologize for any inconvenience you experienced and assure you that our entire staff try very hard to accommodate each guest and our housekeeping staff clean each room up to our high standards. We hope to see you again soon!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Raph from Calgary, AB

Nice hotel in great location,

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Hotel is reasonably priced, and in a good location. Only drawback is that it is an older building, with older bathrooms which were a little dirty.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2014 by Elizabeth, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Each review is very important to us. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the location and our hotel has been recently renovated with new bathrooms, new carpet, new bedding, new flat screen televisions, and new mini fridges! We hope to see you again soon!