Ratings based on 164 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Great health spa - very relaxing. Lovely breakkie
2 out of 5
by gary from lancaster

No hot water

Posted Mar 25, 2014
Booked the room for my business partner to stay. Overall the hotel is ok. For 3 days there was no hot water in the room and there was no urgency to resolve the problem. Won't stay again for business or pleasure
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jo from wales

convenient for Lancaster and the uni

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: Log fire in reception, friendly bar man and receptionist
Cons: Couldn't work out how to switch on bedside lights Outrageous hike in room rates for graduation week - shan't be staying despite the convenience!
Location: Quiet convenient
Convenient comfy hotel ideal for visiting my daughter at the uni
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Emma from Cleveleys

probably one of the best hotels in the UK

Posted Mar 11, 2014
Pros: Everything - from the logs fires to the friendly staff in the bar and restaurant - nothing was too much trouble.
Cons: check in times (would have liked to get in the room a little earlier - nothing else.
Location: very close to Lancaster centre - we visited the Brewery and had a tour, there is a castle and a very good Museum also.
This hotel is not to be overlooked, the staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms are comfortable and immaculately clean, the bed is comfortable and the coffee/tea facilities full size cups with quality products. The restaurant decorated our table for a birthday guest at the last minute and nothing was too much trouble. The restaurant (although pricey) the food was excellent and the service impeccable. I would recommend this hotel to anyone - what a little gem to find! Thank you for making our stay special. x
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Emma from Cleveleys

probably one of the best hotels in the UK

Posted Mar 11, 2014
Pros: Everything - from the logs fires to the friendly staff in the bar and restaurant - nothing was too much trouble.
Cons: check in times (would have liked to get in the room a little earlier - nothing else.
Location: very close to Lancaster centre - we visited the Brewery and had a tour, there is a castle and a very good Museum also.
This hotel is not to be overlooked, the staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms are comfortable and immaculately clean, the bed is comfortable and the coffee/tea facilities full size cups with quality products. The restaurant decorated our table for a birthday guest at the last minute and nothing was too much trouble. The restaurant (although pricey) the food was excellent and the service impeccable. I would recommend this hotel to anyone - what a little gem to find! Thank you for making our stay special. x
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pete from Worksop

Hotel convenient for University visit

Posted Feb 13, 2014
Pros: It's convenience
Cons: Nothing, allow time to use the hotel facilities eg pool
Location: It is right next to Lancaster University ,and is also within driving distance of the Lake District.
Arrived around 9pm, staff welcoming and after initial room mix up (we requested a twin room but was given a double) we settled into our twin room. The beds were comfortable, the bathroom clean and the room warm. After a good nights sleep we went for a nice hot cooked breakfast before checking out.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 15, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bill from Cumbria

Cosy beds.

Posted Jan 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice hotel for a weekend. Good pool, steam room and gym. Only quibble was the changing room which could have been cleaner. convenient centre for visiting area. Beds cosy even if rooms are a bit formal.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by mingo from Morecambe

Posted Jan 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
The stay at Lancaster House was brilliant. The service was faultless and oldey worldy furniture also the open fire made it very inviting. The Christmas lunch and the food was excellent and pub lunches. The bed was comfy and the room generally, the bathroom and shower also good if a little worn but it has been open since 1991 but clean and a good power shower and not forgetting the spa and jacuzzi also brilliant. I would definately stop again in fact next time I'll stop for longer.