Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by masline9 from Motherwell

beautiful setting but very average hotel

Posted Jan 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
we were attending a wedding at the weekend & had our baby with us in the hotel, along with my mum. we had a waterhouse apartment which was very spacious and accommodated us all no probs (we had two double bedrooms), but was quite basic in looks. i did see another one where the bride was staying the night before and it was much more modern, so they may vary. the modern one was no 1. the service was great, food also including the wedding food which is hard to get but i think the biggest letdown was being so very cut off from the rest of the world - there is hardly any network service at all & the hotel's wifi that is available in communal areas only was very poor & dropping out, so had to be reset. considering nobody could reach anybody, it would have been helpful to have wifi in the rooms. out of two landline phones in the apartment, only one worked, very quietly but it was located downstairs in one of the bedrooms which was quite inconvenient. the proximity to the water made us sleep very well & was very idylic. our baby however had to sleep with us as the travel cot was one of the worse we've ever had - uneven at the bottom! overall ok experience, would not stay again unless there was another wedding on. but would go back for the scenery, coffees & food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Stuart from Copenhagen

Great Service

Posted Dec 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
Staff could not have been more helpful. we were 10 mins late for breakfast yet they still cooked up some food for us
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by P n D from Ontario, Canada

Unique Hotel

Posted Oct 5, 2013
Location: Anyone staying here should plan to spend at least half a day exploring the site itself.
This is a unique hotel: a place of significant historical interest and architectural magnificence in a setting of natural beauty. It is a privilege to be able to stay here. Although we had asked for a simple double room, we were given one of the water houses, which are spacious family units well-appointed for self-catering. We had far more room than we needed but we certainly made use of it over our three night stay. The dining room does not offer a great range of dishes but we enjoyed those we had and thought the cost of them reasonable. The dining room staff were friendly and polished on two of the evenings but seemed rather confused and untrained on the third. The breakfasts were fine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by chuck from st. augustine

Expensive but nice hotel

Posted Jul 3, 2013
Pros: convenient
Cons: nothing
Stayed in a Suite, which was fantastic.........Nothing else t say.............................
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by peter and lknda from Lancashire, UK

Scenic wonderland

Posted Jul 1, 2013
Pros: Location within heritage centre
Location: Within walking distance do of superb natural landscape - clyde falls were superb to behold
Lovely experience in exploring nature from a beautiful hotel situated on the river within a Scottish heritage centre
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ken from East Riding of Yorkshire, UK

Great Hotel and area for people who enjoy history

Posted Jun 8, 2013
Pros: Surroundings and views
Cons: Prices
Location: Around the Hotel and buildings may not suit pers who have walking difficulties.
After finding my way down the lanes, I arrived at the Mill Hotel. I was very impress with the surroundings. Being a little early to book in I ventured into building to get a snack and a drink. The receptionist asked if she could help so I told her who I was and thought I was a bit early to sign in. She said it was no problem and proceed with formalities. I was also impress with the room, the cleaniness, the view. Overall the hotel, staff and food was very good, drinks alittle pricey but I enjoyed my stay at New Lanark.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Wren from Edinburgh

Comfortable and well located

Posted Mar 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
Our suite was spacious, but unimaginatively furnished with a tiny and very unspecial bathroom. It was a long way between the walk in wardrobe and the luggage rack at the other end of the room!All that apart we enjoyed our stay, our evening bar meal and a good breakfast. The staff were helpful and knowledgeable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jude

Great for families with different bedtimes!!

Posted Feb 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
We had a very lovely 3 night stay in one of the self catering water houses. This was a fully equipped two bedroom apartment which was spacious and cosy. It had all the amenities of a hotel room with many extras that made it homely. The huge positive for us with young children was being able to put the children to bed then having our own lounge to relax in. Everyone slept well and no having to try and watch TV quietly whilst kids sleep in same room. The sounds of the river were very soothing but may not suit everyone. The adjacent hotel was nice with a very helpful and friendly staff. We had drinks here, a necessity if you require wi-fi during your stay, but we did not eat. We did use the pool which was very nice and in good repair with ample towels provided. The additional charge for this on a per head basis is not excessive but best to organise on arrival as is valid for the duration of your stay. The gym looked well equipped and utilised. The sat nav had a bit of trouble locating the hotel taking us to a blocked off dirt track at the rear of the property so just follow signage for New Lanark when you get close. We have family nearby and will certainly return here. It's convenient for visiting both Edinburgh and Glasgow attractions yet has the tranquility of the countryside. A great wee find.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by George

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

beautiful scenic and relaxing

Posted Dec 14, 2012 on Hotels.com
My daughter and I wanted a relaxing get away from it all,that's just what we got,lovely room with beautiful views from the window which were spectacular Every member of staff we came across where more than helpful and very pleasant, in particular Frazer at breakfast and the two lads that worked in the bar on consecutive days. Breakfast was very nice with a good choice between continental and full cooked and everything in between. We also used the leisure facility which during our visit was very quiet with friendly helpfull staff.The only thing that let this hotel down was the fire alarm going off twice during our stay but we are assured that they are trying to get this sorted