Ratings based on 183 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom France

Centre of town close to all amenities, bars ,shops

Posted Apr 25, 2015
Pros: Its location, bus station and train station, practically on the doorstep, no need to walk very far for anything.
Cons: Rooms need refurbishing.
Location: Centre of town, Lancaster Castle is a short walk up the road, Williamsons Park and the Butterfly house.
Clean ,comfortable Hotel, helpful staff, good breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom bolton

Great central location

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Pros: Location, clean rooms and pleasant staff.
Cons: The decor of the hotel is looking tired and would benefit from updating.
Location: Great location central to everything Lancaster has to offer, great bars and restaurants etc if you're there for a night out as we were.
Although this hotel is a little dated it's in a great location for visiting Lancaster, it was clean and the staff were very friendly...all you can ask for.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary

Very Historic

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: Close to the castle
Cons: The water could not be adjusted to come out of the shower head. I could feel every spring in the mattress.
Location: Castle tour, historic Lancaster.
Very historic building. No parking available when we were there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cumbria

Great position in town centre.

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Pros: Great position.
Cons: The hallways need redecorating.
Location: Visit the castle. tour the pubs.
Our room was a good size, with a view of the castle. The double glazing didn't shut tight but we were high enough not to be bothered by street noise. The dining room and bar were smart, but the corridors can only be described in some areas as grubby and in need of redecoration. The position is great for the castle and the town centre. We used the hotel car park which was handy too. The breakfast was nice, if a liitle cool. Warm plates would have helped.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney

Great staff

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Pros: The staff.
Cons: The building, but changes would be so major that it would no longer be a budget hotel.
Location: There are a museum, river, canal, market, shops and castle nearby in a quite small city, which is good for walking. The castle tour is a must.
The hotel is old and facilities are fairly basic. It is quite central and consequently there is a lot of traffic noise, which is mostly blocked out with windows closed. So I aired the room during the day and closed up at night. All of the hotel's staff was excellent, Reception, Dining Room and Housekeeping. I became ill during my stay. Everyone's care and empathy were exemplary. The Housekeepers were particularly concerned and helpful, despite their very heavy workload. Not much can be done about the facilities, but the staff makes this hotel. So overall, a very positive experience at a very trying time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great breakfast shame about the interior...

Posted Mar 18, 2015
This place has obviously seen better days - and has the interior of a run down B&B. But it is competitive priced and has a secure car park for £5 a stay. I have to say I was pleasantly surprised by the breakfast - good quality full english and okay pastries - all served with some style in a pleasant setting. This could be a good hotel but it need some spending. Before that it's just a little bit depressing...
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom n.i

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: staff friendly
Cons: decor
Location: central to shops and bars. nice restaurants
central hotel but very basic.walls very thin could hear conversations coughing and creaky floorboards.definately needs a refit.wallpaper peeling,massive water stain on bathroom ceiling, just very dated.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rude staff

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Rooms are dropping to bits and Forced to pay parking even though it stated free parking on the website.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom North Yorkshire

Convenient city centre hotel.

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Pros: Location and breakfast
Cons: Redecoration throughout, new stair carpets
Location: The castle and Priory are worth a visit.
Conveniently located on the city centre one way system close to all attractions and amenities. Look out for the car park entrance before you get to the hotel; it's easily missed (the only sign is at high level and not very obvious) and then, like us, you have to go right round the one way system again and that can be very slow at peak times. The room was comfortable and warm but distinctly shabby and run down. The stair carpets were badly worn. Breakfast was good. I requested a quiet room as I am a light sleeper but we were given one overlooking the busy road & junction. Fortunately the secondary glazing was effective so I didn't ask for a move.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler

A night in the Royal Kings Arms

Posted Jan 30, 2015
Pros: location, price
Cons: general updating
Location: convenient city centre location near railway station. was visited by Michael Portillo in one of his railway journeys.
The Victorian building could do with some updating, but for the price this hotel is very good.