Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Edinburgh

Noisy and run down

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Pros: Our bed was very comfy - that was about the only good thing.
Cons: Shower curtain desperately needed cleaning. TV signal poor. Walls ridiculously thin - encourage your guests to be quiet after midnight!!!
Location: Nothing. You need a car - there is absolutely nothing nearby, we ended up walking half an hour along the (non pavemented) A6 for a restaurant.
We stayed here on a Saturday night in December as we had a wedding to attend nearby on the Sunday morning. The hotel location is inconvenient and required a 30 minute bus journey from Lancaster train station. Upon arrival you can tell the hotel is very run down and badly in need of a good clean and a refurb. The staff were friendly enough but it was just extremely basic. The bedroom walls are like paper, and no warning had been issued at the time of either arrival or booking that every night in December the hotel apparently holds a Christmas party. My partner and I attempted an early night as we had an early start on the Sunday but it was pointless - the entire night the music was blaring from downstairs and we could feel the vibrations as well as hear it. The party finished at 12.30 which was very annoying - we'd assumed it'd stop by midnight but didn't. Once the party ended, on every side of our room we could hear guests shouting, screaming, laughing, running up and down the corridor and banging doors. The walls really are paper thin in this place, we lay awake until about 3 a.m. able to hear every single word coming from the rooms on either side, most of which were being shouted by drunk people. After midnight we even called down to reception to ask when the noise would stop but no apology was offered and no attempt made to quieten things down. If you want to stay up and drink until the wee hours then do so in this hotel. Don't come here to relax.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Suited our needs

Posted Nov 15, 2014
My wife and self with my brother and his wife stayed over night as we where at a party at the golf club. The rate was good room & bed comfy breakfast was ok with a large selection so you could not leave hungry . Overall does what it says in the ads
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Buckinghamshire

We enjoy staying at this hotel.

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Pros: The place where it is situated
Cons: Stuck in a timewarp but clean and comfortable
Location: Very near the canal - lovely walking area and pretty northern town nearby
This is a nice people friendly hotel. Good situation - quiet and lovely breakfast. Would certainly recommend this hotel to friends
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Thomas25392from Morecambe

Pleasant time

Posted Aug 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
During my stay there I found that the food and service of the restaurant were excellent. The rooms were in a nice, clean condition and bed was comfortable. The 2 downsides to my stay here were the room was quite chilly and the heating would not come on and in the morning there were two small children running up and down making noise outside the rooms (although this was down to the parents no fault of the hotels)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by tony

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Simonefrom Inverness

A good place to stay

Posted Aug 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was good, the staff were excellent, the food was great. Only down side was that there were marks on the pillows slips and towels. You could see that they had been washed, but the marks had not come out. Really the cleaning company should be pulled up, but the housekeeper should have picked it up too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, fiscally viable accommodation.

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: Great breakfast.
It was a great stay in a lovely setting. Great gateway if traveling from London to the Lakes District.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Markfrom Tyne & Wear

Fab for price!

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: breakfast included - cooked and continental. Very clean, friendly and great location for our 'car show' trip. Staff very frinedly and helpful
Cons: Carpets - looking a little tired.
Location: I was on a car show trip to Lytham St. Anne's - so great location as firends staying nearby.
Great deal for hotel - breakfast included - cooked and continental. Very clean, friendly and great location for our 'car show' trip. Staff very frinedly and helpful :-)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

went for a wedding, reasonable prices at the bar.

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Pros: reasonable bar prices
Cons: reliable boiler
Went for a weeding, the hotel has easy to find, staff were friendly. When we checked in the bathroom lights had all blown and house keeping had to come and change them. Tried to have a shower but the water pressure was non existent. Comfortable room and bed, In the morning there was no hot water as the boiler had broken. As this was after breakfast, the only thing that was offered was a shower in another room
2 out of 5
by T Mfrom Morecambe

Ok for one night only!

Posted Mar 23, 2014
Pros: The breakfast was the best bit by miles, cooked to order. As there were only two of us eating at the time, it was served hot and quickly/
Cons: Heating, needs to be self regulated or at least on and let people turn their own radiators down. Windows need renewing or insulating.
Location: On the main A6 near Garstang - Ideal for the Soul at the Crofters night (Northern Soul - held every third Friday)
Nice receptionist, friendly lady who checked us in and gave us the key. Walked the old fashioned corridors to our room (no. 22). It was freezing cold, the window was letting the cold air blow in (could seriously do with some secondary glazing). The radiator was not on making me unable to get changed until it had warmed up slightly. The wardrobe door kept opening by itself. We only had one bath towel between us (had to go to reception for another). If you like a brew in your room, take some milk or remember to ask for some extra from reception as you only get four little milk pots. The room warmed up with the heat from the very powerful shower in the bathroom (which was clean, old fashioned but ok). We went to the Northern Soul event (third Friday of every month and brilliant) but when we came back to the room it was again bitter cold. I could not get warm all night, the room was also noisy from both the corridor and the outside road noise as the window was not soundproofed by any means. I could not wait to get up and get out of the room to be honest. The saving grace was the breakfast, that was cooked to order and was really nice. When we checked out they wanted me to pay for breakfast as they said I was only booked as Room Only, luckily I had the booking confirmation which clearly stated 'Includes Full Breakfast'. Next Soul event, I shall drive myself and not waste the money on staying over. Get more elsewhere for £59.00, very disappointed!