Ratings based on 218 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Lytham St Annes

pleasant hotel disappointing stay

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Pros: Location, breakfast, facilities, it is nice inside.
Cons: Please see notes above.
Location: Just outside of Lancaster so close to all historic and leisure facilities. Ashton gardens also nearby
Worth pointing out that this was a one night stay on Christmas day. Hotel is very pleasant with good facilities and polite and helpful staff. There were a couple of issues which took the edge off the stay Firstly, we were trying to obtain room service at around 8pm. No answer from phone. It went to answerphone 3 times No answer from reception phone either. In the end had to go down to bar and order in person. We were in the designated 'quiet area' of the hotel which included publication of signs asking people to respect this. The people in the room next door were noisy coming back from wherever they had been and continued to be so until 1.30 approx. Some thought it was acceptable to speak loudly and allow doors to slam either late at night or early morning. Rarely encountered such ignorance and wasnt the best of nights, Room was too hot; bed uncomfortable. Upon check out I was charged £10 for the presence of our dog. We had made it clear at the time of booking that we were bringing the dog and we were not made aware of the charge at the time of booking. I'm still not clear what the charge relates to. Hotel manager claimed it was a standard charge for additional cleaning but was unable to state what additional cleaning would be required. The dog does not shed hair and neither is it allowed on the furniture. This would, however, appear to be an Expedia problem rather than that of the hotel. Breakfast was very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good find

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Enjoyed the stay and very friendly and helpful staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient for Lancaster University

Posted Oct 24, 2014
Pros: Very friendly service.
Another very relaxed stay at Lancaster House Hotel, with a very good meal in the hotel restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Nigel Wfrom Warks

Fantastic

Posted Oct 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Everything is great at this hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Simon

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Aylsham

Great standards

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Pros: The friendliness and prfessioanlism of the hotel staff and the hotel bar/restaurant.
Cons: TVs need to be upgraded.
Location: City of Lancaster is a 10 minute drive away. Lake districts is about one hou away.
Excellent hotel staff who combine genuine friendliness with efficient service. A great bar (Sandeman's) which has very good food and a great atmosphere. A good breakfast. Spotlessly clean rooms. Comfortable beds. TVs do need upgrading. Reasonable rates. Thoroughly recommedned.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Taofrom London

Nice hotel but very dark rooms

Posted Oct 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
We checked in quickly and had no problems. Our room was a decent size but even with all the lights on it was extremely dark. It was also very hot but the windows opened and solved that problem. We were woken early by the toilet flushing in the room next door. Breakfast was good. When we went to check out we had to queue and the receptionist made no eye contact or bothered to acknowledge that we'd queued for quite a while. In fact she didn't ask how our stay was or anything. In summary, the hotel was fine, but not great, but the receptionist on check out was rude.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great service, very good rooms and breakfast.

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Really welcoming and friendly. Service from staff was always good and personal. Food in bar was tasty. Nice and well equipped rooms with biscuits and tea/coffee making facilities. Also really nice hand wash, shampoo and body lotion in the bathrooms. I didn't use the spa facilities but my friends said they were excellent, particularly the outside hot tub. Very good breakfast!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Better than it looks

Posted Oct 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel does not look all that inviting from the outside But inside a roaring fire and friendly staff was very welcoming My room was clean and warm Food was very good Overall very impressed
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 16, 2014 on Hotels.com