Ratings based on 87 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Facilities were very good and the food
Cons: Booked 2 rooms . Rang hotel to arange for them to be close together but on arrival the rooms were in different parts of the hotel.
Overall I had a good stay. Staff could have smiled more but food and service was good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Few improvements needed

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Pros: Nice grounds and rooms are decent.
Cons: Check in and check out and breakfast service
Nice hotel but there are a few improvements needed. Too long check in queues which suggests insufficient staffing. No hairdyers in the room (fortunately I always take my own) and breakfast clearance service completely inadequate (again probably due to staffing), lack of clean cutlery, plates and glasses etc. Lack of refills of food and juices when arriving at 10.15 and breakfast does not finish till 11.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rose from London

Lovely period hotel in lovely countryside

Posted May 7, 2014
Pros: Period style hotel adapted from an old househouse
Location: Travel across moors to historic Skipton, Yorkshire with its castle, tourist shops , canals and river. Also Bronte country is within 20 miles
Hotel is set in lovely countryside with attractive views in all directions. Big rooms and interesting old house. Nearby towns however are not attractive or worth visiting, eg Accrington, Blackburn, Burnley etc. However surrounding countryside is lovely and worth visiting the small villages and historic areas. Lots of parking, excellent spa and sports facilities including a swimming pool. Buses stop outside.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Marie from Kilkenny Ireland

Lovely bed

Posted Dec 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Popeye from Lincolnshire

Posted Dec 1, 2013
Pros: Staff
Cons: Interior condition
Location: Good Location for my purpose
Basic facilities friendly staff. Need some work doing to it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Adam from Essex

Lovely hotel

Posted Nov 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
Lovely hotel, great spa. Food a bit pricey.
2 out of 5
by Mike from Millbank

Convenient

Posted Oct 31, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: Room service and room conditions (Stayed Room 7)
Location: Near to football ground
Poor room service .. only a few 24hr meals on the menu and then out 8 dishes they did not have 3 available "sold out" ??. Room very standard and needed a good overall clean ... bedding OK .. towels OK but room shabby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by MF from Harrogate

Not perfect, but excellent value for money

Posted Oct 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
Booked this hotel to attend another tourist attraction in the area. The building itself is beautiful, there was sufficient parking and staff were welcoming. The room wasn't available by 3, despite check in from 2 onward, but they had a wedding and seemed exceptionally busy. We were in the main building while a friend had a room in the courtyard- both equally beautiful. Rooms were clean and comfy albeit with a few rough edges. The bar and restaurant were very pleasant, food superb and the fixed price menu incredibly good value. That said, we observed a number of other customers expressing discontentment about various deals, so maybe some of these aren't as clear as they might be. Best aspect of the hotel by far, the pool and thermal suite- by far the nicest we've ever encountered and a real gem. For the price we paid for the room, we will absolutely be back for a good value, very enjoyable weekend, in a lovely building with great food and a lovely spa. You seldom get this for the prices they charge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Karen from West Yorkshire

Posted Oct 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
We have stayed consistently at the hotel, since our honeymoon 15 years ago - had some issues over the years, but overall, we really enjoy our visits and think its good value for money. This time, I had a treatment in the hotel spa, which was absolutely first rate, one of the best I've had (and I've had a few!)A very relaxing, comfortable stay. Food was very good - although the breakfast looked a bit "thin" when we came down, at around 09.30, looked to be running out. Keep the supplies topped up please!