Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Beautiful hotel and friendly staff.

Posted Aug 18, 2014
My family and I were coming up for a family party, and chose this hotel, as my parents got married here 32 years ago. From the minute we stepped in, we were welcomed by friendly staff, and beautiful decor. My husband had arranged with staff to put a bouquet of flowers in our room, which was a lovely surprise. I have a disability, so struggle to walk. So my husband called up, and the staff made sure we had a room right next to the lift, so I didn't have to walk far. The room was spacious, and modern looking. Really nicely decorated. They put a cot in our room for our baby. There was a large flat screen t.v, a hairdryer, iron and board, a desk with a phone. The bathroom was nice, but a bit on the small side. It had a large shower, with two shower heads. But no bath, so a bit harder to bathe a baby. But that's my only negative. The breakfast buffets in the hotel were good value for money, and the food was very nice. I would definately stay here again if I found myself up that way again. We got a very good deal on expedia - For around the same price as a travelodge, we got to stay in a 4* hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northumberland.

Convenient position for M6

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Clean, neat, well placed.
Cons: The revamp is great.
Location: We use this as a stop off to see family, so couldn't say.
This hotel used to be dreadful, but since it has had a revamp, it is lovely. Clean, smart, great prices, fantastic staff. Very convenient for travel, as close to the M6, so a good stop point. The only downside is that there is an awful smell in the air outside - always was, still is. I think there is a sewage plant nearby as I recall. So, window opening not advisable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bucks

Short stop

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Staff friendliness . Food quality.
Cons: Wifi and fridge in room.
Room was very clean , fresh and well appointed apart from no mini fridge. Staff were all very helpful and friendly. Hot water failed one morning and no wIfi in room ,but overall value for money and would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Doha

Very Pleasant Stay

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: Extremely pleasant and helpful staff. Location close to motorway. Very good value for money.
Cons: There is free Wi-Fi, but was unable to access it in the bedroom I was located in.
I stayed at the Samlesbury for 5 nights. The room whilst relatively small, was more than adequate. The reception team were extremely friendly and helpful. Due to circumstances and schedule, I was not able to try the bar or restaurant, but intend to the next time I am over. I would happily visit again, and indeed intend to.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Right out in country

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: It was quiet and the décor was low-key and very soothing and simple, classy. The foyer is very spacious and soothing as you enter. Nice grounds.
Cons: Price of breakfast.
Location: Out in country. You had to have a car to get to anything or catch a bus either into Preston or Blackburn and catch a train from there, time consuming.
It was right out in the country surrounded by fields. Strong smell of manure outside but not in the hotel itself. You need a car to get around but not necessary. I had no car but I was happy to walk the one mile to the bus stop for the bus to Blackburn. However, going the other way to Preston, the bus stops outside the hotel. Enjoyed lovely sunsets to the west, also sunrise. Birds singing early outside my window. Very comfortable room, very clean, and cool Ikea-type décor, very soothing. Large TV in my room. I thought breakfast very expensive. For instance, in Caernarvon, Wales, you could have full breakfast in most cafes for about four pounds, whereas the Salmesbury charged about fourteen pounds. Altogether a pleasant very sophisticated hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Lovely hotel fantastic last night of our holiday

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: the staff, they were fantastic
Cons: No
This was the best hotel stay I have ever had. From the front desk to the bar to the restaurant the staff were fantastic, nothing was too much trouble and we were made to feel like the valuable customers. The room was a good size and the bed very comfortable. The food is the restaurant was vey good and overall it was a fantastic last night of our holiday we will be finding an excuse to go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by free spirit from uk

Friendly clean atmosphere

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Warm,friendly greetings from customer service. Room was clean with ample light coming into room from window,only let down was not enough garden space to walk round for a stroll but in all thorughly enjoyed the facilities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

A* Hotel Break

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Pros: Friendly and competent staff. Newly decorated. Good parking facilities. Great location for our purpose.
Cons: A small fridge in the room would be of benefit!
Location: Unfortunately, our time was taken up with the North West Youth Tour, so we didn't get much of a chance to explore the local area
My son and myself stayed for 3 nights at the Samlesbury Hotel, whilst he was taking part in a cycle race. The location was great. The staff could not have been more helpful. Bedrooms were really clean and fresh. Beds very comfortable. As we had early starts each morning, we did not get a chance to experience the breakfasts so unfortunately, I cannot comment on food/restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Daryl from Halifax

Impressive Hotel

Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stayed here for a one night stopover and the hotel ticked all the boxes. Friendly and efficient staff, good ambience in the bar, comfortable bed, great shower - would definitely recommend!