Ratings based on 125 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Stratford upon Avon

Convenient to M65

Posted Dec 11, 2014
Pros: Staff excellent.
Cons: The room allocated was huge and required additional heating on an extremely cold night.
Location: M65
Huge room. Supplementary heater provided by reception.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Leicestershire

Lovely characterful hotel

Posted Oct 26, 2014
A beautiful hotel full of character with a modern twist. Stayed in a spacious comfortable, clean room. Enjoyed the swimming pool & hotel grounds. Breakfast was delicious with great service. Overall a great stay at a great hotel with great service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Good facilities, mediocre beds and restaurant

Posted Oct 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Firstly, and probably most importantly, I will use the Mercure Dunkenhalgh again. It is significantly better than the Best Western in (relatively) nearby Burnley. However, the restaurant food was mediocre and the service was a little slow. The chicken burger came on a huge wooden chopping board, with the side salad in a mini colander, the chips in a mini deep frying basket. What's wrong with a plate? All trying far too hard to look like a Gastro experience, which the food really wasn't. In terms of the beds, I had a kingsize bed, which consisted of two single mattresses squeezed together. This creates a ridge in the middle and it is not possible to really spread out over the bed. But the rooms were pretty well appointed, the WiFi was responsive, and the gym facilities are all good. So I'll stay again, but won't hold out great hopes for the food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ashton-under-Lyne, UK

Lovely place

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Great staff, nice rooms, great food
Cons: It would have been nice to have a fridge in the room. There was a big crack in our bathroom sink (but it didn't leak).
Location: The location was very beautiful, despite being just off the motorway.
We had a great stay here. Our rooms were quite far from reception but that meant we weren't disturbed by the wedding going on. The staff were all lovely and very attentive and helpful. Dinner was fabulous too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Nottingham

Shame about the motorway

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Pros: Lovely main building, in beautiful surroundings
Cons: Air conditioning would be a great asset
Location: The location is good for visiting local beauty spots. A trip to Gawthorpe Hall is must. Also Clitheroe and Whalley are worth a visit
The hotel was well situated for our trip with the exception of the nearby motorway which was noisy at night. If the bedroom had been equiped with aircon, then the windows could have been closed. Thus eliminating the motorway noise. On a positive note the beds were very comfortable, and the bathroom large and well equipped.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Really outdated

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: Leaving
Cons: Modernise the entire place
Location: Nothing of interest locally except our home which thankfully was close enough for us to go home to sleep and come back in the morning to eat and huddl
Paid a couple hundred for 1 night with wife and two kids for a family room with dinner and breakfast. The room looked like something out of a seventies sitcom with spare cots laid out for the kids one of which had a mattress on it that was paper thin. Dinner was ok to be fair but the atmosphere was and decor wasn't at all what we expected. The pool was a typical rectangle with elderly clientele swimming/walking up and down talking amongst themselves so our kids kind of had to mill around in a corner couldn't have been more disappointing. Generally not good sorry to say.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 24, 2014 on Hotels.com