Ratings based on 69 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

lack of sleep

Posted May 27, 2015
Pros: It's situation
Cons: Telling the truth about the noise
It would have been grate value and a perfect quite night if our room had not been overlooking the kitchen. Our night sleep was disturbed all night from the noise of the kitchen machinery. We did advise this beforehand that we were light slight sleepers but this did not deter them from putting us in this room. Whew I complained about the noise I was advised the machinery would go of at 8pm, but alas it went on throughout the night. Maybe that is why it was so reasonably priced. Otherwise beside the lack of sleep there was no other complaint
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chichester

Excellent food and accommodation.

Posted May 24, 2015
Pros: Friendly service and good facilities. I loved the garden planting which would make it lovely venue for outdoors in the summer.
Only stayed one night on our way to Scotland, but would love to stay again when we're passing through.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Worcs

Handy overnight stay .

Posted May 16, 2015
Pros: Pleasant staff. The garden was very well looked after.
Cons: Not sure about the packed breakfast.
Location: Did not have time to investigate the area
Only 2 miles from junction 33 M6 it was an ideal place to break our journey from Scotland to the Midlands. Friendly welcome & good meal in the evening.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Yorkshire

Good value for money

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: Attractive room. Well appointed bathroom. Warm welcome. The pub itself has obviously been recently decorated and the food and service was excellent.
Cons: Contents of breakfast bag disappointing. No knife to spread butter! Would pay a bit more for e.g. orange juice, jam, Danish pastry.
Location: Easy to find just off the motorway.
Received a warm welcome.Very pleased with room and would really recommend having a meal in the pub in the evening. We weren't aware breakfast was provided in a bag to be eaten in room. Actually quite enjoyed having breakfast in room as we could have a lie in and eat breakfast before getting dressed, which was a nice leisurely start to the day, especially as we didn't have to be out of the room until 11.00 am. However I would prefer to pay a bit more as the contents of the bag were a bit disappointing ~ croissant with butter but no knife, apple and breakfast bar. It wouldn't cost much more to provide e.g. a carton of orange juice, jam and perhaps a small danish pastry.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Marcusfrom Nantyglo

Review of New Holly hotel

Posted Feb 24, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent service from staff, very good food in restaurant. Would highly recommend this hotel for a short stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Alexfrom Barnsley

Great Value - Nice find!

Posted Feb 19, 2015 on Hotels
Fabulous, as a business traveller I don't look for much in a hotel, Comfortable bed, good Shower a TV that works and decent internet connection. This hotel offers all that and more it is a old building modernised to a high standard the accommodation far surpassed my expectations and the staff were really nice. only downside is its in the middle of nowwhere so no shops near by. I was on the main road and the traffic was a little disturbing at times but overall not an issue. I will be staying again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Lovely Hotel

Posted Jan 21, 2015 on Hotels
Booked this Hotel as very close to Universities, stayed in a lovely room, beautiful and clean, We had a lovely meal in the restaurant downstairs, great food. I would stay again but would have been nice if the bar was open a little longer as it was closed at about 21.30.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Liverpool

New Year's Eve

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Pros: The rates were reasonable. Web site easy to follow. Ample parking. Well organised
Cons: Entertainment was low key
Location: Easy to find off the M6
We had an evening and an overnight stay. The meal was amazing and the staff could not do more to make us feel welcome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom cumbria

First class

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Overall excellent, friendly staff, room very comfortable for the family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by davefrom worcester

sweet little treat

Posted Nov 20, 2014 on Hotels
beautiful food. friendly staff. I will be coming back thank you.