Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Wirral

Nice hotel, great breakfast

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: The quaint character feel in the dining, lounge areas. Superb English breakfast.
Cons: Decor in the bedroom/bathroom.
Location: Stayed here to go to the Katherine Jenkins concert at Hoghton Towers. Lovely countryside feel to the area.
Some may feel this hotel is a little old fashioned but it has great character to it. Room 28 was comfortable but without any view, apart from the back yard. Decoration in room was a little tired, very dated curtains. Bathroom needed a face lift too. Having said this it was clean. Dining room, lounge and outside balcony where very nice areas to sit in. Breakfast was one of the best hotel breakfasts we have ever had! Staff were very friendly, polite and helpful. Would I stay again, yes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dave from Bozeman, MT, USA

Excellent Staff, Quaint Hotel

Posted Oct 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel may be staffed by the friendliest people ever. The room was quiet and clean and comfortable. We had dinner at the restaurant our first night and it was amazing! The French Onion Soup was the best I've ever had, and then even made a Green Salad not on the menu per my request. Sticky Toffee Pudding was excellent! Hotel is a little older, but I think that added charm. My only complaint was that, apparently, my reservation included breakfast - a detail that I was not aware of - had we known, we would have enjoyed it; not being told about breakfast being included when we checked in was a disappointment when we checked out. Other than that, and excellent stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by maureen from wishaw, scotland

Lovely hotel for business or leisure

Posted Aug 28, 2013
Pros: Staff, food, service and bathroom
Cons: Furnishings
Location: About 10 miles from chorley train station
I visited this hotel and stayed an overnight for business trip. I really enjoyed my stay. Sat outside on the veranda and enjoyed good bar service, then had a superb meal - very good quality food, lovely staff, very attentive. Nice breakfast in the morning made to order. Some of The furniture in the communal areas is really dated and the music in the lounge could be a bit more contemporary - but it wasn't a big issue for me. The bedroom was really spacious and the bathroom was very big with a massive bath - lovely! On the whole I really enjoyed my stay and would definately stay again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Graeme from Ashby de la Zouch

Excellent stop off for business

Posted Jul 20, 2013
Good quality hotel, nice food. Very pleasant staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mick

Fabulous!

Posted Oct 12, 2012 on Hotels.com
Great hotel, comfortable, clean, friendly and helpful. All that you could ask........
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Camilla

Camilla rate

Posted Jul 2, 2012 on Hotels.com
Very quiet, conviniently located. Good and comfortable bed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from stoke

Another good stay

Posted Feb 22, 2012 on Hotels.com
Reviewed 19 February 2012 NEW This is the second stay at this hotel. The first time in December 2011 we stayed in the Beverley suite and it was a very enjoyable stay. Clean room,great four poster and fantastic bathroom The breakfast was good and the staff on reception helpful. We decided to stay again, as this hotel is a great location for where we were going on Saturday evening. We stayed in a standard room which I am presuming was a refurbished one (after reading other reviews) The room was clean and decor good and the bed was comfortable. The shower could have been a bit warmer!! We came back to the hotel in the early hours and the security guard was very pleasant. The breakfast was good. all the staff were polite especially on reception. We will be staying again I just hope we continue to get good rooms!!! Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Northamptonshire

A mixed experience

Posted Dec 22, 2011 on Hotels.com
Restaurant lovely, meal had issues, promised vegetables with a la carte but none came and when requested where just given sprouts from xmas menu. cheese was 3 pieces of rind and returned got replacement, got an apology but damage done. Started in WHITTLE room, quite nice but tired decor, 1st generation spa bath, noisiest fan ever heard, door lock broken, very noisy road and doors banging downstairs from 5 am. Ok for an odd night but wouldn't stay longer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Stoke-on Trent

The Pines Hotel -Welcoming staff

Posted Dec 21, 2011 on Hotels.com
On arrival our booking was not on the system. However as I began to think we would be looking for accomodation elsewhere, the lady on reception put us at ease. She was very polite and we were upgraded to a suite. This was lovely,very clean ,warm and comfortable. When returning to the hotel in the early hours, the security/night porter was very welcoming and polite. The breakfast was great and once again the staff were polite. The Hotel is in nice surrroundings and the location was near to where we needed to be. I would certainly stay here again even though it may well be in a standard room. I would recommend this to others wanting a pleasant location and comfortable stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 25, 2011 on Hotels.com