Ratings based on 190 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Isle of Man

Large but friendly hotel

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: The friendly relaxed atmosphere.
Location: We only stayed overnight,
We really enjoyed our overnight stay. The hotel restaurant served us a wonderful meal. The bar had a relaxed atmosphere. The room and public areas were very clean. The only complaint was that we were unable to adjust the temperature of the heated towel rail as the control dial was missing. Everything else was excellent. We would like to return for a longer stay next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Carrollton, TX

Great find in the English countryside!

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: Everything! Nice quiet, spacious room -- good Internet service -- good food and wonderful spa in the English countryside.
Cons: Can't think of a single thing.
Location: Across the street from Lancaster University, where it is very easy to catch a city bus that runs to and from city centre every 15-20 minutes.
We decided to stop over in Lancaster on our way from Isle of Man (via ferry) to Edinburgh (via train) -- SO glad we did! This is a lovely, quiet English town with very friendly folks, and the Lancaster House was a wonderful respite after some hectic sightseeing in London, Cardiff and Liverpool. The hotel is located on the grounds of Lancaster University, five miles from the train station -- about a 15-minutes cab drive away in heavy traffic (quicker in quieter times.) We had a spacious, quiet room -- and our dinner and breakfast in the hotel restaurant were both very nice. There is also a nice pub with friendly bartenders and a wonderful spa where I had a nice massage. We left feeling very rested and recharged -- ready for the rest of our sightseeing in Scotland and Ireland! It was also quite easy to catch a city bus across the street to go to the city centre for some sightseeing/shopping.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kent

Lovely hotel with good facilities.

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: The really exceptional food and friendly staff.
Cons: Updating the furniture in the room and advanced warning of when the restaurant would be busy for breakfast.
Location: Right next door to lancaster university.
Bed really comfortable, furniture a bit dated. Excellent food, which was served promptly, despite their being two large coach parties in the restaurant. Friendly and attentive staff. Leisure facilities brilliant, the warmest jacuzzi ever and huge sauna and steam room! downside was queuing to get in the restaurant for breakfast due to the two coach parties but the breakfast was exceptional, although don't ask for coffee if you like a strong cup!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel not far from Lancaster center

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Facilities where excellent, wine expenses in resterant not much chouice in food, hotel bar has good menu and is cheaper!. Would stay there again, but eat in bar resterant area
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet and comfortable

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Comfortable hotel, decent food judging by room service only, but comfortable all round. Nice staff, great breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Uni Pick Up and a regular Visitor

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Staff always friendly. Room great. Gym great. Restaurant great. When my son leaves Lancaster Uni, I will still come back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient for Lancaster

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: Swimming pool, breakfasts, staff
Cons: I requested a twin and a double room. This information had not come through to the reception staff and I had to be re-allocated to another room.
Location: Lancaster Castle, several museums in the town. Lake District nearby.
Close to town with castle and museums. Comfortable, clean rooms. Delicious breakfast. Lovely swimming pool. Would go again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Frequent Traveller from North West Britain

Excellent service, location and food

Posted Jun 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
First class friendly service with a very pleasant dinner and excellent breakfast. I'd recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Lys from Toronto, Ontario Canada

Excellent stay at Lancaster University

Posted Jun 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lancaster House Hotel is immediately adjacent to Lancaster University, a few miles south of the centre of Lancaster. The hotel offers excellent amenities, large and very comfortable rooms and an excellent breakfast. The room was very clean and comfortable. The service was friendly and very helpful. The breakfast was very ample and well prepared. The hotel is worth a rating well above average; it is hard to see how it might be improved.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Deborah

Spa facilities

Posted Jun 3, 2014
You can walk straight into the pool it is so lovely and warm and the outside hot tub is like a hot bath, gorgeous!