Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jonathan from Glasgow

Great time at a lovely hotel.

Posted Jan 25, 2014
Pros: Staff, food, bar and grounds.
Cons: Nothing really.
Location: The location was ideal, quiet and close to travel links.
We stayed at the hotel for a single night and really enjoyed our stay. The staff were really friendly and helpful and the food was superb. The only downside was the lack of a bath in our bathroom. However, the other facilities were great. We would definitely stay there again if we were in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by tracey from billingham

Bartle hall - lovely hotel

Posted Jan 25, 2014
Pros: Everything
Location: Lovely location very quiet and rural
Stayed there for a wedding Room with four poster bed and bathroom was down a few stairs Stunning room Hotel staff very friendly as well as professional Would definetly recommend
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by steve from sutton Coldfield

Business Overnight

Posted Nov 28, 2013
Pros: It's a lovely old manor house in spacious grounds, so noise never a problem.
Cons: See above
Location: Convenient for Blackburn, Preston and surrounding towns.
I have stayed before, but quite a while ago and chose to come back as I wanted to be in a cosy, comfortable, quality hotel. It lived up to my memory, it is a lovely place to stay, with great food, it's not cheap but you get what you pay for. My one reservation about my room was the carpet was in need of replacing or refitting at least.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Maureen from Essex

I want to move in!

Posted Nov 21, 2013
Pros: free wifi, no charge for room service, decor, rooms - everything
Wow! I stayed in Goosnargh, which had a lovely double bed and separate work area. Sockets were plentiful, a nice work lamp (I hate hotels with dingy lighting), balcony (not useful in November admittedly, but lovely nevertheless!). The wifi was free and worked in the room; there is no charge for room service and a 24 hour menu should you so desire. The communal areas were beautiful - a traditional country house feel. I had a two course meal for £20 which I thought reasonable. The breakfast was cooked to order and the staff could not have been more helpful. I was praying to be 'snowed in' so I could stay another night.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

If you like 'older' Hotels ........

Posted Oct 23, 2013
Pros: The Staff were GREAT !!!
Cons: The Hotel itself could do with some re-furbishment / freshening up.
Let me start by saying that the staff at the Hotel were lovely, warm, friendly and inviting. Unfortunatley the Hotel itself was a bit of a let down. 1) Finding the Hotel was quite difficult at night, not helped by very poor lighting around the entrance. 2) On entering the Hotel the first thing I noticed was an overwhelming smell of 'damp'. I got the impression that the Hotel had been 'shut up' for quite some time ..... not sure if I'm right about that, but that was the impression. 3) The room was a little dated in terms of decor for my taste, but some guests may like that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A hidden gem!

Posted May 15, 2013
A hidden gem! Very peaceful country house set in lovely grounds with terrific staff and great food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Gyles

Wonderful retreat

Posted Feb 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
I wanted a night near to Preston where I could forget everything. It was like re-living my childhood holidays. The staff ere wonderful, and the prices very cheap. Dinner and breakfast were great except for the quality of the sausage.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Mark

Bartle Hall Country Hotel

Posted Feb 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
I stayed here on a mid week during a business trip to Preston. The hotel was not central to Preston, but that did not put me off. The staff here were superb from arrival to departure. The bar area was occupied by similar business travellers and the lady that was serving that evening was excellent. Very attentive and polite too. I would happily stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

lovely countryside

Posted Jan 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very good stay. Staff very helpful. The rooms were rather hot and windows didn't open very far. Would stay here again
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Rachel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 8, 2012 on Hotels.com