Ratings based on 101 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Really outdated

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: Leaving
Cons: Modernise the entire place
Location: Nothing of interest locally except our home which thankfully was close enough for us to go home to sleep and come back in the morning to eat and huddl
Paid a couple hundred for 1 night with wife and two kids for a family room with dinner and breakfast. The room looked like something out of a seventies sitcom with spare cots laid out for the kids one of which had a mattress on it that was paper thin. Dinner was ok to be fair but the atmosphere was and decor wasn't at all what we expected. The pool was a typical rectangle with elderly clientele swimming/walking up and down talking amongst themselves so our kids kind of had to mill around in a corner couldn't have been more disappointing. Generally not good sorry to say.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

NIce hotel close to motorway infrastructure

Posted Aug 11, 2014
went with my two children and the staff were incredibly friendly
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel with easy access to motorway

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: The staff were all excellent and made me feel welcome.
Cons: Wifi availabilty in standard rooms -essential for business travellers
Only stayed one night on business but check in was friendly and efficient. Although I arrived quite late I was offered a table for dinner and received an apology because they were unable to offer anything before 8pm. Which wasnt a problem. My room was large, clean and very comfortable. Bar and waiting staff were all very smiley and made me feel very welcome. Although there was a mix up with my order, the staff were very apologetic and quickly sorted the problem. The meal was excellent and breakfast was very good too. It would have been good to have wifi available in the room, but this wouldnt deter me from staying here again when next in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from eng

Resembles a castle

Posted Jul 23, 2014
We chose this hotel for the family room & pool for our children. The room was v comfortable & spacious, unfortunately the pool was closed for the evening following a child's "accident" which was disappointing but we did use the pool in the morn & it was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Facilities were very good and the food
Cons: Booked 2 rooms . Rang hotel to arange for them to be close together but on arrival the rooms were in different parts of the hotel.
Overall I had a good stay. Staff could have smiled more but food and service was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Matt from Camberley

Did the job

Posted Jun 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
I arrived late and left early, so the ease of finding the hotel was a blessing. Initially delighted with the size of the bed, only to realise that they were 2 singles pushed together, which doesnt make for the most comfortable sleep. Lack of wifi in this day and age is a big negative for me.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Slow service

Posted Jun 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
The service in the bar and restaurant is extremely slow. We waited 45 minutes for our dinner to be brought out to us, we only ordered one course, and then the wrong meal was brought out. The room was clean. We didn't use the spa so cannot comment. Breakfast buffet was plentiful but fried eggs need to be monitored, left under heat lamps too long.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Few improvements needed

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Pros: Nice grounds and rooms are decent.
Cons: Check in and check out and breakfast service
Nice hotel but there are a few improvements needed. Too long check in queues which suggests insufficient staffing. No hairdyers in the room (fortunately I always take my own) and breakfast clearance service completely inadequate (again probably due to staffing), lack of clean cutlery, plates and glasses etc. Lack of refills of food and juices when arriving at 10.15 and breakfast does not finish till 11.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by EMacD from Glasgow

Enjoyable stay

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Had a very pleasant 3 nights at the Dunkenhalgh. As forewarned in other reviews there were plenty of weddings (4) but our room was some distance from the reception area and apart from having to walk around some photo-shoots, it didn't affect us. Breakfast was variable and slow to be replenished. Empty baskets of bread on 2 mornings and someone was always queuing for bacon or sausage or tomatoes, or all three. Some of the staff (apart from front desk) were a bit casual and lacked urgency or a passion about what they did. Room was great and had plenty of room and was cleaned meticulously each day. Spa was well appointed, although swimming pool was a bit overcrowded at times.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by N K from High Peak

Excellent hotel and superb staff

Posted May 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Cannot fault the hotel and staff during our staff. Would highly recommend it.