Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler from Watford.

No heating and no hot water

Posted Apr 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel looks lovely, staff are great and it is in a great location. Unfortunately when we stayed in the cottages th heating broke completely and there was no hot water which made getting three people ready for a wedding really difficult. Staff apologised an sorted the water only for it to fail again after 2 mins whilst my wife was showering my 2 year old. He now won't go in any shower because it's 'cold'. Offered £20 back however I would have offered a full refund considering not only did the water not work we we freezing all night
3 out of 5
Recommended
by BigGr33n from Northampton

4 Star Staff

Posted Feb 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
I can't see how this is in any way a 4 star hotel, I'd definitely put it at 3 star at the most. It just doesn't have the facilities of a 4 star hotel. The evening meal was ok, the breakfast was good; they had some lovely warm croissants. The bed mattress was a bit soft for me. And what is it with hotels that think you don't need plug sockets by the side of the bed?? I've been to loads recently that think you shouldn't have plugs you can use by the bed -it's very annoying not to be able to plug your stuff in and use it in bed. At this hotel the bedside cabinets are glued and screwed into the wall so you can't get to the lamp plugs to plug your own stuff in. I think the room I stayed in was under size for the money. I would rate the other 2 four star hotels nearby (Barton Grange & Marriott) better than this hotel. Don't get me wrong, it's a nice hotel and the surrounding area is nice but the only thing 4 star about it are the staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

A good stay

Posted Feb 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
The first room I was lodged in was overlooking a water tank that I believe activated a pump each 5/6 minutes. I asked to be moved since it was noisy and the staff was extremely helpful and available.The second room was fine, however only with a small bathroom (that was fine though).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ronnie1 from Crawley

Fantastic Service

Posted Feb 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lovely location, very comfortable, great hotel. Service second to none. Very impressed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jonathan from Glasgow

Great time at a lovely hotel.

Posted Jan 25, 2014
Pros: Staff, food, bar and grounds.
Cons: Nothing really.
Location: The location was ideal, quiet and close to travel links.
We stayed at the hotel for a single night and really enjoyed our stay. The staff were really friendly and helpful and the food was superb. The only downside was the lack of a bath in our bathroom. However, the other facilities were great. We would definitely stay there again if we were in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by tracey from billingham

Bartle hall - lovely hotel

Posted Jan 25, 2014
Pros: Everything
Location: Lovely location very quiet and rural
Stayed there for a wedding Room with four poster bed and bathroom was down a few stairs Stunning room Hotel staff very friendly as well as professional Would definetly recommend
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by CJD. from Buckinghamshire

Disappointing

Posted Jan 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were disappointed with the room size and the wash room was even smaller. Sink plug had to be removed completely to drain the sink and the waste water then bubbled up through the shower drain and into the shower tray. A delivery truck woke us at about 6am. Our request for sheet and blanket not a duvet was not done. We will not book this hotel again. Overall rating is only average. Staff were friendly. We booked the hotel because it had very good reviews. We did state to the receptionist we were disappointed. We were told the room we were given was the one we had booked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by steve from sutton Coldfield

Business Overnight

Posted Nov 28, 2013
Pros: It's a lovely old manor house in spacious grounds, so noise never a problem.
Cons: See above
Location: Convenient for Blackburn, Preston and surrounding towns.
I have stayed before, but quite a while ago and chose to come back as I wanted to be in a cosy, comfortable, quality hotel. It lived up to my memory, it is a lovely place to stay, with great food, it's not cheap but you get what you pay for. My one reservation about my room was the carpet was in need of replacing or refitting at least.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Maureen from Essex

I want to move in!

Posted Nov 21, 2013
Pros: free wifi, no charge for room service, decor, rooms - everything
Wow! I stayed in Goosnargh, which had a lovely double bed and separate work area. Sockets were plentiful, a nice work lamp (I hate hotels with dingy lighting), balcony (not useful in November admittedly, but lovely nevertheless!). The wifi was free and worked in the room; there is no charge for room service and a 24 hour menu should you so desire. The communal areas were beautiful - a traditional country house feel. I had a two course meal for £20 which I thought reasonable. The breakfast was cooked to order and the staff could not have been more helpful. I was praying to be 'snowed in' so I could stay another night.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

If you like 'older' Hotels ........

Posted Oct 23, 2013
Pros: The Staff were GREAT !!!
Cons: The Hotel itself could do with some re-furbishment / freshening up.
Let me start by saying that the staff at the Hotel were lovely, warm, friendly and inviting. Unfortunatley the Hotel itself was a bit of a let down. 1) Finding the Hotel was quite difficult at night, not helped by very poor lighting around the entrance. 2) On entering the Hotel the first thing I noticed was an overwhelming smell of 'damp'. I got the impression that the Hotel had been 'shut up' for quite some time ..... not sure if I'm right about that, but that was the impression. 3) The room was a little dated in terms of decor for my taste, but some guests may like that.