Ratings based on 231 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Easter break

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Beautiful hotel. Friendly staff. Great food. Really enjoyed the leisure centre. Will definitely be back for another visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Yorkshire

Comfortable hotel next to Lancaster University

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: Its overall comfort and relaxed feel.
Cons: Some hotel and local information in the bedrooms would be useful.
Location: Next to Lancaster University. Short drive to the city of Lancaster. Nice town to spend a day in. Close to the coast and on the way to the Lakes.
The hotel is welcoming, with friendly and efficient staff. Reception has comfortable chairs and a log fire. Rooms are a good size, well furnished, with comfortable beds. Nice touches like a carafe for water which can be filled at water coolers in the corridor, good quality coffee and biscuits on the tea tray. Heating is easy to control. Facilities include a spa and gym, with a decent sized swimming pool. There are board games for loan at reception. The bar is pleasant and comfortable with good bar food. There is a also a restaurant but we didn't try it on this occasion. Very good value for the room rate
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom IOM

Super again.

Posted Apr 3, 2015
Pros: Location and ambience. WiFi free. Leisure Centre/Swimming Pool.
Cons: Evening restaurant menu more varied and possibly a set price offer menu (Table d' hote,) as well as A La Carter.
Location: Location quiet. Access ability to Lancaster town, Lake District, Blackpool, and some lovely villages within 10/20 minutes drive.
Hotel is very pleasant in a quiet area. Easy access to town by car or bus. Nice relaxing walks in area. We enjoyed 2 nights in a suite room, which was again very good. Only downside they do not have a fridge for guest use. Lounge bar/menu good. Very good service although did struggle when full at one point. Restaurant 's evening menu OK but menu did not alter whilst we were there. Bar menu better variety. Breakfast good. Will definitely stay again when in area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Overnight stay only

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Pros: as above
Cons: WI-FI in room not good
Location: Lancaster town couple of miles away, interesting old town castle etc.
Excellent spa/pool/steam room and even an outside hot tub. Very friendly and helpful staff, Clean and spacious room with all requirements catered for. Very large comfortable bed and easy to use information TV. WI-FI a bit iffy but in a large building in a hilly area I'm not surprised. All in all a delight to stay at Lancaster House Hotel, and would certainly return for a visit soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom HK

Average

Posted Mar 21, 2015
No WiFi in the gym. WiFi in the bedroom not working well and my complaint was ignored by staff. Building needs a refresh. Great breakfast.
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom lancashire

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Great hotel. We had a fabulous evening meal in the restaurant. All the staff were very helpful. Had a wonderful facial with Chloe but unfortunately the beauty room was located on a noisy corridor so the treatment wasn't quite as relaxing as it could have been.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted Jan 15, 2015 on Hotels.com
This hotel is fabulous and I stay often. I was a little dissapointed this time with my room allocation. I always send a request to be at the end of a corridor due to noise, and I was allocated a room half-way down and next to the ice machine which was very noisy. Otherwise however, this hotel is great, for business or leisure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Michellefrom Harrogate

Lakeland stop off

Posted Jan 12, 2015 on Hotels.com
I used this hotel as a business stop off en-route to Scotland. I had no trouble finding it. The room was warm and clean. I struggled to connect with the wifi but reception helped me out with a conference code that worked well. The restaurant food was good quality, the staff were friendly and well informed.Sadly the waitress had a small accident but this was quickly remedied with no lasting problems.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Mfrom MarkMingins

Another brillant stay

Posted Jan 5, 2015 on Hotels.com
I stopped here last Christmas but this Christmas was even better. The service was impeccable the room was brilliant the bathroom was a lot better than last year. I would recommend anyone single people stopping here. Next year I plan to hopefully stop for new year.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Lytham St Annes

pleasant hotel disappointing stay

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Pros: Location, breakfast, facilities, it is nice inside.
Cons: Please see notes above.
Location: Just outside of Lancaster so close to all historic and leisure facilities. Ashton gardens also nearby
Worth pointing out that this was a one night stay on Christmas day. Hotel is very pleasant with good facilities and polite and helpful staff. There were a couple of issues which took the edge off the stay Firstly, we were trying to obtain room service at around 8pm. No answer from phone. It went to answerphone 3 times No answer from reception phone either. In the end had to go down to bar and order in person. We were in the designated 'quiet area' of the hotel which included publication of signs asking people to respect this. The people in the room next door were noisy coming back from wherever they had been and continued to be so until 1.30 approx. Some thought it was acceptable to speak loudly and allow doors to slam either late at night or early morning. Rarely encountered such ignorance and wasnt the best of nights, Room was too hot; bed uncomfortable. Upon check out I was charged £10 for the presence of our dog. We had made it clear at the time of booking that we were bringing the dog and we were not made aware of the charge at the time of booking. I'm still not clear what the charge relates to. Hotel manager claimed it was a standard charge for additional cleaning but was unable to state what additional cleaning would be required. The dog does not shed hair and neither is it allowed on the furniture. This would, however, appear to be an Expedia problem rather than that of the hotel. Breakfast was very good.