Ratings based on 70 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Over night stay

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Staff very helpful and customer focused. Allowing late check in to help us out with son's wedding.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from glasgow

Close to motorway

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Pros: Location was good. Food in restaurant was good, staff very courteous and receptionist helpful on arrival. Lovely setting. Quiet and relaxing stay.
Cons: Rooms were very warm. Air conditioning needed.Accessible rooms should have twin beds not only a double.
Location: We were travelling on to Wales. Did not explore surroundings.
A welcoming hotel, friendly staff, comfortable. A good range of food and breakfast options. Rural setting close to main routes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by raptergirl from Grantham

Great Location

Posted Jun 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent very friendly staff, excellent food, very clean room and spacious
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Louise from Mid Glamorgan

Expensive wine!

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: Easy to find off M6, conveniently situated for the wedding we were going to. Lovely spacious hotel for group gatherings. Very welcoming staff.
Cons: Bar prices!
Location: If we had time we would have liked to walk along the river. Salmesbury Hall nearby is well worth a visit.
Very friendly staff at reception, disappointed with room as it was small and overlooking the car park, rather than the river. We were staying there with many family members for a local wedding and they had much nicer rooms. We all met in the bar in the evening and were disappointed that a glass of Pino Grigio cost £9.50 a glass! Extortionate! The breakfast was nice and the service was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bill from midlands

hotel tickled trout

Posted May 4, 2014
Pros: staff & food
Location: Few hundred yards from M6
Very friendly and pleasant staff . Very good food .everywhere clean . comfortable room . New carpets being fitted. Would have no problem staying there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by krissmid from nottinghamshire

Overnight stay to celebrate with friends nearby

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: The position was suitable for were we wanted to be near our friends
Cons: Cleanliness and better mattress and pillows.
Large room but furnishings dated. Curtains did not look very clean and overall bedroom and bathroom not very clean, dusty in areas. The toilet was disgusting on the outside pan, this had obviously built up over time. The bed was not comfortable at all, small pillows and I had backache when I got up in the morning. It was quiet when we stayed and we didn't hear any noise at all. We were recommended to stay here and after reading reviews thought it would be suitable but we will stay elsewhere next time. We did get the room at a good rate but does compare with other rates in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good restaurant. Really near motorway but not noisy. Lift down some stairs so a bit of a pain with a heavy suitcase but hotel staff very helpful. Cobwebs around curtain pelmet bit of an over sight. Room comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by TT from Arundel

Sensible location for many reasons.

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: We only ate breakfast at the hotel however that was pretty good. Being on the banks of the river Ribble makes for a pleasant amble anytime.
Location: You can be in the Lake District within 40 mins, Yorkshire in less and Blackpool (if you must) even quicker. Preston has plenty of history but .......
The restaurant and lounge area has been recently refurbished which makes the general environment pretty good. The location is great being so close to the M6 (road noise not an issue). The bedrooms would benefit from a little attention although the beds are very comfortable. Choose an upper floor as the ground floor rooms tend to have a strange odour. Not terrible, just "odd".
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Joanne from Dorchester

Great location, good quality accommodation

Posted Jan 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Needed to be in the area with colleagues for customer meeting, hotel was in perfect location. Knew of it from years ago when living in Lancashire but as hotel has obviously had a recent refit, was really pleased with standard. Food choice and quality good. Only downsides were parking was a problem and quality of staff in most areas didn't meet standards of hotel