Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Safety Beach Australia

Lalomanu beach is beautiful but food ordinary.

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: The views from my cliff top room, Lalomanu beach and the friendly staff.
Cons: More thought with the dinner. If the guests upstairs are going to be late for breakfast show some consideration. PS breakfast the next day was good.
Location: Lalomanu is maybe the best beach location I saw on both islands in 3 weeks. Apparently a cheap boat ride to the smaller island is a snorkeling must.
I chose a cliff top room for more comforts which was quite good and the ocean and island vista was superb. It was a 5 minute drive down to the beach and bar restaurant however a free shuttle was provided to and fro. However the first morning the driver was late for breakfast, consequently the food remaining was an egg that looked like it had been rejected by all the guests for good reason, some papaya and a slice of toast. When I pleaded my case I was simply told the kitchen was closed. Both breakfast and dinner are inclusive and are served bulk to the 2 long tables with perhaps 30 guests on each. It is a self serve arrangement which works OK but don't be too tardy. The dinner was quite plentiful but a strange mix of clashing cuisines. The next day several guest asked me if I was OK because they were suffering some gastro discomfort. Later in the day I realised I was one of them. The staff were typically Samoan i.e. friendly and helpful. The restaurant/bar was right on the beach and a good place to be. Snorkeling at Lalomanu is very pleasant although sadly there is some damage and bleaching to the coral, however the variety of fish and water clarity made going to Lalomanu a must. The guests I spoke to were happy with their fales although the toilets are across the road. I feel a little harsh with this review and the breakfast experience may have been just bad luck but no moan and groan........ no rectify.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by fieldsfrom australia

we will return ;loved iy

Posted Aug 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
great place,loved the staff and beach
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Incredible beach. Great accommodation (although a bit rough around the edges). The most welcoming and hospitable staff you can imagine. Great place if your traveling alone as it encourages intermingling.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best Beach on Samoa

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Pros: The beach and the staff
Friendly staff, excellent location, plenty of food to be shared at meal times
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sylviafrom Auckland, New Zealand

AMAZING! Highly recommended

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: The staff! couldn't have asked for better.
Cons: Although i didn't mind the cold showers would still prefer warmer water :)
Location: Lalomanu beach, To Sua Cave Pool, Vavau Beach, waterfalls...honestly rent a car!
Taufua Beach Fales is an amazing place! The beach is unbelievable and so is the staff. Warm welcome and smiles throughout our week there. We stayed up on the mountains which is about 5mins drive so having a car is imperative in my view if staying up there. Be advised that the rooms are very basic (some with AC some without) and the shower is cold though you can't fault it at this price! I highly recommend this place to anyone who isn't after 5 star resort amenities and can "rough it up a bit". Dinners are served family style on one long table at 7pm every night, Aga Reef and Seebreeze resort are a short drive away if you're into a quieter fancier dinner. Wed & Sat nights are Fiafia nights, lotsa fun. The place pretty much shuts down around 10.30pm nightly so don't be worried about being kept up all night if contemplating the fales on the beach.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

We did not stay at this hotel

Posted Mar 25, 2014
We did not stay here as the information we received about the place was not an accurate description of what was on offer once we arrived. The accommodation is very simple, there was not the facilities offered to us in our room that we expected. The photos are inaccurate and misleading, the mountain rooms are not a 5min drive from the beach and your require transport to get to and from them. More accurate information must be provided to potential customers so they can make a more informed choice on whether to stay or not.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful!

Posted Aug 5, 2013
wonderful - it was the family who run it who made it really special they were fantastic. 10/10: I'd recommend this place to anyone who wants a relaxing holiday in a beautiful setting. Superb.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bryanfrom Auckland, New Zealand

Great Break

Posted Aug 4, 2013
Cheap and cheerful. If you're looking for a basic fale on the beach and a nice relaxing holiday you've come to the right place. Not much to do nearby although the ocean trench is a must! Don't expect to many creature comforts though, showers are a tad chilly. Fantastic for the price though and the views are incredible.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Annafrom New Zealand

Posted Jul 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
My sister and I stayed in the mountain view fale at Taufua and were very disappointed. Firstly the location was a joke. Please note that if you were to stay in the BEACH fales the location would be perfect - right on the beach. However the mountain view accommodation was about a 10 minute drive away from the beach. There was a complimentary taxi to the mountain fales, however it did not allow for easy access between our room and the beach. For the price we paid we were shocked there was no hot water, our sheets absolutely stunk and we had to get them changed... but due to the isolated location of the mountain view fales we had to sleep a night in these smelly sheets because we had no way to contact anybody about the problem as the taxi had already returned to the beach where the reception was also located. Our room was not cleaned properly with rubbish from the previous guests left in our room and towels were not provided - when we inquired about towels the following day we were told that we should have been provided with them, however they were still unable to give us any as they were apparently all wet!! The food was mediocre and at lunch time the service was horrific (an hour wait on burger and fries). This is the first time I have ever written a negative review of any accommodation I have stayed in as I am fairly easy going and laid back, however after our stay here my sister and I both agreed anybody would be foolish to book the mountain view fales.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by J & Bfrom New Zealand

Fantastic!

Posted Jun 21, 2013
Pros: Everything
Cons: They didn't clean the sand out during the day and the local dogs drank our foot water
Location: Great being on the beach but not near any ATMS - thankfully they take credit cards!
Everything here was great! The food for all meals was delicious and just kept being served. Yum! Right on the beach so out the door and into the water