Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom South Wales

Xmas Travel

Posted Dec 24, 2014
Pros: Convenient location, easy to find. Really pleasing to see basic free Wifi & internet being provided by a quality hotel & not trying to rip people off
Cons: Selection of beers in the bar was a bit limiting, only one bitter and no real ales :-(
Enjoyable visit, would happily visit again both for business or pleasure, would be happy to recommend it. Booked it online through Expedia and costs no more than one of the local 'budget' hotels and you get much better place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great Place

Posted Oct 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Exceeded the expectations!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by jamesfrom Carlisle

Cheap for the star

Posted Oct 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
A nite away. Was good
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ianfrom Manchester

Fantastic customer care and going that Extra mile

Posted Oct 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our stay was refreshing and a very pleasent experience, all the staff were very welcoming and polite. Staff went out of their way to make sure our stay was a memorable one and their manners could not be faulted. While carrying a full room service one staff member waited for me and my wife holding open one of the corridor doors with one hand and the tray on the other, that to me shows true dedication and very good customer care awareness. A very big thank you to every single member of staff at the Samlesbury Hotel, you all made our stay memorable, thank you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very pleasant all round

Posted Oct 22, 2014
As a frequent business traveller who automatically booked Premier Inn, I needed a change. This hotel was perfect. First of all it was cheaper overall, although the food was more expensive (justifiably so) the room rate was cheaper. I did not have breakfast so I can't rate that. The rooms were comfy and again more "upmarket" than the Premier Inn rooms, they also had free wired or wireless internet. The staff were extremely pleasant and there was even the opportunity to go to the gym (maybe next time).
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 30, 2014 by Mark Illingworth, Hotel Management
Dear James Thank you for your review following your recent stay. I am pleased that we appear to have been able to provide everything that the business traveller requires, comfortable room, good food, WiFi and pleasant staff. I hope that we will become your preferred choice for future business trips, I am sure that your review will assist other business travellers in making an informed choice and hope to see you at Samlesbury Hotel again soon. Best wishes Mark
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Katefrom Drymen

Would return but some puzzling anomalies

Posted Oct 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
I have stayed in this hotel 4 times now and will be going back at the end of October. It is good value for money and, on the whole, staff are friendly and helpful. Food is very good (although the coffee at breakfast is so weak it looks like tea!!). When they are not busy, service is excellent (not enough staff during busy periods). Special mention for Ifa at breakfsat who was outstanding in her attention and warmth. The puzzle is that, despite a generally high quality, housekeeping is poor. If you stay more than one night (and I have stayed for 2 night, 3 night and 4 night stays), the bed is made and the cups washed and pretty much that is all you get. The carpets were not vacuumed for 4 days. I had to ask for soap (none supplied) for more shampoo and shower gel (one tiny tube of each for 4 days feels very mean!). I did not get a replacement face cloth after day 1 and, although I did not want my towels replaced, they were not even hung neatly. I overheard other guests commenting on this as well and although it is a small detail it spoils an otherwise pleasant stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great location for family or business

Posted Oct 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
-Professional staff: excellent attentive service from both front of house and housekeeping with can-do approach -Clean, quiet rooms with rural views -Great restaurant -Useful road/motorway position for both Blackburn and Preston -Large, modern airy lounge area -fair price
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by suetccfrom greenock

terrible hotel

Posted Oct 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very expensive. Dirty smelly rooms. Beds rock hard and staff more interested in the next shift. Breakfast was cold
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Louth

Have friends in Salmesbury Bottoms .

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: Very attentive staff
Cons: No stands to put your cases.
Location: N/A
Stayed one night very comfortable staff very pleasant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 7, 2014 by Mark Illingworth, Hotel Management
Dear Charles Thank you for taking the time to post feedback on your recent stay. I was pleased to hear that you found our staff to be pleasant and attentive. Hope the lack of a suitcase stand did not cause you too much inconvenience and hope that you will choose to stay at Samlesbury Hotel next time you visit your friends who live in the area. Best wishes Mark Illingworth - Commercial Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overnight Business Trip

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Pros: Staff in all areas gave good service. Facilities are good.
Warm welcome form reception. Room on the small side but clean and comfortable. Bathroom clean to a high standard.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 7, 2014 by Mark Illingworth, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and will pass on your comments regarding the quality of service and friendlness of the staff to the rest of the team. Hope to welcome you to the hotel again soon. Best Wishes Mark Illingworth - Commercial Manager