Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Philfrom Wales

Overnight business stopover

Posted Oct 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Overnight business stay. Hotel has a lovely country setting - must be ideal venue for weddings. Staff extremely courtious and were all without exception a credit to the hotel. Had a room outside in a courtyard but only a few paces from the main building. Room spacious, modern and comfortable. Would certainly go back and highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Bevyfrom Bridgend

Nice hotel

Posted Oct 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Wish I found this place before.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified travelerfrom Watford.

No heating and no hot water

Posted Apr 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel looks lovely, staff are great and it is in a great location. Unfortunately when we stayed in the cottages th heating broke completely and there was no hot water which made getting three people ready for a wedding really difficult. Staff apologised an sorted the water only for it to fail again after 2 mins whilst my wife was showering my 2 year old. He now won't go in any shower because it's 'cold'. Offered £20 back however I would have offered a full refund considering not only did the water not work we we freezing all night
3 out of 5
Recommended
by BigGr33nfrom Northampton

4 Star Staff

Posted Feb 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
I can't see how this is in any way a 4 star hotel, I'd definitely put it at 3 star at the most. It just doesn't have the facilities of a 4 star hotel. The evening meal was ok, the breakfast was good; they had some lovely warm croissants. The bed mattress was a bit soft for me. And what is it with hotels that think you don't need plug sockets by the side of the bed?? I've been to loads recently that think you shouldn't have plugs you can use by the bed -it's very annoying not to be able to plug your stuff in and use it in bed. At this hotel the bedside cabinets are glued and screwed into the wall so you can't get to the lamp plugs to plug your own stuff in. I think the room I stayed in was under size for the money. I would rate the other 2 four star hotels nearby (Barton Grange & Marriott) better than this hotel. Don't get me wrong, it's a nice hotel and the surrounding area is nice but the only thing 4 star about it are the staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

A good stay

Posted Feb 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
The first room I was lodged in was overlooking a water tank that I believe activated a pump each 5/6 minutes. I asked to be moved since it was noisy and the staff was extremely helpful and available.The second room was fine, however only with a small bathroom (that was fine though).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ronnie1from Crawley

Fantastic Service

Posted Feb 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lovely location, very comfortable, great hotel. Service second to none. Very impressed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jonathanfrom Glasgow

Great time at a lovely hotel.

Posted Jan 25, 2014
Pros: Staff, food, bar and grounds.
Cons: Nothing really.
Location: The location was ideal, quiet and close to travel links.
We stayed at the hotel for a single night and really enjoyed our stay. The staff were really friendly and helpful and the food was superb. The only downside was the lack of a bath in our bathroom. However, the other facilities were great. We would definitely stay there again if we were in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by traceyfrom billingham

Bartle hall - lovely hotel

Posted Jan 25, 2014
Pros: Everything
Location: Lovely location very quiet and rural
Stayed there for a wedding Room with four poster bed and bathroom was down a few stairs Stunning room Hotel staff very friendly as well as professional Would definetly recommend
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by CJD.from Buckinghamshire

Disappointing

Posted Jan 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were disappointed with the room size and the wash room was even smaller. Sink plug had to be removed completely to drain the sink and the waste water then bubbled up through the shower drain and into the shower tray. A delivery truck woke us at about 6am. Our request for sheet and blanket not a duvet was not done. We will not book this hotel again. Overall rating is only average. Staff were friendly. We booked the hotel because it had very good reviews. We did state to the receptionist we were disappointed. We were told the room we were given was the one we had booked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by stevefrom sutton Coldfield

Business Overnight

Posted Nov 28, 2013
Pros: It's a lovely old manor house in spacious grounds, so noise never a problem.
Cons: See above
Location: Convenient for Blackburn, Preston and surrounding towns.
I have stayed before, but quite a while ago and chose to come back as I wanted to be in a cosy, comfortable, quality hotel. It lived up to my memory, it is a lovely place to stay, with great food, it's not cheap but you get what you pay for. My one reservation about my room was the carpet was in need of replacing or refitting at least.